We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AC was not cool enough and the room is very small”
Review of Duta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Duta Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Palembang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The only good about this place was its location. Other that that, it is not recommended. Why?
1. The staff are not friendly enough they should speak more polite to the guest.
2. Elevator was smelly and it only got one elevator.
3. The room was small (mine was superior)
4. The air conditioner was badly maintained.
5. The room was also smelly.

Stayed: February 2012
2  Thank johan_a_saleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hai there! My name is P.Saravanan from Puchong, MALAYSIA. I made a short trip to Palembang. Everything’s was well planed but not the accommodation. Before a day leaving to Palembang, I visited this website and immediately decided to stay in Duta Hotel, after read true a comment and feedback from “duwitakada”. Thanks you “duwitakada” because with your comment, I managed to go around Palembang without a tour guide.
I stayed for 3 nights in Duta Hotel. I managed to get everything’s that I need because of the location. I did a night shopping at Ramayana and day shopping at Palembang Mall because of walking distance.
Overall the hotel services and cleanliness is excellent but not the breakfast.
Thanks to “duwitakada”

P.Saravanan
Puchong, MALAYSIA

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Psara2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

Hotel Duta, Palembang is perfect place for anyone. So far, over all the place I went In Indonesia, this hotel is the most affordable yet convenient. Beside it, you can find a local restaurant that serves Palembang food called "pempek "..it was rather nice and delicious..the most fun part is, the hotel is situated right opposite Palembang Indah Mall which is one of the shopping complex here..It was fun to shop here..similarly like you shop in Sunway Pyramid or Mid Valley..Oh yes, there's J&Co. Donuts in the mall too..Not much of a tourist attraction, Palembang "landmark " is only the Ampera Bridge and Masjid Agung..the scenery is nice especially at night..the road here is less hectic compared to other places in Indonesia..Not forgetting, the hotel provides free access to internet even if you're in your bathroom!! haha..Also, the staff here were super friendly and their service were like a 5-star hotel..Food provided for breakfast was also yummy...overall it was a pleasant stay in this hotel and i hope to come here again!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MyaChiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

Just got back home today from my trip to Palembang. Went there with friends without any pre-arrangement for hotels. Chosen this hotel after reading the review here (thanks mate!) and later being confirmed by the taxi driver at the airport before we head to this hotel. I couldn't agree more with the review here on the hotel so I won't elaborate. But what I want to say here is the LOCATION!. Palembang isn't much of a tourist destination for site seeing except for the AMPERA bridge which is just 1km away from the hotel. Suggest you to take the 'beca' (trishaw) to experience the thrill of getting hit by oncoming vehicles! On your way there, you will also bump into the Masjid Agung, Museum, the monument etc Forget about going to Bkt Siguntang or other historical places, they look like being deserted. Want to taste Palembang's food? Just next door to the hotel entrance, is the popular Pak Raden's Pempek, If you walk to towards Ampera, you can also stop at few "rumah makan" (restaurant) that sells Palembang's Murtabak. Few foodstalls at the roadside around the bridge offer you the infamous "Pindang Patin"
(fish soup). Cannot eat local food? Then fastfood can be found near the hotel, Texas Chicken, KFC, PizzaHut etc. Shopping? Right across the hotel road is the Palembang Indah Mall (PIM), a new modern shopping complex where everything is under one roof. For tourist who came to shop here, the "rustic" Pasar Ilir 16 bazaar is a must. Again it's about 1 km away from the hotel , close to the bridge. But after been there, I advise you not to. It's an old building and too crowded with people that you will sweat profusely within few minutes and can hardly breath in there. Instead, walk few blocks from the hotel where you find Ramayana supermarket where almost everything is under big discount (>50%). Right outside the supermarket at the ground floor , there's a bazaar that sells all the things that you will find at the old Ilir 16 bazaar, minus the crowd! Bargain hard for Songket, tudung, fabrics etc. Whether for shopping, food or sight seeing, Hotel Duta is actually a gem among the budget hotel. A new budget hotel, so nothing to complaint about. The best for a USD20-30 hotel for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank duwitakada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The Hotel Juta is located in the centre of Palembang, just across the road from the city's most upmarket mall. It was, in every respect, a pleasant surprise. At check-in staff were friendly and efficient, and they continued to be so throughout our stay.

We stayed in the second cheapest category of room, and it was well-equipped with air-con, mini-bar and satellite TV. It was also very clean. It is worth noting, however, that many of the rooms do not have windows.

Our flight left too early for us to try the buffet breakfast, but we did have dinner in the restaurant and it was good and reasonably priced. Unusually for a mid-range Indonesian hotel, there was free wi-fi in public areas and the more expensive rooms. There was also a computer terminal in the lobby. This is almost unheard of in a hotel in the $20 a night range in Indonesia. They are clearly making a real effort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled on business
Thank bowo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayaxdusun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palembang hotels
1.3 mi away
Red Planet Palembang
Red Planet Palembang
#2 of 50 in Palembang
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
MSquare Palembang
MSquare Palembang
#18 of 50 in Palembang
11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Anugerah Palembang
Hotel Anugerah Palembang
#17 of 50 in Palembang
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aryaduta Palembang
Aryaduta Palembang
#6 of 50 in Palembang
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zuri Express Hotel
Zuri Express Hotel
#15 of 50 in Palembang
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
THE 1O1 Palembang Rajawali
THE 1O1 Palembang Rajawali
#9 of 50 in Palembang
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duta Hotel

Address: Jln. Letkol Iskandar No. 535, Palembang 30134, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > South Sumatra > Palembang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Palembang
Price Range: £20 - £21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Duta Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Duta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing