We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourism with a heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Eco Stay Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tourism with a heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I spent two wonderful nights in a charming bungalow overlooking the most beautiful rice terraces in an unspoilt corner of Bali. A brave and super Eco friendly couple have set up an environmentally aware and community beneficial lodge on the edge of the jungle and food forests. Most of the food is grown in their organic garden kitchen and is delicious. They have an organic rice paddy. The staff are all recruited from local villages so the money directly benefits the immediate communities. Waste water is recycled, electrics are maintained to a comfortable level whilst still keeping a low footprint. No AC but you have an open with a romantic mosquito net. Falling asleep with frogs singing and awaking to bird song is the reward. There is a waterfall and a natural swimming hole instead of a pool. Lots of classes and guided treks are possible. Carve a box, make a flute, learn the secrets of making coconut oil, have a massage or bike down to the beach through paddies and villages, all possible here. An amazing, tranquil place that respects both the environment and the people who live there. Wonderful!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    33
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
131
149
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elcho Island NT
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

When I got to Bali Eco Stay I realized I needed a holiday from the holiday. It is so peaceful and relaxing here, a great place for walking and appreciating how the Balinese tend their land. Swimming in the rock pools under the waterfall. Buddha Bungalow keeps you serenaded with the sound of the river for excellent sleeping, the food is great and so is the library. With the bungalows spread out over whole site there is a feeling of real calm and privacy. John, Cath and all the staff make you very welcome and have many suggestions on things to do. Definitely a place to return to, next time I’ll stay longer and have some walks on the upside of the mountain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Went with two friends, wonderful two days. We are intrepid travelers and drove and only because my friend speaks the language were we able to find it, so use their driver.
Food fabulous, alcohol available and pleasant to have a cocktail with dinner. Beautiful views and our room was large and tranquil. Among the group we had massages, reflexology, cooking class and class to make offerings, all were outstanding. The owners and staff should be very proud. They have a wonderful spot.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank stoopswatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Bali Eco stay sent their driver to get us from Amed. Because this place is fairly remote, use their driver.

Every aspect of our stay was magic. Each evening you are asked which activities you would like to book for the next day. Everything is organized like a well oiled machine. We learnt basket weaving from local villagers and had lovely massages in an open platform in the forest.

The rooms are perfect. The views sublime. You hear the incredible sounds and rhythms of the forest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _iJane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed here by myself in the little paddy. I have no words for how gorgeous this place is. From the staff, the room, the food, and the massages...it was all fantastic. If you're looking for a place to get away from it all, this is it!

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the rice paddies. Little paddy had a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had the most amazing stay at Bali Eco Stay. We stayed in the Rice Water Bungalow overlooking the rice paddies. We swam in the beautiful fresh water natural spring, ate the most amazing food while listening to the wonderful flowing water from the stream while listening to the natural bird life. The staff were so friendly and gentle in nature. Thank you John and Agung for making our stay a truly memorable one. The 4 ladies from Noosa.

Room Tip: Rice Water Bungalow would be our pick of bungalow to stay in as it has a wonderful outlook and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

A friend and I stayed at "Alit's Bungalow" at his family home in the village 5 min walk from Ecostay.
An unforgettable experience, the family was so welcoming and I still think about them a lot. Lovely people! Ibu was cooking up a giant pot of coconut flesh on a fire stove in the kitchen to make her coconut oil for the week, and her (and Ayu's) home style cooking was lovely. The village setting was beautiful and I con not recommend this high enough. I hope to go back to visit them again one day.
We spent a day hanging out at the Eco resort too, which was gorgeous. The food was the BEST food I had eaten in Bali. After we left there was no where else could I find black rice pudding that came close.

Room Tip: Alit's Bungalow for a real Bali experience. Roosters do wake you up in the morning, but you go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
15.0 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
14.1 mi away
Luxe Villas Bali
Luxe Villas Bali
#1 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
17.4 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
Sarinbuana Eco Lodge
#4 of 52 in Tabanan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
13.3 mi away
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
21.0 mi away
The Royal Purnama Art Suites & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Eco Stay Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Eco Stay Bungalows

Property: Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Address: Kemetug, Kanciana, Tabanan 82113, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the slopes of Mount Batukaru, Central Bali, you’ll find one of Bali’s best-kept secrets, a hidden eco-paradise only known by few but loved by many. If you’re lucky enough to nab one of Bali Eco Stay’s seven cozy bungalows, you’re sure to experience natural luxury like no other. On this vast owner-run and operated estate, guests are treated like family, personally welcomed and re-welcomed by the thoughtful founders and caretakers alike. Bali Eco Stay offers exciting experiences for guests of all ages, with plenty cultural and outdoor activities to enjoy. From traditional kite making to trekking in lush Balinese rice terraces, it is the perfect place to unwind and reconnect with nature. The best part is, you won’t have to go far; the resort’s land is like no other. Just minutes from your doorstep is a private waterfall where you can bathe, undisturbed, in the pure spring waters of Mount Batukaru. Wander the property and you’ll find charming bales nestled by the riverbank, a natural swimming pool, serene spa, and Bali Eco Stay’s very own Food Forest, teasing your appetite for the delicious meal ahead. Chef Minni’s home cooking is a thing of art, combining locally-grown organic ingredients with a touch of Balinese flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bali Eco Stay Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Eco Stay Rice Water Bungalows Hotel Tabanan
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing