We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving to Iowa City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area
Ranked #1 of 2 West Branch B&B and Inns
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
208 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Keep driving to Iowa City”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Sorry, there's just no other way to describe this hotel except "dumpy". My "non-smoking" room reeked of old cigarette smoke, so much so that everything in my suitcase had to be washed when I got home. The AC/heater/fan was no help, as it was very loud and delivered only stale musty air at any temperature. The bathroom was grotty, the linens were threadbare and dingy, the mattress was shot, the pillows lumpy and the tiny 6-channel TV was a joke. The only thing that saved my rating from being "terrible" was the handy fridge/microwave in the room and free wireless internet. Unfortunately, it is the only motel in West Branch, but next time I will drive the extra 10 miles to stay in a real hotel in Iowa City.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any good rooms, but at least ask for a second floor (if you can do the stairs - no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Farewell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    18
    29
    26
    23
See reviews for
41
23
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

In order for one to fully appreciate my experience at the Presidential Inn, you have to understand that I literally slid off the I-80 Exit 254 into this place as I ended up getting caught in a snow/ice storm at the beginning of the year. I had tried earlier to get off on a previous exit but my SUV does not have 4-wheel drive and I wasn't able to drive through the unplowed snowy exits that came before West Branch. I was extremely thankful and fortunate not to have been one of the many other cars that had either crashed or slid off the road entirely that I encountered on I-80 east bound. It was providential in a sense that I ended up in the town of West Branch, Iowa, as it is the hometown of Herbert Hoover our 31st President, a great man who has unfortunately is blamed by many historians and political scientists for being the cause of the Great Depression. However, a simple trip to the Herbert Hoover Museum will be an educational opportunity for any young indoctrinated student who is unfamiliar with the compassionate and caring man. Now that I have expounded on my appreciation for the greatness of Herbert Hoover, I must say that I really appreciated the greatness of the Presidential Inn as well.

I really enjoyed staying here at the Presidential Inn. The thing that I loved about this place first and foremost is that they accept cash as a method of payment. I know it might seem shocking in the electronic age that there are still people who use paper currency but if you are one of my fellow Luddites and you aren't overly thrilled about credit cards, debit cards, or any other electronic means of payment then the Presidential Inn this is a great change of place that is reminiscent of the good old days. The price was very good and the value of the room was well worth what I paid.

There were many other great things about this hotel, but I really appreciated the fact that I was given a real key and not a generic magnetic key that I have to constantly remember to keep away from my cell phone. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The TV was very small, old and simple but brought feelings of nostalgia as it seems like forever that I have watched TV on an analog tube television. The Mexican restaurant that is connected to the hotel was also very good and extremely convenient. There was also a lounge downstairs that seemed like a place where people attempted to have a good time and socialize if that is something you want to do. I would definitely come back to this place as I felt that regardless of the fact the building was old, the staff keeps it clean. The water in the shower was hot and the old fashioned heat lamp was really neat as it had a wall timer as well. The breakfast was also a nice add on, simple but good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ned L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hotel is located rite of the freeway. The room were large and clean with a fridge and mircowave. They also had nice little cozy sports bar on site and a brand new mexican restaurant. For wht I paid had no complaint. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busniessguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I stayed for one night last year when all of the rooms in Iowa City were booked for an event. I would not stay there again. The motel was as far from "presidential" as you can get. It was very dated and lacked many of the basics that you expect in even a moderate to lower-end motel. It did appear clean, but because the whole place seemed so run down, I just couldn't be sure that it really WAS clean. In the morning, when I went to take my shower, I found no hot water in the room. I requested and received a partial refund for that inconvenience. Also, the desk clerk seemed to be absent (and unable to be summoned) much of the time, even during what should be normal business hours.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MzKarizzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these West Branch hotels

Macomb, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2013

It was very clean and quiet. The rooms were spacious with a fridge, microwave, wi-fi, TV, and a great breakfast with waffles. The staff was very friendly and our room was cleaned and restocked every morning. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

With a last minute change of plans, I picked up one of those cheap-rate motel magazines at an interstate rest stop and found this place. I'm glad I checked it out, given some of the reviews. For $40 (the walk-in rate for a king bed with the coupon), it was very clean and quiet. Big space with a fridge, microwave, wi-fi, TV, and (bad) coffee and toast in the morning.

Room Tip: #26 was big and clean, had all the amenities I needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2012

The woman who I assume was managing the place was nice. She gets 5 stars. However, the place stinks, complete lack of service and the rooms look like they haven't been updated since the early 70s. TV was old and out of focus, bathroom was old and worse yet it wouldn't drain so you were standing in your own filth. Hard and Lukewarm water only added to the horrific experience. I asked her to fix it. She tried. She failed. If you were up early, there was no coffee and nothing to do and no place to do it. I would not stay here ever again for any reason and I would highly recommend you avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Branch
11.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
8.3 mi away
Travelodge Iowa City
Travelodge Iowa City
#5 of 6 in Iowa City
571 reviews
7.9 mi away
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Coralville
13.6 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#15 of 20 in Coralville
68 reviews
11.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Coralville - Iowa City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area

Property: Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area
Address: 711 S Downey St, Interstate 80, Exit 254, West Branch, IA 52358-4704 (Formerly Presidential Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Iowa > West Branch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in West Branch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right off I-80, the Presidential Inn is located just seconds from the Herbert Hoover Presidential Museum and Library in West Branch. The city of West Branch is conveniently located to Iowa City, Coralville, North Liberty, Tipton, Solon, Lone Tree, West Liberty, Muscatine, Mount Vernon, Cedar Rapids, Marion and the Quad Cities. The hotel is just a short ride from the Coral Ridge Mall, University of Iowa, Iowa Children’s Museum, University Hospital and Clinics, VA Hospital, Coralville Lake State Park, Heritage Museums, Kinnick Stadium, University of Iowa Arts Museums and the Eastern Iowa Airport (CID). The hotel is also a great spot to enjoy all your University of Iowa Hawkeye games. If your stay is just for leisure or business, you can turn it into an idyllic vacation with all the local attractions such as the Wallace Winery, Hoover Trail and all the other historical sites that downtown West Branch has to offer. Other great activities include golfing, biking, fishing, hiking, and hunting.You'll want to visit our onsite bar, the P I Lounge, which is becoming a local favorite hot spot. Comfortable executive chairs and four huge flatscreen TVs make it a great place to watch all your favorite games or shows. It also features a 600 square-foot beer garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Days Inn West Branch Iowa City Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing