We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Herbert Hoover National Historic Site
Save
Review Highlights
Informative

I'm working through a book about every president and am currently reading a Herbert Hoover... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
The_Wanderer1992
,
Columbia, Maryland
Pleasantly Surprised by this Historic Site

This historic site is delightful and well preserved. It proved to be educational as well. As an... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
robertlB832HQ
,
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Read all 185 reviews
  
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
118
57
9
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
118
57
9
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blacksmith shop visitor center national historic site herbert hoover meeting hall his life presidential library short film early life historic area several buildings humble beginnings room house learned alot grew up grave sites audio tour
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I'm working through a book about every president and am currently reading a Herbert Hoover biography, so I decided to stop here on a trip through Iowa. Herbert Hoover is hardly anyone's favorite president, but I was interested to see the tiny cottage his family lived in, an old Quaker worship place and the graves of Hoover and his spouse. This site is well maintained by the National Park System and it's free (the museum is not free).

Thank The_Wanderer1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

This historic site is delightful and well preserved. It proved to be educational as well. As an Iowan, I can’t believe I have not visited this site prior to this year.

Thank robertlB832HQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

It was a leisurely walk to see where Herbert Hoover lived, attended school and where his family worshiped.

Thank I7848LMjanep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

Herbert Hoover is a president who doesn't receive much attention in the history books. His idea of the perfect America is a very good idea which I can truly relate. His life story is one of which American dreams are built. The historic site is very well put together and does a good job of telling his story.

1  Thank JayneDough_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

While at the Herbert Hoover Library and Museum my wife and I walked through the Herbert Hoover National Historic Site. We were able to walk through the Old Quaker Church that is there, walk up and down old wood plank sidewalks passing 1920's type houses, walk in the Blacksmith shop, and walk through the one room school house. It is well worth the trip and be sure to bring the kids. Lots of room to run as well as a chance for them to experience history.

Thank PT1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Visitor center is small with a video and basic exhibit. The highlight is the historic village with schoolhouse, blacksmith shop, birthplace cottage, and a few other small buildings. Paired it with a visit to The Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum. You can walk to the Presidential Museum and the tomb area from the trail off the visitor center. Easy to use a stroller with kids.

Thank Zephyr_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018 via mobile

After the museum visit the site flushes out the full picture and is helpful in giving a background origin story to the man.

Thank SkypeDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

A very nice little museum and short film on President Hoover’s life. We are checking off all the deceased presidents burial grounds and this one was quite beautifully done. We did not stop in the library, as we were pressed for time. But we did enjoy the museum just down the road a bit. The burial spot is nearer to the library. But only a block away from the museum.

Thank lynnann69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely place for a quaint wedding. Located adjacent to a cute little downtown area. It was a perfect spot for a wedding. Hotels, restaurants, and shops all nearby so there was plenty to do after you finished exploring the historic site.

Thank Kittyme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

A very nicely maintained area and beautiful grounds for a walk in a old fashioned setting..It is also free to the public

Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews