We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WakaGangga
Nearby Hotels
Amarta Retreat(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Taman Sari(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Soori Bali(Tabanan)
US$728
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$681
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natya Hotel Tanah Lot(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Moksha Boutique Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bali Japan Village(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Prana Dewi Mountain Resort(Tabanan)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Istana Balian(Tabanan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
187
25
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
25
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaka ganggaprivate poolgarden villatanah lotdestination weddingparty scenehear the wavesblack sandbig gardenbalinese cakeroom layoutbali lombokrestaurant overlooking the oceanbread basketvegan menucleaning servicecomplimentary tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

In short, we just couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Your stay will be amazing. We stayed for three nights, were the only guests at the hotel at the time and like all other reviewers wish our stay could have been longer. The facilities are brand new, the staff (like everyone in Bali) are happy and engaging, the surrounds are tranquil and the inclusions offered by the hotel will just blow you away. If you're after an authentic and relaxing experience then this is definitely the place.

To offer a little more detail, it really depends what you're after. Tabanan is not the place you go to party; there's very little out there other than serene rice terraces, smiling locals and an amazing volcanic beach (but be aware it's inadvisable to swim here due to the rough conditions so probably not the place for children - consider the Pan Pacific instead which is 15 minutes down the road). This hotel is situated amongst working rice terraces and fronts directly onto a near deserted volcanic black sand beach. The surrounding environment has been tastefully incorporated into the immaculate gardens throughout the villas and resort. If you want to relax by the pool you will not be left wanting for opportunity to do so. For the more active walks through the rice terraces are fantastic, we also went kayaking up a local river and hired bikes to explore a little further. All the while we were pretty well the only tourists to be seen. If I had to offer one piece of constructive criticism (and this is tough to find given how amazing this place really is) it would be that there is a tour operator called Bali Adventures just down the beach which offers bike, horse and motorbike tours along the beach. While I have no issue with the former two, the latter leads to the occasional mob of bogans on motorbikes which does detract a little from the overall experience. But this doesn't happen often and they quickly return to their natural Kuta habitat so I wouldn't let it sway dissuade you from staying.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakaHotelsandResorts, President & Chief Executive Officer of Waka Hotels and Resorts at WakaGangga, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Mr. Jim C

We thank you for sparing your valuable time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at WakaGangga.

We are pleased to note that all service and facilities offered by the hotel were to your entire satisfaction. We also thank you for your comment regarding occasional disturbance caused by the motorbikes on the beach. We will bring this to the attention of local authorities as driving motorized vehicles on the beach is not permitted.

We thank you for having stayed with us. Myself and my team look forward to the pleasure of again welcoming you to WakaGangga in the near future.

Sincerely yours,

Kamal K. Kaul
President & Chief Executive Officer
Waka Hotels and Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My friend & I stayed at Waka Gangga 12 - 13th April. We took close to 2 hours travelling up from Nusa Dua. It was a little hard to get to even though we had a local driver. There are no signages leading you to this resort unlike the more established hotels/resorts. It also did not help that we could not find the hotel’s contact details off the internet.

After getting lost a few times, we arrived at paradise. Passing through the porch, we were greeted by a beautiful sight of greenery & the beach. We were well received by the staff. They all seemed to be anticipating our arrival. We were informed during the check in that we were have been upgraded to the sea view room, there was a complimentary short massage & we were invited to have refreshment, a complimentary tea time. However, due to the delay in getting to the resort, we were in a rush to get ready for a wedding at the nearby Alila Soori.

When the door opened to villa 104, the sight was simply breathtaking. The compound was spacious. The outdoor pavilion was furnished with a daybed & big cushions. It looked perfect for lounging around by the pool if the heat was too much for us. The pool was bigger than what we had expected & slightly deeper than normal. This was good for swimming. The view was like it was from a postcard. The beach was clearly visible & you could hear the waves.

When we entered the "room", well it was more like a beautiful hut, it was so homey that we wished that we were staying longer. The room was spacious. The layout & the choice of furnishing was simple yet fitting with the feel of the room. The sleeping area was separated from the wardrobe/luggage area & washroom by 2 sliding doors. The bed faced had the perfect view of the blue skies. There was even a daybed within the sleeping area. It would fit a young child.

Breakfast was at the restaurant overlooking the beach. Restaurant was elevated & the view was pleasant. We were practically the only ones in the whole resort. There was no one else but the staff. Breakfast itself was partially ala carte. Enjoyable but nothing out of the world. The short message was a nice treat.

The staff that we met were all attentive & very pleasant. Even the night security who had to help us locate our room at 3 in the morning. Wish we knew the hotel was going to be so gorgeous. Have been recommending this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanduhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakaHotelsandResorts, Manager at WakaGangga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Amanduhl,

Many thanks for your elaborated review on our property and services. We very much value the time you took to review your recent holiday experience and for sharing your impressions on WakaGangga! We are pleased to note that all services and facilities offered by the hotel were to your entire satisfaction. As a small side-note, all major road signs are now put up and it should be less of an adventure to find us… Again, thank you for your feedback and recognizing our efforts - we do appreciate it very much and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Bali in the near future.

Kind regards,
Juliana Rosenboom
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

hi! my mum and i went to WakaGangga on the last night of our stay in Bali, in May.
it was our first time visiting Bali, and had we known that WakaGangga was as beautiful, serene and quiet as it is, we would have stayed there for as many nights as we could.
we loved the locality to the beach, and having stayed in busy places most of our trip, the comparison to a quieter area away from town was so refreshing.
i can imagine it would be especially awesome for couples, and if you're not into the touristy areas, like we aren't.
Thankyou very much for being amazingly warm, providing us with lots of information about our stay and the area and being so hospitable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateandIsobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakaHotelsandResorts, Manager at WakaGangga, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Kateandlsobel,

Thank you for posting such a nice review on TripAdvisor! It’s pleasant to know that you feel WakaGangga is a quiet, peaceful tugged-away resort offering direct access to natural surroundings and atmosphere. We try our best to conserve the Balinese way of life, habits and artifacts, which draw visitors to this wonderful island. We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to WakaGangga in the near future.

Best regards,
Juliana Rosenboom
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a 3 night stay here, I could have stayed for a week. It is an unspoilt area with a long sandy beach unfortunately the sea was too rough to swim in. However we had a lovely private pool which we used a lot. The room was super, large, airy, bright, well furnished and immaculate. The gardens were very restful, during the day I had fun watching the various little birds flitting around the garden. I saw kingfishers near the pond by the spa. I was annoyed I had forgotten my binoculars!
I also took advantage of the spa and had a facial and pedicure. I enjoyed both and they were great value too.
It was a pleasure to eat in the open air restaurant above the garden overlooking the sea. When we arrived there were only 2 other guests in the hotel! The staff were very attentive and tended to our every need, indeed we felt pampered.
There is a shuttle bus to Tonga Lot, we went on our second night to see the sunset, it was well worth doing.
We also took beach walks and collected shells, all in all a very relaxing few days.

Room Tip: Stay for at least 3 nights!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil2252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakaHotelsandResorts, Manager at WakaGangga, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Mrs. Phil2252,

We are delighted to read your wonderful comments about WakaGangga. Thank you very much for posting your experience and sharing your positive observations. Great to know that you had a relaxing time with us.

Indeed, WakaGangga is a very natural and peaceful resort and we take pride in conserving the local habitat by strongly encouraging environmental practices to help reduce waste and pollution.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Juliana Rosenboom
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We are a family of three traveling with our 2y old son. We absolutely loved our 3 nights at our private villa with pool. The staff was so helpful, sweet and accommodating. The room was stunning: an enormous four poster bed that they made up twice a day. The bathroom was beautiful with even an outside shower. Our son loved that :) the pool was great. This way our son could enjoy the pool without bothering the other guests. This room would also be perfect for a romantic getaway or honeymoon. The only minor remark is the fact that the baby cod was for a small baby and our son didn't fit anymore, but they were going to buy another bed for future little guests.
Breakfast, lunch, dinner, everything was made with love and it was all good. I'm allergic to cinnamon and all the jams had cinnamon in them. The next day, for breakfast, I got a strawberry jam without cinnamon made especially for me. The spa was very good as we'll. A must stay during your trip in Bali!

Room Tip: The garden villa with pool was awesome
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinnelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WakaHotelsandResorts, Manager at WakaGangga, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Mr. /Mrs. Tinnelox,

Thank you for choosing WakaGangga for your family vacation and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your positive feedback regarding all aspects of our resort and we are glad to learn that our services and facilities have met your expectations.

We have looked into the point related to the baby cot. Despite the size and bedding, we hope that your son had a pleasant sleep… We are indeed ordering additional baby beds in “larger” sizes – it is important for us to guarantee comfort for all guests; no matter their age.

We do hope your memorable experience will bring you back to WakaGangga in the near future.

Sincerely,
Juliana Rosenboom
(Resort Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews