We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alam Sari
Nearby Hotels
Bali Eco Resort and Adventure(Tegalalang)(Great Value!)
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Puri Sebatu Resort(Tegalalang)(Great Value!)
US$76
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanga House(Tampaksiring)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Sarna Ubud(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$143
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Sembuwuk Resort(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alam Puisi Villa(Tampaksiring)
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Sunia Resort(Ubud)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puri Hari Resort & Villas(Ubud)(Great Value!)
US$42
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$34
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
296 results
Traveller rating
173
80
22
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
80
22
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvillage tourorganic gardencooking classlocal villagetraffic noise from the roadbalinese culturerice paddiesfamily roomyoga retreatgunung agungmeditation roomartist housecome homefamily compounddelicious foodhighlight of our tripsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 296 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautiful lodge with a breathtaking view from our romantic bed. What do you want more, waking up in the morning and having such a beatiful view on the jungle. Perfect restaurant with nice view on the pool and the surroundings, best breakfast we had and also dinner with local food...Just perfect!
Most friendly staff and employees in the restaurant, but also the driver (gardener of the Organic Garden) who brought us to Ubud. He told us enthusiastic about the people, traditions and religion.
For sure that we will visit this hotel again during our next trip to Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

This hotel is everything that is written here. It's out of the mayhem, picturesque, remote, food is good and the service is great...

but
the tranquility is lessened by the traffic noise
the interior rooms need a good scrub
the pool is too cold to swim in for more than a few minutes (Jan 2014)
insects mean relaxing by the pool and outside in general are hazardous
the mosquito nets are very dirty and have holes in them
the promised water is minimal

so my advice is stay for 2 nights and if you like it stay longer, if not move on

Room Tip: The family rooms have no view, but are good value with interconnecting rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We arrived in Bali and were greeted by a VIP arrival service (Helps to speed the customs process) and then were greeted by the now "legendary" Dewa ;) I could write a book reviewing just the wisdom and sayings this man possesses but that's another review. The facility is exactly as described and shown. Our room overlooking the beautiful pool had a magnificent view of the volcano Mt. Agung. The village tour is a MUST and I strongly recommend the cooking class with Dewa, his wife Jeru and included family as well. I had an idea of what Alam Sari was about before I arrived yet in reality it exceeded every expectation I had. Ubud is 20 minutes away by shuttle or hired driver and it was so nice to return to the sanctity and serenity of Alam Sari every day after the hustle of Ubud or Sanur. FYI, You will not make the walk to Ubud regardless of what anyone else says. Too hot, too much traffic etc. Just take the shuttle or hire one of the drivers that the hotel uses. (Wayan Seraya was wonderful) The rooms are immaculately cleaned every morning by at least 4 staff, and the included free full breakfast is wonderful. Not that Bali is expensive at all, but there is real savings just in that alone. Note: You are in a jungle; there are critters; but they are all part of the ambiance and none are harmful at all. We shared our villa with at least 3 geckos, many small lizards and a frog. There is beautiful mosquito netting around the beds which I found I really didn't need but I closed them every night because it was more romantic and the ambiance was really nice. There is WiFi however it is limited to only one device per room (unless you ask them nicely...)To us it seems that Alam Sari is our newly discovered home away from home. We stayed for 10 nights but we are definitely coming back in the future. The staff at Alam Sari go out of there way to ensure your stay is a memorable one. Given the chance, most of the staff will become your friends before your go home. We really enjoyed meeting Dewa, Agung, Choc, Kerti, Wayan, Sujana, Kadek and Dayu. I consider all of these people my friends now and I can't wait to meet everyone else when we return.

FYI Travel tips: We purchased 10 liters of bottled water from Bintang market in Ubud on the way to the resort from the airport. It is a very good idea to have plenty of clean drinking water available as the water that comes from the faucet in Bali isn't safe to drink or even brush your teeth with so buy ahead of time as the bar fridge only has 2 small bottles inside. There is free purified drinking water available in the restaurant for guests however, it is up to you to have a suitable container, hence why buying your own was preferable for us.

Bring some Imodium and electrolyte tablets just in case your come down with the infamous "Bali Belly".

Ensure you have $150,000 Indonesian Rupiah (or $15 US) in cash for each traveler when departing from Denpasar airport as they do not accept credit cards and you must pay the exit "airport" tax in order to leave. This is after security and if you don't have cash you will have to leave the secure area of the airport and try and find an ATM.

I hope anyone who reads this visits Alam Sari to experience it for themselves.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Jambu" and I would recommend it to anyone. Great view, right near the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Alma Sari. We stayed for 4 nights with oud 2 boys, 6 and 8 years old. The family room is great value and is actually two connecting rooms. Very spacious and clean.
The environment is very tropical. The hotel is run by people from thenlocal village. They are very ester to show you the veggie garden they keep and use for the restaurant. Also they take you to the bijlage and invite hou intro their homes. It certainly gives the additionele flavor to a visit.

Food in the restaurant is very good and the staff exceptionally service minder. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Thank you to travel friends who highly recommended this cooking class organised by Alam Sari. Dewa and Jeru welcomed me into their home in the local village and together we cooked a 5 course vegetarian meal. Dewa is an organic gardener who learnt the skills from his grandfather and the meal was infused with fresh herbs and produce whilst the spiritual history and culture of the Balinese people was explained. It was an amazing concept where travellers are able to meet beautiful local people and learn delicious traditional recipes. A magical, memorable experience. Thank you Dewa and Jeru. Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2013Kay_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews