We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“piece and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“piece and quiet”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I can recommend this Resort to "Switch off" from your daily hectic life. A very peaceful place in an fantastic lush Tropical Setting. A stunning infinity pool on top of the valley and down by the river near the spa the secon one. Fantastic. You are in full nature, raind forest Feeling.
The Villas are taken care of by the very attentive staff. Cuisine is excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Conaisseur,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and share such a good comment to other travelers.

I am pleased to know that you loved all aspects of our resort. We are delighted to learn that we were able to make a one of a kind Balinese getaway for you. For your future stay with us, we’d like to recommend you to reserve directly through our website to ensure extra benefits.

I dearly hope that you will plan another Balinese experience with us in the near future.




Best Regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    100
    32
    10
    12
See reviews for
47
270
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed there for one week. If are looking for a place to relax, Alam Ubud is the one of the best. We enjoyed every moment. Food quality was acceptable and options were limited. The pool was fabulous! We loved the gorgeous views

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParsaMahsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear ParsaMahsa,

Thank you very much for your stay at Alam Ubud Culture Villa & Residences. We are delighted to see that you experienced an amazing Balinese experience with us. It is indeed our privilege to learn that you loved all aspects of our resort . As you may know, the team here at Alam Ubud is committed to exceed every guest expectation. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience to other travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our resort to experience another exceptional holiday in paradise!

with my best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

After a welcoming drink and foot soak upon arrival we were somewhat disappointed by the damp, slightly unclean rooms. The hotel lacks small touches that could make it worth the money: new towels, more sun loungers, a decent bar area and mosquito net turndown as standard.
Stick to the upper pool; the second spa pool is a bit grotty, though a massage is a must. While we couldn't fault the helpfulness of the reception staff, the restaurant could do with a few more English speaking waiters.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CatherineCreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your stay @Alam Ubud Culture Villa & Residence.

Appreciated that you took the time to write and share this review to other travelers.
I am fully agree with you especially for the linen and the cleanliness of the room as Alam Ubud villa location is very unique and outdoor maintenance also very hard.

However, we still work hard on it in order to achieve that standard and i believe that we can go a head with the team. For you to know that some of our staff at Restaurant also coming from hotel school who doing a regular training program, therefore some of them still need more improvement especially for the English communication.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Villa Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed one night here before we left for the airport the next day. We had recently stayed at the Hanging Gardens and were expecting to be disappointed by Alam Ubud but when we arrived it was so great! They greeted us with a foot soak and a welcome drink. The villa was very large! It actually seemed nicer than the other places we stayed in Bali. The only criticism was the doors to the balcony had a gap and a couple bugs were able to get under the door. It wasn't too much of a bother, plus we had mosquito nets on the bed.
We didn't book one with a private pool so in order to get to the large pool you had to walk up a lot of stairs. I must mention my friend and I were both a little sick from Bali belly so we had very little energy. They have a golf buggy available to give a ride to the top but it was a hassle to have to call for them then walk up the stairs to wait for them. If you are in poor shape I would not recommend staying towards the bottom of the resort! The pool was fabulous! We loved the views and there was only one other couple there for a short time so it felt like we had it all to ourselves.
We never ate the food due to feeling sick so we can't comment on the restaurant.
The hotel is quite far from Ubud but they do provide a free shuttle. We found the times to be awkward and arranged for paid transport to Ubud and took the shuttle back at 9pm. I guess if you wanted to spend the entire day in Ubud it would work for you but we wanted to enjoy the villa and the pool for some of the day.
On the day we were to check-out we didn't need to be to the airport by 5 so we asked if we could have a late check-out and they kindly obliged. They allowed us to stay in the room until 2 for free which was great! However, we had arranged for the staff to provide transportation to the airport and they didn't have them come until 3 so we were left sitting awkwardly in the lobby for an hour. We would have rather had them come right away and waited at the airport or let us know that we were going to wait and went down to the pool deck while we waited. It must have been a misunderstanding.
Overall, the staff was very friendly, we especially like the young girl who worked the desk. Her English was great and she really took time to make us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a secluded resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Omaha114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manajer at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Omaha 114,

Thank you for your time to writte and sharing this review to other travelller. It was a pleasure to serve you here even only for a short stay. And really sorry for the mis-understanding about the driver as i believe that our team have arranged the time accordingly.

Hopefully, there will be another opportunity for us to serve you again next time and ensure that we could make your stay more enjoyable and memorable one.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.

best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (dino)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I never write reviews but I thought It would be right for me to write about this "5 star" villa.

Let me start wight pros:
- amazing swimming pool with stunning views !
- very nice staff at the reception
- welcome drink and washing the feet was beautiful
- bima villa balcony had gorgeous views
- villa overall is quite spacious
- good for people who just want to be very secluded from everything else

Now here comes the cons:
- half of staff members didn't understand or speak english properly so communication was a bit hard
- the rooms were dusty and had lots of wings from dead flies lying around the bed area and they were also falling off from mosquito net
- interior was quite dated certainly not 5 star quality
- breakfast was bad it wasn't delicious and bland
- wi fi did not reach our room

I believe it was not as well maintained as other reviews Because it is currently low season and one of the staff told us only 5 out of 14 villas were occupied so I presume they didn't put too much effort in keeping it up with cleaning frequently
- it was quite far from the ubud centre and difficult to get to unless you get a taxi.

Overall it's not a luxury villa as advertised. I've been to many other places for half a price that was much better such as Puri Asri in ubud.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korrytrikky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Mai V,

Thank you for you for your stay with us and your feedback on tripadvisor, we have noted all your comments and we will promptly follow up to improve our quality and service.

We hope there will be another opportunity to serve you here in Alam ubud villa and we will keep you updated the latest information including special offer that we may have here at the villa.

We dearly hope that you will plan another visit to Bali again and experience Alam Ubud in the next future time.

warm regards,
Ketut Sudiana(dino)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at Alam for a night in January 2014 and, while beautifully located and boasting stunning grounds, could do with an update of soft furnishings like towels, sheets and pillows.

The staff were friendly and our driver into Ubud central and the airport was very helpful, and the welcome drink, foot cleansing and room upgrade were a very nice surprise.

The private pool overlooking the rainforest was also beautiful and watching the birds and squirrels in the surrounding trees from our balcony was very nice.

Food at the restaurant was okay but not overly special and a more refined menu might help to maintain a higher level of quality.

Thanks to the staff for an overall enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron7911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Cameron 7911,

Thank you very much for your time to write such a positive reviews on trip advisor.
I am fully agree with some parts of your comment especially for the linen which need to be improved in order to have a better standard .

I trust that we can go to that level as we are here and team still work on it.
I hope that we will has another opportunity to serve you here at Alam Ubud Villa .

Looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

best regards,
Dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I usually don't write many reviews on hotels but I simply had to warn anybody thinking about this hotel. We recently stayed at this hotel and this is a detailed and unbiased account of our experience.

Checking in: Upon arrival, we were informed that the hotel was fully booked and that the room we had reserved was not available. We did not see a single other guest anywhere so it was slightly odd to hear that the hotel was fully booked. We would have to change rooms after two days but okay, that happens. No big deal if this had been the only issue. While waiting for the reception to sort out the rooms we were offered a foot bath which could have been a really nice touch. However, it soon became apparent that the same water was used repeatedly to wash all the guests feet. After washing our feet the lady saved the dirty water presumably for the next guests checking in.

The rooms:
The villas were quite large and seemed to have been quite nice at one point in time. However now they were truly run down and extremely dirty. There was mold growing everywhere. There was a thick layer of dust and spiderwebs under the bed. The room was very damp and the bed especially felt damp and unhygienic. There was a very moldy smell in the room. The toilet was loose and wiggled when sat on. When I went to turn on the faucet, the entire handle actually fell off and ended up in my hand. Later when I went to close the curtains, the entire curtain-rod fell down. The safe was out of order and there were red stains on several pillows. Needless to say, the rooms were a disaster. The air conditioning sounded like a jet taking off but since the room was so damp we had to run the air conditioning all night despite the sound. All in all the rooms were in terrible shape and were literally falling apart.

The restaurant:
The restaurant was truly disappointing. The menu was extremely unappetizing and overpriced. Although the menu offered a wide selection, every dish was accompanied by a very unflattering photo. Unfortunately, the food was pretty much as good as it looked in the pictures. The staff was not well trained and did not even know what sparkling water was.

The "spa":
This was a very poor excuse for a spa. The spa consisted of a small pool overridden with mold and two small massage rooms. The entire spa area was deserted and the therapists were late for our appointments. The worst part of all was the actual massage room. There was no massage bench, only a small thin mattress on the floor looking straight into the ground. The hole smelled terribly of mold and the mattress had probably never been changed. It was so bad I could not stay put for the massage. Last but not least, there was no door to the massage room - only a old plastic shower curtain with yellow ducks on it. Not quite fitting for a spa

All in all this hotel was a huge disappointment. It felt like a ghost town since we only met one or two other guests - despite the fact the hotel was supposedly fully booked. My guess is that the other rooms were in even worse shape than ours. The hotel is also set quite far from Ubud town which could have been nice if the hotel had been nice. The hotel had a nice view and had potential but everything was in really poor shape. It felt like a big project that ran out of money and now they're trying to pass off a luxury spa with rubber duck shower curtains and terrible food. Don't let this place ruin your vacation! I'm sure there are many better places to stay in Ubud! It doesn't take much to beat this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Johanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Johanman,

First of all, on behalf of Management and staff Alam Ubud Culture Villa & Residence, kindly accept our apologies for the bed experiences during your stay with us.

I have gone trough all the details you mentioned above and start working hard to sorted it out in order to have a better service standard as our commitment that high guest satisfaction is our top priority.I do believe that will be very hard due to the location and surrounding areas of Alam Ubud was very unique.

I dearly hope that you will plan another Balinese experiences with us in the next future.

best regards,
dino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 198 in Ubud
1,080 reviews
4.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#12 of 198 in Ubud
1,849 reviews
4.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
4.4 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#44 of 198 in Ubud
1,866 reviews
5.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences

Property: Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Address: Desa Kendran, Tegalalang 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Tegalalang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Ubud is not only a resort but a new place for the Indonesian culture in the surrounding of Ubud area. Located at the amazing river valley and tropical forest, only minutes away from the centre of Ubud Bali, Alam Ubud spaciously set within a 4 hectare river villa and garden landscape. The scenery along the road from center of Ubud the Alam Ubud area is an observation and culture environment. So, you can imagine the location is very unique and special in Ubud. In every terrace and garden area you also can find old culture from Java island and some of culture that date back to the 15th century until the 19th century we found in area of Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Ubud Culture Villas And Residences
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Bali/Tegalalang, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing