We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for surfers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Ranked #4 of 22 Tabanan B&B and Inns
Tours, France
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for surfers”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The place perfect, nice, perfect view on the beach, restaurant ok and nice, staffs very "bali style", yes swimming pool not clean enough. Area only good for surfers, difficult to swim, big waves, currents, so much pieces of wood on the black sand beach, beach dirty....but nice waves and good current to go behind the point break. Around are beautiful landscape of rice fields !!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djukbaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Djukbaa,

Thank you for staying with us. we are constantly trying to improve to make your stay better and memorable. Thank you for your testimonial, we look forward to have you back.

-Pondok Pitaya-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    38
    15
    10
    8
See reviews for
28
38
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at a bungalow in Pondok Pitaya hotel for 10 days over Dec - Jan period. The bungalow was built in a traditional style which was very charming, it was a clean and cool place surrounded by a beautiful garden. The double bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and had a hot shower.

I had a few meals at the hotel restaurant which has a good selection of Indonesian and western meals on the menu, they were of high quality and were delicious. I would highly recommend the yellow curry and a veggie wrap. The fresh fruit juices were also fantastic and I particularly enjoyed the watermelon juice with lime.

There are a variety of activities on offer, surfing is always an option and if you're not a surfer you can take yoga classes or sunbath by the pool among other activities. The massages offered through the hotel were very good ( I've had 4 from 3 different masseuses!). The experience of having the massages at a gazebo by the beach was truly magnificent. There are also beach walks to different bays and a night market to explore with various local food options.

If you're looking for a real holiday out of the hustle and bustle of Denpasar, I would highly recommend Pondok Pitaya, it is in a tranquil little village with a friendly community feel, the staff at the hotel were wonderful and they go out of their way to make sure you're comfortable and at ease.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank jinslebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Kia Ora Jin,

Thank you for your stay here, the staff cant get enough of you!!

Thanks for being so kind to them, we hope your stay here is memorable. next time, we hope the wave is more easier to learn on.

We look forward to have you on your next Bali holiday.

Nek Minit!!

-Pondok Pitaya-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

well at first i didnt expect that there is this place in tabanan, it wasn't so far from ngurah rai since they've highway nowadays.
nice and clean balinese bungalow with perfect sea waves and cool breeze.

great food in both balinese and western, also the services was helpful and very friendly. well overall pitaya may be one of the best place on tabanan and i'd love to come back again :))

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inyomanbudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi Nyoman,

Thank you for your kind testimonial. we look forward to have you back here with your beautiful wife to be.

until then, have a nice weekend and stay cool!!

- Pondok Pitaya -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I came here with one of me mates as i was told the surf here was amazing, and i certainly wasnt disappointed. We both hired out the bungalow down the end of the resort closest to the river which easily sleeps 5 people. The Bungalow is 3 stories high, so the view I had of the swell from the second floor was absolutely perfect. The sound of the waves and the cool sea breeze were great to fall asleep to as well.
The restaurant wasnt too bad either, The food was delicious, i recommend giving their yellow curry a go. The service was great too and the staff there were very nice and polite, also very easy to get along with.
Overall great place, great people and great surf. By far the best stop off on our tour and will definitely be coming back again!

Room Tip: The large bungalows are the place to stay, great view of the surf and layout is unbelievable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juz10fizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear JuzFizzle,

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Balian. Thank you for being an awesome guest while staying here. Next yellow curry is on us!!

- Pondok Pitaya -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I had a great stay here, the cottages are unique, location great and staff are attentive and friendly. This is by far the best choice if choosing to stay in Balian. It is located right on the beach and occupies most of the best scenic spots in the area. All the other accommodation options we saw require a long walk up a hill.
The cottages / bungalows are very comfortable, the food is very good and reasonably priced. Try the coconut shakes! I was surprised to see a diverse range of travelers staying here, a few families, surfers, couples and so on. It pretty much caters for all. I was traveling with a friend and we both had a great relaxing stay. Overall, a big thumbs up!!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and get room no.10 , it is 2 1/2 stories, has plenty of beds, quiet, and maybe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi David S,

Thanks so much for your kind words, we hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to see you back here with your family.

Have a safe flight back!!

- Pondok Pitaya -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennox Head
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here with our kids and I cant remember the number of our little house. We actually stayed in two different rooms as there was a problem with the booking. They had double booked us with another family and after two nights, we had to move. ( despite being already in the room ) it is a lovely hotel, right on the beach. terrific restauant too. Unfortunatley, as it is the last place before the beach it is also a hang out spot for all of the surfers and their girlfriends. Not a problem if their not taking up sun lounges and using the small pool. ( which is not really clean ) I would stay here again, but I would bring a laptop so I can watch movies and listen to music when the swells gone. Lots of great places to stay in this village. It is well worth the drive up the coast to Balian.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the front, so you can see water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alli G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hi Alli G,

Thanks so much for your testimonial. Please accept our apology for the double booking ( wont happen again). We will put your input to the staff and continue to increase our quality of service. Thanks again. Please send our regards to your family.

- Pondok Pitaya -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Because of their location, they take advantage on people and have extremely overpriced food. I wouldn't mind paying if the service was at least decent!! but 4 days in a row we had meals here and there was always something unavailable; we waited at least 1 hour for the dishes to arrive and twice they forgot to actually order one of the main dishes. You ask me why I went 4 times to that place? Because they have a good location and most of our friends hangout there but in every table always someone complaining.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DariusSadeli, Manager at Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Hi Rita,

Thank you for feed back. We are very sorry for not giving you the full Balian experience. Please understand that there has been an increase on local goods prices, the hotel will put your feed back internally to manage the customer's expectation for pricing.

There are several other options on the beach.

Thank you again for spending time with us.

-Pondok Pitaya-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
7.9 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#1 of 14 in Tabanan
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
Gajah Mina Beach Resort
#1 of 1 in Selemadeg
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
Pondok Pisces Bungalows
#15 of 54 in Tabanan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gubug Balian Beach Bungalows
0.0 mi away
Balian Villa
Balian Villa
#21 of 54 in Tabanan
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Istana Balian
Istana Balian
#11 of 54 in Tabanan
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga

Property: Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga
Address: Lalang Linggah, Balian River, Tabanan 82162, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Tabanan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balian Beach, Located in west Bali, 90 minutes drive north of Seminyak. Balian Beach: Pondok Pitaya Surfer Hotel is located on the edge of a natural volcanic black sand beach and beautiful cliff crafted by nature itself. The beach is perfect for long walks and has all year round waves for surfing. Many Yoga groups are starting to looking into Balian Beach as an alternative training spot other than Ubud. All rooms have been reconstructed from indigenous houses imported from Java, dating back to the 1930's. Rooms include twin share Surfer Suites and large houses that can sleep up to 8 people. One of the best place in Balian Beach for Surfing and Yoga.Experience a world of limitless adventure and sun-filled days in Balian ... where you can live out your dream of being a surfer or enjoy a family holiday with few rounds of ice cold Bintang beers. Sample the freshest Indonesian and Western cuisine. 45 min from the Tabanan Mountain area for a coffee plantation hike and fresh brewed Balinese Coffee. Or slip into a waking dream with clear sky, millions of stars blinking at night and accompanied by tropical sea breeze. Some say Pondok Pitaya is a hotel, but some say its home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing and Yoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pondok Pitaya: Hotel, Surfing And Yoga Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing