We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such potential”
Review of Villa Helen Balian

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Helen Balian
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I have taken some time to complete this review so that I may gain some perspective but I am still very disappointed in the hospitality we received at Villa Helen Balian. Whilst Balian was such a great place, it is unfortunate that one of few Villa's with an ocean view is so poorly managed. I travel extensively through SE Asia and go to Bali frequently and was very disappointed. When we arrived, we we barely greeted, the staff just indicated which rooms were available and then told us to pick. One of the rooms was unfinished and we endured power drills and extensive building works for the entire time we were there without any apology. The local staff were friendly enough and although the blonde guy's (owners son/manager) wife was super lovely to us, we felt as though we were crashing at their house for the week, with the owner drinking with his friends and them fighting about it (with her bursting into tears). Not very relaxing. Nearby, there is a beautiful nature walk, a gorgeous restaurant (at the accommodation we should have booked) and many other attractions in Balian which I thought they may mention but we were completely made to feel as though we were encroaching on their space at $170 per night. If we hadn't paid in full during booking, I would have found accommodation elsewhere. The place needs a through dust/clean/spruce and there were cobwebs in numerous places in my room. I can't understand the other more positive reviews on this site.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were lucky enough to stay 4 nights at Villa Helen. Unfortunately, due to being fully booked, we had to move to other accommodation that didn't even compare to Villa Helen. Magnus and his lovely wife made us feel very welcome and the ocean facing room was clean, spacious and modern and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The location is second to none and the view is breath taking and the pool area a perfect place to relax. . On our last night Magnus kindly offered us the new "super suite" which was absolutely fantastic. If you value security, privacy, modern spacious accommodation with a view to die for that is close to restaurants and the beach and yet is very secluded then look no further. Villa Helen is without a doubt the best accommodation in Balian and it will be our only choice when we return to Balian.

Room Tip: The ocean facing room is fantastic and so is the "Super Suite".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

With limited places to stay in Balian we relied on Booking.com to find somewhere, and although the name didn't immediately grab us, something did and we went and checked it out. Wow-what an impressive entrance and the security guard on the gate gave an impressive smile and a Balinese welcome, the further we ventured into the establishment the more impressed I became, the rooms were tasteful, the infinity pool and jacuzzi perched on the cliff set an amazing ambience. The Swedish owner and his wife could not of been more hospitable. Organising us massages and recommending dinner options. The place feels brand new and the gardens are immaculate. For some solitude and great waves with luxury accommodation and friendly staff - Villa Helen is the place to be. Highly recommended. Confused slightly by the review below, and glad that I realised that the reviewer was obviously having a bad day, and took the chance by checking it out ourselves.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkSW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Such a pity....great location overlooking The Indian Ocean. When we arrived to meet our friends at Villa Helen we were not greeted at all. We were told nothing about the property, the rooms, the breakfast, the village etc etc. There was works going, we we're told they would be finished the following day (Tuesday), when leaving on Friday morning they power tools were still in full swing. No apologies from the blond Swedish guy (who l'm guessing is the owner, but l have no idea as he never introduced himself). Sent his lovely Balinese wife to give us a bottle if wine to apologize for the inconvenience...we paid more than $160 a night. Impossible to relax as works constantly going on. Really made us felt like we were imposing on their space. We will never return whilst that Swedish boy with his appropriately named 'white trash' t-shirt is there. Learn from your wife and your other workers what the word 'hospitality' means!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

After my long drive back from Java on the scooter, JUST what I needed. Sensational. So relaxing and what a view!! Rooms where perfect and the owner and family is just lovely. What an amazing place it's a shame nothing in the are can keep me there longer, just in transit. Love love love it!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Hands down the best property in balian. The owner and staff make you feel like you're visiting friends.
Clear view of the surf break, and an easy walk or scooter ride to the waves.
We felt completely safe and secure in the gated property. Day and night.

Frogs come out at dusk to entertain. No noise though. ;)

This was a perfect place to honeymoon. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

David S has described Villa Helen exactly as we experienced it. A beautiful oasis, safe, clean, quiet, friendly, restaurants nearby (Tom's Garden around the corner is great!). Spacious rooms with aircon, large bathroom (rainshower with hot water), tv, minibar. Pool and gazebo with a spectaculair view at the ocean. We spent an amazing week here and would love to come back.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Marlies D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tabanan hotels
0.2 mi away
Istana Balian
Istana Balian
#15 of 57 in Tabanan
82 reviews
9.1 mi away
WakaGangga
WakaGangga
#1 of 13 in Tabanan
206 reviews
8.2 mi away
Soori Bali
Soori Bali
#2 of 13 in Tabanan
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Bali Homestay Cepaka
Bali Homestay Cepaka
#1 of 27 in Tabanan
40 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
Bali Eco Stay Bungalows
#1 of 57 in Tabanan
497 reviews
11.8 mi away
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot
#5 of 13 in Tabanan
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Helen Balian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Helen Balian

Address: Balian Beach 71, Tabanan, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tabanan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Tabanan
Price Range: £87 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Villa Helen Balian Bali/Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing