We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute paradise!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We went here for our honeymoon and it couldnt have been more perfect. We stayed in the sperior room, number 2, which had its own bit of beach. The roomboy would clean your room twice a day, in the morning and again when you went for dinner.

The food was delicious, even though some meals were a little strange. you are allocated a table on your first night, which you use for the rest of the holiday. which means you have the same waiter for the duration.

The hotel was so clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful!! There isnt anything bad that I could say. We didnt get bored once, and we were there for 2 weeks. There wasnt a TV in the room, but this didnt actually bother us, like we thought it would.

We went on the coral romance excursion, which i would recommend to anyone!!! it is about £300. you go to another island and stay in a water bungalow. you get a candlelit dinner on the beach and a champagne breakfast in bed. and you also get a couples spa treatment. it was total luxury.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank miller-duvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,648 - 2,654 of 4,066 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2008

I stayed at the Cottage with my wife for a week in early December 2007. Whilst the resort is well run it really is a rather boring place. The weather was not great but did not help. The snorkling was in shallow water and there did not seem to be a great deal to see. We went on a snorkling trip which operated very close to the island but again we did not see anything interesting. After a week we had eaten in the five different restaurants all were of a good standard but not cheap. Our room was fine although I managed to fall out with the housekeeper when we were charged for items from the mini bar which we did not eat. I am not sure whether this was an error or something more suspicious.

Our waiter who served us breakfast everyday Sahid (who as excellent) said the weather is changing in the Maldives and now they have rain nearly every month when historically it was perhaps only in 2 months of the year in June and July. I do not think I would risk going before January in any year.

Overall competant as a resort but there are far more interesting places to go in the world.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank quill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

I decided to take a break at the Maldives after some meetings in Mumbai and was absolutely glad I did. The Island is beautiful with nice beaches and good and clean rooms. As the Island has 3 resorts, guests can move freely between Cottage, Village and Blue Lagoon. There is also a nice sandy beach called the "Sand Bank" towards the end of Blue Lagoon.

I stayed at the Beach Bungalow at Kuramathi Cottage and it was really nice and clean with the beach and clear blue sea right in front of the Bungalow. At night, the skies are filled with thousands of stars !

The sea is calmer at the Village side so snorkelling is better there or towards the Water Bungalows at the Cottage. The Thai restaurant is very authentic and standard of the food is what you would get in Thailand or South East Asia. I was glad I did not go for the full board as it meant I could pick and choose which restaurant to go to for lunch and dinner. Staff at the Cottage are really nice and attentive. The spa is also very good and the Ayurvedic treatments are nice.

The only very negative point with the Cottage is the dive center which is being managed by 2 rather rude, sarcastic and unhelpful ladies. Better to go to the dive school / center at the Village where the people are definitely nicer, friendlier and more professional.

In summary, very good holiday and I did not want to leave this paradise !!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank JoeCool_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We stayed at the water bungalows, which was splendid. Island was relatively large so there were many things to do. Island was, nothing short of what was described. White sandy beach, crystal clear beaches. Sunset was amazing.

A little skeptical of how resort is being managed though. When it comes to meal time, once you are set to one table at the restaurant, it's regimental that you have to stick to that table, no changes allowed. We tried on several occasions but we told to move back to the original table. Food was ok but became predictable after a while.

We had an unpleasant issue with the booking changes while on the island. My advise, get everything the Managers say to you, immediately written and acknowledged by the Manager as once you have paid for something which was initially a deposit, may go up in smokes.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SicakSuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

Due to circumstances beyond our control we ended up cancelling and re-booking our Maldives holiday at the last minute. Because of this we didn't have the choice we had when we first booked a year ago and could only get a large island. From the available options we choose Kuramathi Village. This was our third trip to the Maldives and our first to Kuramathi. Whilst we had a lovely holiday we would choose to go to other islands before this one in future. Here is my honest opinion:-

Good points:- The grounds on this island are particularly lovely, the staff are wonderful (special mention for Zahir in the bar and Ahmed our waiter). We found the food to be of a good standard. General areas and rooms are kept spotlessly clean and the A/I option is fantastic especially if you like cocktails which you don't normally get as part of A/I in other Maldivan resorts. Free to hire snorkelling equipment if needed and plenty of dining options. The coral romance excursion was excellent.

Not so good points:- There is only one A/I bar for each resort which meant no quiet nights just having a chat with friends, unless you wanted to pay for drinks. Entertainment every night (except Friday) could get a bit loud - (Kareoke is not really our bag). Beaches seem to be disappearing into the sea, much less sunbathing areas when we left compared to when we arrived. (Stormy weather probably to blame). No sunbeds but loads of plastic white chairs. People smoking in restaurant.

I'm sure the things I wasn't keen on at this resort are the things that most people want from a holiday. As I mentioned previously we had a lovely holiday as will most holidaymakers going here but don't go expecting a quiet Maldivan retreat with deserted beaches. To be fair to the resort they don't advertise it as such either.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank Mary1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2007

We booked with Kuoni and travelled via Sri Lankan airways. Flight was OK - to be honest we expected a bit more from SL air: the plane was old / grubby and they play entertainment "sets" so you have to plan what to watch, whereas we're more used to Virgin where you watch what you want when you want. We took the sea plane to Kuramathi - this was a fab experience though be prepared for a wait if there are other flights landing at Male - we had to wait almost 2 hours to catch the sea plane.
We stayed in the water bungalows at Cottage - in our opinion the best of the resorts. Water bungalows at Blue Lagoon were older, shabbier and were right in the face of the wind on that side of the island. They looked like they had seen a few storms and were semi-detached rather than detached. Our room was lovely - steps to sea etc. but be aware that snorkelling from WBs is only good in the morning when the tide is high - it can be tricky trying to get out / back at low tides in the aftenoon. Snorkelling was fab - get out there and just swim along the reef at the drop-off for the best views. We saw reef sharks (5-6 feet), turtles, clams, pipe fish etc etc and were lucky to have a family of eagle rays swim around our bungalow. Diving was also excellent - the female German instructor is harsh but very good and on the first day of learning we were swimming out to dive down. You do have to do lots of "skills" when learning so if you're expecting just to dive and get on with it you might be surpised that you have to spend time in the water losing your air / mask etc first.
Food was excellent - we stayed B&B which was great for us as we weren't restricted. All the buffet meals were good, particularly the Maldivian / Sri Lankan. The Thai restaurant is stunning, as is the Island Grill and the La Laguna. Prices were approx 7-15 dollars per person for lunch (salad - burger / curry), 25 or 30 dollars per person for the special buffet nights. The La Laguna is probably the most expensive, we spent just over 150 dollars for 2 including starter, main and a decent bottle of wine. A 2 litre bottle of water is 4 dollars. Be aware they add 10% to everything for service charge (including room minibar).
You'll have an amazing time out there!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Snow-Sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2007

We booked 1 week at this resort having never been to the Maldives or any where like it before as a stop on our way back from Hong Kong. The resort has a private boat as do many which takes about 40 minutes from the airport. On arrival its like landing in what you imagine paradise to be. The resort has 3 centres on the island with the Blue Lagoon being at the far end from where the boat arrives. A taxi bus takes you the 2 minute ride to the Blue Lagoon reception where staff give you cold towels and fruit juice. We stayed in a water bungalow - try and get bungalow nearest the reception so you can watch the sting ray feeding from your private balcony. We stayed half board and unless you plan on drinking vast quantities of alcohol the all inclusive offer is not worth it - we saved a few hundred GBP alone.

A mile long sand bar extends from the Blue Lagoon at low tide and is a wonderful walk - we also hired a canoe and paddled out to the higher points of the bar at high tide so you get your own private island for a few hours. You can hire snorkling gear from reception for about £20 for the week (non-all inclusive). The sea life you see snorking from the balcony or anywhere around the island is amazing. We went snokling for hours each day. Sting rays are fed by the pontoon at 6pm each night - the guy that gets into the water with them must be mad!

The food is buffet style with some a la carte options - it was always fresh, clean and very tasty with theme nights (eg Mexican, Indian etc) once or twice a week. The island has plenty of cafe's and restaurants for lunches and alternatives to dinner if required. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

We switched our return trip to a sea plane which is worth every penny if you want to see the Maldives from the air. We used Air Sri Lanka to and from Male via Colombo however I wouldn't recommend it at all - get a direct flight to/from the UK unless you are staying in Sri Lanka.

If we go back to the maldives we'd be very tempted to stay here again rather than try a different resort!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank WonderingTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
612 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aloha Rasdhoo
Aloha Rasdhoo
#2 of 2 in Rasdhoo
5 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
554 reviews
21 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: £348 - £1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing