We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great piece if paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Ranked #2 of 26 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nites . Loved the place . So clean and great location .. Having a lovely breakfast watching all the surfers having wave after wave . Staff are all so lovely and Darius the new manager is a lovely and very hands on . Food great atmosphere fab .... Definitely be back again for sure . Highly recommend .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Suzie and Greg,

Thank you so much for your kind testimonials. We are constantly trying to keep our hotel to a better standard, it is very challenging but you make our jobs much more easier and enjoyable.

On behalf of the staff, the owners and my self, thank you for being a champion.

Until we see you again next year.

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I spent 1 night last week with my biz partner in this hotel because of the location that close to place that i had meeting that day. I came around 8 pm and directly went to the restaurant, surprisingly the waiter greet me with my name and telling me that the villa that i order is ready. Really impress me and my biz partner...
Not long after my food is coming, the hotel manager Darius came to my table, greet us and tell us about the hotel. we had a great conversation about surfing and yoga.
unfortunately i have to checked out around 9 am and i had plan to visit this hotel again to try their yoga class...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi Pak Michel,

Pleasure us ours, thank you for being a champ during your stay here. Had such a pleasant conversation with Pak Yadi and yourself.

I dont know what you did but the staff seems to loves you alot. We look forward for your next visit to Pondok Pitaya.

Thank you

Regards,

Pondok Pitaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place has a lot going for it. Location right on the beach. Charming, clean rooms with a 1950s feel to them. Modern, funky bathrooms with a view across the fields while you take a (warm) shower. And a lovely pool right on the edge of the sand. The mosquito nets are robust and red. The breeze through the room when the doors are open is cooling and welcome.

Surfers are catered for with racks for their boards. Yoga is on offer in mornings in wonderful pavillions overlooking the crashing surf.

My main issue with this property in the bar / restaurant attached. It's an integral part of the place and so does have a big impact. The food quality was consistently poor (nasi goreng without an egg??); the music was bad (awful fake-reggae-pop or cover versions of Adele); and someone had added a rope of flashing rope of coloured LEDs. It is such a shame as the furniture, position and overall feel are really something special. This is why those in the know take a few steps down onto the black sand beach and head to the simple little place on the rocks to the right to have their sunset beer and feed.

I really like this place and they seem to be trying really hard to make a go of it. My advice - sort out the bar / restaurant (especially the music which made me seek out another place to have my beers); find a way to have front of rooms open to the breeze at night (perhaps louvre windows?); chill out a little and decide if you want to be a surfer place or a yoga place. At the moment its kind of neither with a bit of naff Kuta thrown in.

Room Tip: Large rooms for families / groups are also available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SybariteCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi SyBarite,

Thank you for staying in our hotel. We really appreciate for your praise and feed back for our Pondok Pitaya.

We will take your input and pass it on to the management. Since then surfers will always be in Balian and we look forward for more Yogis to come to bring more flavor to the area. The hotel guest is slowly changing to an active lifestyle hotel for both male and female.

Hopefully, you can comeback sometime in November and see our Yoga Teacher Training Course from USA...well, we always get praised from the local surfers when there is 30 young females in tights running around the premises hehehe but again thats then, thank you for staying with us.

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

This place is just as you imagine, simple shacks overlooking the surf and midnight-black sandy beaches. The beds are simple with red mosquito nets with a fan spinning to move the steamy air around. The bathroom has a head high opening so you can look out over the fields when you're having a shower or taking a pee. The plumbing is like mad scientists experiment, imagine if someone punched 5 holes in a coke bottle and squeezed water onto your head. The water shoots out at crazy angles and it takes 5 minutes just to get wet. But it's park of the charm, I guess.

Word of warning: don't eat in the restaurant. The food is not good and there's far better places to eat 2 seconds up the road. Breakfast is a joke.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayleggott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Hi Ray,

Thank you for your stay and your review for our Hotel. We will put a very positive attitude and try to improve and make better stay for every one in the near future.

Regards,

Pondok Pitaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Hi, we will be back on 31st July 2013 just wondering if there will be a fridge in the Joglo room when we get there? On my previous post you mentioned that you will look into it....hoping there will be as it will be very handy :))

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraceNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Hi Tracy and Phil,

Thank you so much for staying with us. Komang and I tried to catch you early in the morning to express our thank you and give you a complimentary Pitaya singlet but found out that you have already left the Hotel.

We really hope that you enjoyed your holiday here. Once more you two are awesome!!

Regards,

Pondok Pitaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Still a great place to stay and to eat but the change in ownership has definitely changed the feel, a lot of the funky art has gone making the place feel much like most other beach side hotels and there seems to be a real lack of hands on management, other than one of the girls most of the wait staff tend to be more interested in chatting with staff behind the bar than actually serving and the for standard has also dropped fairly dramatically. Will still be going back, just disappointing to see the standard fall.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenoo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Hi Keno,

on behalf of the staff I would like to apologize if our service is not as mint as we used to, but please be assure that we are continuing to increase our quality of standard. I will put this input to our restaurant staff in our weekly meeting.

for the funky art, we are in the process of rearranging all the rooms for better pictures, lamps and all the little things. We hope the next time you are here, you can notice the difference from this year.

Once more, thanks for staying with us. see you next time!!

- Pondok Pitaya -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We just rocked up to Pondok Pitaya and were so lucky they had a room av. Huge rooms, big bathrooms. Clean big bedding and towels. You cannot beat the position of this place, all rooms and restaurant over look the surf break of Balian. The pool is refreshing with banana chris facing out so you can sunbake and watch the surfers
The only thing I would recommend is get better ceiling fans or thinner Mozzie nets (which we needed) as it was sooooo hot and muggy in the rooms (no AC) - they only had one extra pedestal fan and someone else had it.
Good breakfast, small, but did the trick. Staff were lovely and WIFI was fast and reliable. We will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: all rooms face the sea, none have AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bectrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2013

Thank you for your stay!! we are glad that you had a good holiday ..okay got it..mosquito net and fans!! thank you for your feed back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
#17 of 60 in Tabanan
60 reviews
8.9 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gubug Balian Beach Bungalows
0 mi away
Istana Balian
Istana Balian
#16 of 60 in Tabanan
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Helen Balian
Villa Helen Balian
#21 of 60 in Tabanan
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Address: Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range: £46 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balian Beach, Located in west Bali, 90 minutes drive north of Seminyak. Balian Beach: Pondok Pitaya Surfer Hotel is located on the edge of a natural volcanic black sand beach and beautiful cliff crafted by nature itself. The beach is perfect for long walks and has all year round waves for surfing. Many Yoga groups are starting to looking into Balian Beach as an alternative training spot other than Ubud. All rooms have been reconstructed from indigenous houses imported from Java, dating back to the 1930's. Rooms include twin share Surfer Suites and large houses that can sleep up to 8 people. One of the best place in Balian Beach for Surfing and Yoga.Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Balian ... where you can live out your dream of being a surfer or enjoy a family holiday with few rounds of ice cold Bintang beers. Sample the freshest Indonesian and Western cuisine. 45 min from the Tabanan Mountain area for a coffee plantation hike and fresh brewed Balinese Coffee. Or slip into a waking dream with clear sky, millions of stars blinking at night and accompanied by tropical sea breeze. Some say Pondok Pitaya is a hotel, but some say its home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing And Yoga Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing