We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and remote paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Tabanan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

You go to Bali because you expect it to be a good cheap overseas holiday. You think you can get luxury with little expense. This is not true!
Pan Pacific in Bali is an amazing place, that would be heaven on earth except for a couple of things.
1. Expense
2. Remoteness to Kuta and Semanyak

Firstly, to expenses. We got an amazingly good deal to come to Pan Pacific. Very cheap for 8 nights. Due to its remoteness to the bigger towns, you are sort of held captive there for lunches and dinners. Prices for meals and drinks are just as expensive, if not more expensive than Australian prices. ie. a burger is around $15 AUD plus tax and service charges. This is one of the cheaper options. Also, we had a very expensive buffet dinner (around $30+ AUD per head). You would expect a drink with that, but no we had to pay. We also had a nice lunch at the golf course. You would expect a drink with that. But no you don't. No free water even. For a place where you can't even drink tap water, you would expect free bottled water. A 5 star resort should provide this. No ifs, buts or maybes. However, none provided unless you go to the gym and fill up from their free water, or you use the small amount they give you at room service. This is used up quickly for teeth brushing. If there is something they need to do, it is provide plenty of free drinking water, easily accessible.

Secondly, they advertise only 20 minutes to the main towns of Kuta and Semanyak. This is absolutely not true. At least an hour to Semanyak, and 90 minutes to Kuta. At least they provide free shuttle buses.

In saying all this, if money doesn't mean much to you, and you like being in an amazing, but remote paradise, then this is the place for you. Amazing food, very friendly staff, and amazing landscape on a beach cliff, near an iconic Bali temple and markets. So whilst I have bagged the place based on price gouging, I think it is a wonderful holiday at Pan Pacific.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacobkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanCasadevall, General Manager at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear Pan Pacific Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at Pan Pacific Nirwana Resort in Bali and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We value your time and energy since our guests' perspective is very important to us and so is your constructive feedback, for our team as well as for readers and visitors from all around the world alike.
First of all, I would like to highlight your very positive ratings in relation to our amazing place, food, very friendly staff, and amazing landscape on a beach cliff, with the iconic Tanah Lot temple. We will all agree that these are important aspects to consider for every guest visiting Bali and along with many other patrons staying at our resort.
On the Other hand, I am very sorry to read about your disappointing feedback about our food and drinks prices. For everyone’s reference we do provide daily complimentary water in the rooms and additional bottled water can be requested through Housekeeping anytime. Kindly note though that we also provide premium quality mineral water which is also provided in the room and our restaurants at minimal charge. Please accept our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations at every level.

We also noted your comments about our restaurant pricing and in this regard, I would like to highlight that we are positioned slightly lower than our competitor 5-star hotels in Bali; the mean reason being is to specifically drive additional interest from our in-house guests who would perhaps have less alternative options in the neighborhood due to our location. We also have weekly theme nights, including our ‘Bellissimo’ Italian night, our very popular ‘Seafood Beach BBQ’ dinner and our traditional ‘Balinese Legong Dance’ event, which all provide live entertainment and an overall great value for money experience. In addition for drinks, we also offer multiple happy hours around our bars and lounges, including our Pool Bar, Tanah Lot Gastro Deli and Golfers Terrace.

I would like to thank you for bringing your comments to our attention and I do personally still hope that you will consider returning to Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort, and if you do so, kindly feel free to contact me directly on ivan.casadevall@panpacific.com so we can arrange a memorable visit back to the resort, even if this is just for a meal or a lovely sunset cocktail.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort

With kind regards
Ivan Casadevall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,945)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

968 - 974 of 1,945 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I purchased a Luxury escapes 8 day package to this magnificent resort overlooking the Indian Ocean, Greg Norman designed golf course and Tanah Lot Temple. Absolute heaven on earth. Our ocean view room overlooked the 4 resort pools, palms, gardens, waterfalls into the pools and the golf course. Room was spacious, bathroom featured sep bath and shwr and balcony to view all the delightful scenery. Value for money. Massages, easy walk to Tanah Lot Temple and markets. Caught a taxi to Echo Beach for dinner. Highly recommended you do that as the meals are cheap as and the views excellent. Food etc at the resort are very good and staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was 455. It was perfectly located and quiet. It afforded fantastic views and was close to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed as a family for a couple of nights in May and loved the hotel. On check-in we were given a complimentary upgrade to an ocean view room which was delightful. The rooms are very well appointed and tastefully furnished. The bed was super-comfortable and your head simply melted into the pillows! For a family with young daughter the rooms were very spacious and we enjoyed relaxing there and on the balcony.
The food was of a very high standard: the breakfasts were simply gorgeous with a huge and tasty buffet choice to suit all palates; the Pool Grill also served up great food as we whiled our time away.
The pool itself was fabulous and our daughter loved every minute - cascading waterfalls and 2 water slides over 3 levels made the pool so much fun.
The location of the hotel is outstanding for a number of reasons: if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of Bali tourism...this is the place. We live in Bali and appreciated the space, peace and tranquillity of the hotel; secondly, the grounds are stunning with to-die-for views over to Tanah Lot temple and the setting sun, with the backdrop of huge waves crashing to shore below. Truly a photographer's dream and we got some top snaps ourselves.
The hotel staff were great, very friendly and accommodating to our needs.
We recommend highly and are already looking at dates to come back and soak up the peacefulness again!

Room Tip: Check online for specials and be a bit cheeky on check-in and see what you get!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MenariOwner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We just had 8 superb nights at this excellent resort, the staff were very friendly & we found our room very modern and clean.
The breakfast (which were included) were fantastic with a great variety of choices.
The restaurants are of high standards with magnificent food but are a bit pricey & if you are into golf you must play this course because it is outstanding ( and very challenging ) .

Overall a 9 out of 10.

Room Tip: Close to the pool a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombers32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just enjoyed a great stay at the Pan Pacific playing golf most days. If you are a golfer then this is a must do. The course is in pristine condition and very challenging for all handicaps. Every hole is just breathtaking. The hotel staff were beautiful and very helpful although not intrusive. The hotel facilities could probably do with a makeover at some point and being so remote makes a day trip into Kuta is a long day. We will be back in August for more of the same......

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GNPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This hotel takes advantage of its beautiful views. The pools are magnificently designed, some with slides. The rooms are modern and well appointed. The restaurants and cocktail lounge offered delicious meals and great cocktails. If you're a golfer you'd love this resort, as the golf course is well maintained.

However we were disappointed. Basically, we go to coastal resorts to relax, to sit by the pool or ocean and just chill. Read a book, chat, swim, nap. We found that this hotel did not offer enough single sun lounges, nor enough sun lounges in the shade. The umbrellas were the smallest I've seen at comparable 5 star resorts. For us this is an issue. We like the sun, we're from Sydney! But we don't like to roast in the sun all day long. Most of the lounges were doubles, which we found dipped or sagged in the middle. I didn't find them comfortable to sit in and read for long periods of time. During our brief stay, we noticed other guests wandering around the pool areas also looking for sun lounges out of the sun. We were intending to stay longer, but decided to leave.

We also weren't impressed with the smoke smell that came through the air-conditioning during the night while we slept, due to the burning-off of some crops at the time of our stay nearby. I'm sure this is just seasonal, though.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveToTravelOSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanCasadevall, General Manager at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Pan Pacific Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Pan Pacific Nirwana Resort in Bali and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We value your time and energy since our guests' perspective is very important to us and so is your constructive feedback, for our team as well as for readers and visitors from all around the world alike.

First of all, I would like to highlight your very positive ratings in relation to our beautiful views, magnificently designed pools, our modern rooms and our restaurants that offer delicious meals as well as our well maintained Golf course. We will all agree that these are important aspects to consider for every guest visiting Bali and along with many other patrons staying at our resort, the team and I feel very pleased you enjoyed the values of a great holiday.

On the other hand, it is with much regret that we have acknowledged your comments about our limited single sun beds by the pool and the particular smoke smell in your room. Because of our renowned swimming pool area and its fantastic facilities, it might sometimes feel overwhelming during busy days and peak hours. We have realized recently that availability of our single sun loungers could be a concern during these periods so thank you for your feedback. On behalf of our team, please accept our most sincere apologies for such inconvenience which did not contribute positively to your stay with us.

For everyone’s reference, we are adding more single sun loungers to our pool facilities and new larger umbrellas which should be able to suit every guest expectations. In regards to the smoke smell which is indeed originated by the farmers when burning crops, it is certainly seasonal and very limited as we have communicated this disturbance to our local villagers and we are working closely with the local farmers through their leaders to be educated. It is in the best interest of the region and its touristic attractions.

In spite of this unfortunate episode, thank you for sharing your point of view with our readers, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your stay and please contact our Director of Rooms romy.mansoer@panpacific.com or me directly on ivan.casadevall@panpacific.com and we will make sure that you will not be disappointed again and enjoy a memorable experience in our resort.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort!

With kind regards

Ivan Casadevall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We booked this holiday on a package deal and I hadn't been to Bali before so was a little nervous. I needn't have been. This place is absolutely stunning. From the moment we arrived (at midnight!) the staff were professional, kind and couldn't do enough for you. The location is simply breathtaking, the facilities were top class. We stayed in a garden room king suite which was beautifully appointed. The bed and the pillows were some of the most comfortable I've ever slept in. We had a range of inclusions such as massages, lunches and cooking classes and all were wonderful. Service was a little slow at the poolside bar around happy hour but really, that's not much to complain about. Even the food was fantastic. The facilities such as a pool and the day spa were beautiful. It does say on the website that the resort is 15 minutes from Seminyak. Unfortunately, it's more like 50 minutes which makes going into for shopping or restaurants a real chore. However, there are fantastic markets close by and upon reflection, I wouldn't even bother going into Seminyak for the shopping when you can get everything you need at these markets and often for much cheaper than Seminyak. However, if you do want to go into Kuta or Seminyak the resort offers a free shuttle service which is very handy and it's only about $11 for a taxi back to resort if you miss the shuttle pickup.

Overall, I'd recommend this to anyone for a perfect Bali holiday destination.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room towards the front of the hotel or the pool area. The rooms at the back, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IvanCasadevall, General Manager at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Pan Pacific Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Pan Pacific Nirwana Resort in Bali and sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We value your time and energy since our guests' perspective is very important to us and so is your constructive feedback, for our team as well as for readers and visitors from all around the world alike.

First of all, I would like to highlight your very positive ratings in relation to our suite room indulging into the best beds and pillows that you ever slept in as well as also our amazing hotel grounds. We can appreciate that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and this is most precious. Hope you are already missing the island by now and looking forward to your next visit.

We have also noted your constructive comments regarding our slow service during our “Happy Hour” in our Pool Bar and we appreciate your feedback; it is indeed a very popular event and we are actually considering to add in more staffing support to ensure that overall service remains flawless.

Once again, thank you for sharing your point of view with our readers and the team and I already look forward to welcoming you back to your very own “Heaven on earth” here at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort.

With kind regards

Ivan Casadevall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tabanan
4.0 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
698 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hilton Bali Resort
Hilton Bali Resort
#23 of 54 in Nusa Dua
1,899 reviews
5.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#18 of 148 in Seminyak
3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,889 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Tugu Bali
Hotel Tugu Bali
#2 of 39 in Canggu
817 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 148 in Seminyak
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Tanah Lot | PO Box 158, Tabanan 82171, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Tabanan
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tabanan
#3 Spa Hotel in Tabanan
Price Range: £442 - £600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a flawless getaway in paradise against the dramatic backdrop of Bali’s iconic Tanah Lot Temple and the Indian Ocean.Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort unveiled a brand new experience for guests with a US$10 million refurbishment of its 278 guest rooms including luxury suites and villas, restaurants, bars and event spaces completed in 2011. The renewed resort, complemented by the uncomplicated service and premium offerings synonymous with the Pan Pacific brand, will enable guests to enjoy enriching and unrivalled experiences.Experience the best location to enjoy a remarkable sunset in Bali with dramatic views of Bali’s iconic Tanah Lot temple, Indian Ocean, rice paddies, Greg Norman golf course and lush tropical gardens. In the resort, you can enjoy cycling around the resort grounds and the Bali countryside, a sunset walking experience with 103 hectares manicured gardens, spa indulgence at the Bale with endless view of the Indian Ocean, exquisite culinary offerings, relax by the three-tiered swimming pools with a 54-metre water slide, and many more activities awaits you. Complimentary shuttle service to Kuta and Seminyak is also provided.Children staying in the resort will be able to enjoy a wide-range of kid-friendly activities and experiences such as; painting, Balinese dancing, jungle gym, tennis, golf, Wii video games at Kids Club and Family Rooms or even join the fun environment activity of baby sea turtle release at the resort beach.Recently, Nirwana Bali Golf Club at Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort received prestigious recognition as Asia’s 10 Most Elite Golf Courses by FORBES Travel Guide, voted 100 Best Golf Course outside the US (no 66) and No 1 Golf Course in Indonesia by Golf Digest-US and Indonesia’s Leading Golf Resort (2010, 2011, and 2012) and Indonesia’s Leading Spa Resort (2012) by World Travel Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Hotel Tabanan
Pan Pacific Nirwana Bali Resort Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing