We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No other choice available”
Review of Prime City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Prime City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kluang
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No other choice available”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

The worst experience so far. Not my luck as I got smelly room. Smell like dried salty fish.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuslizy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    34
    7
    13
See reviews for
18
7
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

i have stayed in better pig stys. i remained in this hotel exactly 55 minutes. the rooms are badly maintained with torn wallpaper and stained carpets and in the case of this room the window was not able to be closed and locked, the suggestion was that someone would come with a screw driver and try to fix it.
the bathroom was more than a little run down with cracked tiles, black mould in the grouting and the clincher being perfectly folded, but still damp towels on the vanity. when unfolded one had a hole in it and was quite ragged along the edges
3 star hotel?? only in there own minds

Room Tip: go to one of the 2 new budget hotels in kluang. either hotel 68 or the one above kluang rail coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kluang hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The chefs were brilliant - they organised a banquet, for our family and friends, of varied Malay style vegan dishes and desserts - that was awesome!.

Service was great, always helpful, whatever the request.
Expectations for requested European and vegan dishes were not just met, but exceeded (a true oasis in Malaysia).
.
The room was very spacious, stylish and comfortable.

The rooms and swimming pool were beginning a refurbishment.

Kluang is a place you would visit to experience how families live their lives in Malaysia. It isn't a normal tourist destination, though it is well worth a visit just to climb Gunung Lambak - a jungle-covered mountain, complete with monkeys,, which has a swimming pool and restaurant at the bottom, to wind down after a hot climb.

There are a growing number of facilities, such as new shopping mall, the fascinating old 1930's Kluang Railway Station Coffee, bowling, clubs.

The (separately-run) in-house club had great sound (maybe too loud) and lively atmosphere. We were the only non-Chinese there, and we were made to feel very welcome, with local people offering us drinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunc031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Don't ever think about staying in this hotel. Upon entering this hotel, you would have thought that its HAUNTED. Dim lighting, no air-cond and everything seemed dark. I booked two city suite - pricing at 330.00++ for one night and i get old mattressess, rustic furnitures with torn cushions, lousy small TV, dirty carpet, smelly toilet. Rooms smells like there are pests residing in it for a very long time, dusty curtains and what's more, the windows glasses seemed like never been cleaned before ! Not even toothbrushes were provided. I thought this is the nicest hotel in Kluang (well, i thought from the outlook) ! but hell, It was a total dissapointment to have paid such a high price and getting such drastic room. I believe a budget hotel's around this area have bedsheets newer and cleaner than this! Please, if you are "considering" about this hotel, i advice you to take budget and cheaper new hotels managed by the locals. The beds, linens and sheets are cleaner! I do not recommend this hotel to those who plans to stay here..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meteorstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Stayed at the 7th floor after attended a wedding on 12/26/2010. I tripped at the ballroom because the steps were not noticeable and it seems and the way it is designed there aren't enough leeway for people when you were engaged in family conversation and drinking at the same time.
I backed up slightly and missed the step. I had a concussion and the staffs were ignoring and couldn't care less.

Public restroom smells of urine and floors were wet and I almost slipped each time I have to frequent it. Bed sheets smelled moldy and damp. The bed lamp were distorted and had shades that had mildew. Yakki, OMG, this is supposedly the best hotel in town and the reputation is unacceptable. Situated next to the bus terminal, hustling and bustling and smoke from the buses exhaust were very contaminating and conducive to accelerate my asthma.

For the price and the conditions of the room and its surrounding I would not recommend this hotel to any folks that are willing to pay a decent price and having to go through such ordeal.

You choose a hotel night stay for comfort and relaxation not having to deal with unappealing issues.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnlacroix1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

The location is good as it is near to the Kluang Parade and Kluang mall. The so-called BCB Plaza which is next to the hotel is a disgrace. Many vacant units and old worn out interior. This 15 year-old plaza looks like 50 year-old abandoned building. Kluang mall is superb, modern and clean. Lots of eateries and shopping there. Good to stay for max 2 nights. Take one day to go nearby Gunung Lembak (taxi ride only 5 mins) to climb the 510m Mt Lembak. Another day to relax at Kluang mall (standard of Jurong Point) and walk around the rustic historical Kluang city. Kluang is worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Royocotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muar, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

My second visit in 6 months. Unfortunately things have not gotten any better. The room still stank of stale cigarette smoke, there were the cracked tiles in the bathroom, the dim lighting and the lumpy pillows. It is a wonder that there are still hotels now which do not have specified non-smoking rooms! The common areas don't look too bad, but the rooms themselves are a disgrace.
As usual, there was a wedding dinner going on, which made the lifts practically inaccessible between 930 -1030pm. There is really nothing to recommend about this hotel, except for its central location. The neighboring areas are as run down as the hotel itself, with the adjacent shopping complex in its last throes of life. Kluang definitely needs a better hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huajern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kluang
1.4 mi away
Merdeka Hotel
Merdeka Hotel
#3 of 9 in Kluang
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Milano Hotel
Milano Hotel
#2 of 9 in Kluang
28 reviews
17.3 mi away
H3 Hotel
H3 Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yong Peng
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
GL Hotel
GL Hotel
#1 of 18 in Kluang
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#5 of 18 in Kluang
30 reviews
1.1 mi away
Starz Hotel
Starz Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kluang
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prime City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prime City Hotel

Property: Prime City Hotel
Address: Prime City Hotel 20 Jalan Bakawali | Johor Darul Tazim, Kluang 86000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kluang District > Kluang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Kluang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 112

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing