We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

this is one place where you can gain solitude and privacy with your partner.
its approx. 15 mins from Ubud central but if you are happy to enjoy a few nights enjoying the privacy, views, scenery, and good service then this will suit you. My wife and returned after spending 3 nights in 2013.
the villa's are excellent, clean and spacious. The main pool has a great view where you can laze around in privacy.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bali1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manajer at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Bali 1961,

Thank you for your recent stay at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences.
We are delighted to see that you experienced an amazing Balinese experience with us. It is indeed our privilege to learn that you loved all aspects of our resort and especially our award-winning team. As you may know, the team is committed to exceed every guest expectation. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience to other travelers.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in our resort to experience another exceptional holiday in paradise!

best regards,
Dino
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2014

The staff was super friendly and everything was perfect! I hope to return there someday.
I don't have any negative complain about the place, everything was just perfect.
Just keep in mind that a taxi to Ubud city costs around 100 000 IDR from this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clar0scur0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manajer at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to see that you experienced an amazing Balinese experience with us. It is indeed our privilege to learn that you loved all aspects of our resort and especially our services from the entire team here at Alam Ubud Viila. As you may know, the team is committed to exceed every guest expectation. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience to other travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our resort to experience another exceptional holiday in paradise!



Best Regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Location: 30-40 minutes from Ubud by car depending on traffic. There’s a free shuttle that goes to & from Ubud but it’s at inconvenient times (Return from Ubud is only at 4pm & 9pm). We hired a scooter instead & I HIGHLY recommend it if you can ride one, its only 20 mins on the scooter & it’s a lovely ride. If you want to spend a lot of time in Ubud town or sightseeing I wouldn’t recommend staying here UNLESS you have a scooter or personal driver. But for people who want to spend a lot of time at the villa its perfect. The villas are surrounded by countryside & farms then once you're on the main road there’s lots of art, craft & homewares shops all the way to Ubud. 10 mins drive from Tegallalang rice terraces. I absolutely loved the location.

Positives: Room was amazing, really large, clean & modern (Balinese style), certainly not dated. Aircon worked really well. Villas are surrounded by plants & beautiful trees - you feel like you are in the middle of a rainforest. Didn't have any problems with dampness in the room. Infinity pool was amazing, especially at sunset! All the staff were really friendly & helpful, service was always excellent - especially the welcome drink & foot soak on arrival. They let us keep our luggage at the hotel after we checked out because we had a late flight home. They spray the entire villa complex (even outdoor areas) to keep mosquitoes away. I'd say Alam Ubud is 4 star quality. We got this at a huge discount during low season so it was amazing value!

Negatives: Lots of stairs from the lobby down to villas. Over 100 steps down to our villa (ours was one of the lowest villas, even though I requested a higher room when I booked). Even though we are both very fit we were always puffed climbing from our room up to the lobby. Food at the restaurant was good but the menu is very limited - needs a wider selection. We also got a bit sick from eating the food there - not full-on Bali belly but we didn't feel well for a few days afterwards. The free breakfast was not very nice at all & also needs a wider selection. Wifi was TERRIBLE in our villa but was ok up at the lobby, restaurant & pool.

Room Tip: If you're not good with stairs, request a room higher up (closer to the lobby).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade-186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manajer at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Jade - 186,

Thank you for your recent stay at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences - Tegalalang Ubud - Ginayar - Bali

We are delighted to learn that we were able to make a one of a kind Balinese getaway for you.
Noted well for the breakfast menu and now we still work on it to increase the variance of the menu. As well as for the wi-fi connection, as we have done to upgrade the speed in order to cover the standard as you have mentioned below on the comments.

For your future stay with us, we’d like to recommend you to reserve directly through our website to ensure you to get a special offer and will be more than a pleasure to extend the extra benefits.

I dearly hope that you will plan another Balinese experience with us in the near future.

best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (dino)
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I can recommend this Resort to "Switch off" from your daily hectic life. A very peaceful place in an fantastic lush Tropical Setting. A stunning infinity pool on top of the valley and down by the river near the spa the secon one. Fantastic. You are in full nature, raind forest Feeling.
The Villas are taken care of by the very attentive staff. Cuisine is excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank conaisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Conaisseur,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and share such a good comment to other travelers.

I am pleased to know that you loved all aspects of our resort. We are delighted to learn that we were able to make a one of a kind Balinese getaway for you. For your future stay with us, we’d like to recommend you to reserve directly through our website to ensure extra benefits.

I dearly hope that you will plan another Balinese experience with us in the near future.




Best Regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed there for one week. If are looking for a place to relax, Alam Ubud is the one of the best. We enjoyed every moment. Food quality was acceptable and options were limited. The pool was fabulous! We loved the gorgeous views

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ParsaMahsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear ParsaMahsa,

Thank you very much for your stay at Alam Ubud Culture Villa & Residences. We are delighted to see that you experienced an amazing Balinese experience with us. It is indeed our privilege to learn that you loved all aspects of our resort . As you may know, the team here at Alam Ubud is committed to exceed every guest expectation. Once again, thank you for sharing your valuable experience to other travelers.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in our resort to experience another exceptional holiday in paradise!

with my best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

After a welcoming drink and foot soak upon arrival we were somewhat disappointed by the damp, slightly unclean rooms. The hotel lacks small touches that could make it worth the money: new towels, more sun loungers, a decent bar area and mosquito net turndown as standard.
Stick to the upper pool; the second spa pool is a bit grotty, though a massage is a must. While we couldn't fault the helpfulness of the reception staff, the restaurant could do with a few more English speaking waiters.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank CatherineCreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manager at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your stay @Alam Ubud Culture Villa & Residence.

Appreciated that you took the time to write and share this review to other travelers.
I am fully agree with you especially for the linen and the cleanliness of the room as Alam Ubud villa location is very unique and outdoor maintenance also very hard.

However, we still work hard on it in order to achieve that standard and i believe that we can go a head with the team. For you to know that some of our staff at Restaurant also coming from hotel school who doing a regular training program, therefore some of them still need more improvement especially for the English communication.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (Dino)
Villa Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed one night here before we left for the airport the next day. We had recently stayed at the Hanging Gardens and were expecting to be disappointed by Alam Ubud but when we arrived it was so great! They greeted us with a foot soak and a welcome drink. The villa was very large! It actually seemed nicer than the other places we stayed in Bali. The only criticism was the doors to the balcony had a gap and a couple bugs were able to get under the door. It wasn't too much of a bother, plus we had mosquito nets on the bed.
We didn't book one with a private pool so in order to get to the large pool you had to walk up a lot of stairs. I must mention my friend and I were both a little sick from Bali belly so we had very little energy. They have a golf buggy available to give a ride to the top but it was a hassle to have to call for them then walk up the stairs to wait for them. If you are in poor shape I would not recommend staying towards the bottom of the resort! The pool was fabulous! We loved the views and there was only one other couple there for a short time so it felt like we had it all to ourselves.
We never ate the food due to feeling sick so we can't comment on the restaurant.
The hotel is quite far from Ubud but they do provide a free shuttle. We found the times to be awkward and arranged for paid transport to Ubud and took the shuttle back at 9pm. I guess if you wanted to spend the entire day in Ubud it would work for you but we wanted to enjoy the villa and the pool for some of the day.
On the day we were to check-out we didn't need to be to the airport by 5 so we asked if we could have a late check-out and they kindly obliged. They allowed us to stay in the room until 2 for free which was great! However, we had arranged for the staff to provide transportation to the airport and they didn't have them come until 3 so we were left sitting awkwardly in the lobby for an hour. We would have rather had them come right away and waited at the airport or let us know that we were going to wait and went down to the pool deck while we waited. It must have been a misunderstanding.
Overall, the staff was very friendly, we especially like the young girl who worked the desk. Her English was great and she really took time to make us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a secluded resort.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Omaha114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ketut s, Manajer at Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Omaha 114,

Thank you for your time to writte and sharing this review to other travelller. It was a pleasure to serve you here even only for a short stay. And really sorry for the mis-understanding about the driver as i believe that our team have arranged the time accordingly.

Hopefully, there will be another opportunity for us to serve you again next time and ensure that we could make your stay more enjoyable and memorable one.

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavours.

best regards,
Ketut Sudiana (dino)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tegalalang
1.4 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#3 of 199 in Ubud
1,262 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,039 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
2.6 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#10 of 199 in Ubud
1,096 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wapa di Ume Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences

Address: Desa Kendran, Tegalalang 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Tegalalang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Tegalalang
Price Range: £75 - £545 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alam Ubud is not only a resort but a new place for the Indonesian culture in the surrounding of Ubud area. Located at the amazing river valley and tropical forest, only minutes away from the centre of Ubud Bali, Alam Ubud spaciously set within a 4 hectare river villa and garden landscape. The scenery along the road from center of Ubud the Alam Ubud area is an observation and culture environment. So, you can imagine the location is very unique and special in Ubud. In every terrace and garden area you also can find old culture from Java island and some of culture that date back to the 15th century until the 19th century we found in area of Villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Ubud Culture Villas And Residences
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Hotel Tegalalang
Alam Ubud Culture Villas & Residences Bali/Tegalalang, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing