We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab, fab, fab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Two wonderful weeks in jacuzzi water villa with amazing food and Attentive service. Snorkelling with sharks and the ever present trigger fish will be lasting memories too. watched jumping dolphins from our deck was also a highlight.

Select all inclusive was good value with fabulous choice of restaurants and food to suit everyone with tenderloin at the Reef a must do!

Wine with meals by the bottle which could be taken back to room if unfinished.

Spa treatments were great and plenty of choice

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billandden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,967)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 3,967 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We spent 7 nights on paradise! The scenery was beautiful and the island immaculately maintained. We were worried that staying on one island for a week we would get fed up but the time flew by and we could easily have stayed another month! Lots of water based activities including snorkelling available. We upgraded to the select all inclusive food package - which was great def worth the extra £. A choice of good food venues and ice-cream to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed for 14 nights on select all. For the seaplane you are only allowed 25kg including the weight of any small bag, anything over that is charged at $4 per kg plus $6 dollars tax. On arrival at MALE due to a storm the seaplane transfer was cancelled and we were booked into a different island which was very close to MALE. We went by speed boat for what was a seriously horrendous and frightened journey due to the severe storm. We stayed one night then had to travel back to MALE to catch our plane the next day. When we arrived in Kuramathi we stayed in a beach villa, a pleasant accommodation but not outstanding! However we were really glad we did not book the garden villas as we thought they looked horrible, they are terraced with a corrigated roof, totally different from all the other property available on the island. When we were here most of the island appeared to be on basic all inclusive as the buffet restaurant was really full of an evening dispite this, on booking the a la carte restaurants we sometimes did not get the restaurant of our choice which was disappointing. However the restaurants here were lovely. Our favourite was the island Barbeque followed by the Indian then the Thai then the Palm. Our least favourite was the Reef, where we had to send our main course back. The fish was dreadful, we asked for an explaination from the chef and he said that he must of microwave the fish too long, which he said he had to do as the fish was frozen. We were shocked by his honesty. The fish here is meant to be fresh.... like is states on the menu, but like someone else who did a review recenty realised the fish here is not always fresh. And at $40 it should be, we complained to the management and they said they would talk to the chef. We NEVER eat here again which is a shame as the food in the other restaurants were outstanding. On 'select all' if you want to take a bottle of wine back to you room all you have to do is ...in fact we found that on finishing one bottle we were immediately offered another and when we said we did not want another as we would not be able to finish another bottle the waiter said thats okay... order another bottle and take it to your room. If you are basic all inclusive though they do NOT like you taking wine form the buffet restaurant as there are notices everywhere stating no food or drink to be taken away from the buffet restaurants. When we were here also the ladies seemed dress extremely well in the evening. High heels and wedges were being worn by most ladies in the a la carte restaurants so if you are someone who like to dress up for dinner then pack your nice dresses and shoes as you will not feel out of place. On reading the travel forum for this island people gave advise that to pack your case then take half out again as no one really dresses up here, I found this to be untrue and really missed the fact that on this advice I never packed a dressy pair of shoes. Thank goodness i pack some nice dresses though as i got to wear them all. The snorkelling here is fantastic and you will be joined by a shark or two every time you go into the water. I found the sharks a little scary but after two weeks felt fine to be in the water with them. Mozzies here are a real problem and dispite using lots of spray I still get eaten alive. My last comment would be about the staff. We went to sri lanka last year and hated it and found the staff at the hotel very unfriendly and were worried that we would experience the same in the Maldives, well the staff here were outstanding.....nothing was to much trouble.... we tipped constantly due to outstanding service and on the last night we made sure we found in particular 4 staff who were amazing with their treatment of us and it was such a pleasure to thank them and leave a final tip to show our appreciation. We really enjoyed our time here and if it was not for the bad meal in the reef we would have gave the Kurmathi a 5.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stuanddawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

What an amazing place it truly is paradise, a five star hotel on a tropical island with top quality food and views to die for. I cant believe you cant go here and not have a good time everything is perfect. Go on the seaplane its great. You will have a great time and the locals are really friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It was actually back in 2009 when I stayed at this beautiful island. The island was going through some renovations so we got a last minute deal however we did not even see or hear work going on at all. It was hidden away from all sight! Stunning views. Incredible staff. Every time I blinked the room had been cleaned and rose petals on the floor but we never saw or hear anyone! If you step out at 8am the beach and walkways had already been combed and the island and facilities were spotless. The food and buffet variety were second to none. There were also other restaurants and a beach BBQ you could pay for which were also amazing. I recommend the trips, sunset cruise and honeymoon overnight trip! 5* luxury all the way and there is not one single thing I would or could fault with this place. It is incredible.

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach bungalow with an outdoor shower. It was very spacious and clean but not luxurio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSav123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We visited Kuramathi for 10 nights for our honeymoon and it was paradise on earth!
Form the minute we arrived to the minute we left the island we felt like royalty.
On arrival we were upgraded from a beach villa to a superior beach villa with jacuzzi (Room 129). We were 10 steps from our decking into to the ocean which was amazing! Stepping in to the Indian Ocean for the first time and feeling its 29 degree temperature is something I wont forget for some time.
Not sure that I would pay the extra to have the jacuzzi as we didn't get much chance to use it but it was lovely to have as an upgrade! The room boys do an amazing job keeping your room clean and tidy. We asked for an extra spray one evening of our room due to bugs which they then continued to do for a few evenings afterwards too.
We went on the select all inclusive which we were very pleased about. We were allocated the Harugue for breakfast etc which was fine but were very impressed with the a la carte restaurants in the evening. The additional option to visit the Island Coffee Shop or the Palm during the day was also good, we used them a few times mid afternoon for snacks or ice cream (amazing ice cream from the Palm!)
Our favorite restaurant had to be the Island Barbecue, perfect setting, brilliant service and amazing food! I thought the steak Diane was good but the Australian Beef Tenderloin with Wild Mushroom Sauce was the best thing I have ever eaten!!!
We found booking two days in advance to get our table bookings was an excellent way to plan our meals. The way they have it organised means that the restaurants aren't packed out, keeps the service times very good and the attention that you get from the waiters is second to none.
The island itself is kept very clean and tidy by all of the gardeners who seem to work around the clock, they do an exceptional job.
We'd never snorkeled before but loved the experience, everyone should give it a go! The gear is given to you for your trip from the marine shop. We didn't go on the training course but just followed the advice from the reps and staff in the Eco Centre. Saw so many different fish and of course the reef sharks.
The trip over to Rashdoo is worth going to see a bit of local life. We took a walk around the island and look about their gift shops. The shop keepers love to talk so be prepared to chat!
The sunset cruise was the perfect way to spend our final evening on the island, amazing views! We didn't see dolphins on the cruise but saw them twice just off the shore of Kuramathi Island whilst laid on the beach next to the infinity pool!
The only extra's that we booked were the big game fishing trip for my husband which he absolutely loved and I had a massage at the spa......worth every penny!
If I was to go back I'd definitely take more insect repellent with me! I have never been bitten before but after one afternoon by the main swimming pool, I came away with 42 bites! The area has a lot of plants etc and from talking to the rep afterwards, that pool area and the Nature Trail are the worst places to get bitten. After this, we stuck to the infinity pool!
The sand bank is a must for sun set, its simply magical up there.
We saw the stingray feeding twice, again a must to see while you are on the island.
We also enjoyed cinema on the beach. Sitting on the bean bags, cocktail in had watching a movie under the stars was just perfect.....try to do it even if you don't want to see the film, the experience is something you will find hard to get anywhere else as special.
The evening entertainment was good, you have as much or as little as you like with this. The band which tour the different bars on the island are ok but do play pretty much the same set each night so can get a bit repetitive. Our favourite bar was the Dhoni Bar. Cocktails are amazing on the island and very strong, nothing like cocktails home in the UK!
Not sure I would take children here as the idea of the island for me is pure relaxation. We did see a few families there and they were catered for but just don't think it would be somewhere I would take children.
We look at our photos now and there never seems to be anyone around and that's how it felt walking around the island. Other than the evenings, its very quiet and peaceful on the island. We were told however that the island was 95% full when we were there, it certainly didn't feel like that.
All in all this was the perfect place for us for our honeymoon and would be just as amazing for any future holiday.

Room Tip: Seems that a lot of people get upgrades so book the room below the one you want....chances are you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Onreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We decided to spend 11 nights on this beautiful island for our honeymoon. We were not disappointed it is absolutely beautiful. We were booked into a beach villa which was very spacious and clean. Definitely need to be on an all inclusive package, were were booked with Kuoni and paid extra for the Select All Inclusive package which allows you to each in all the restaurants on the island. Our main restaurant was the Haruge which has excellent food and an amazing selection to choose from. The various waiters were very friendly and would spent time talking to us and making us feel special. They would put flowers on our table and they always did fancy napkins for us. Housekeeping was excellent and even the staff who kept the outside areas clean and tidy were very good. We were lucky we only saw lizards and the odd ant. Would highly recommend this place for a honeymoon, we did the speed boat transfer to the island and the sea plane on the return journey, we only had two days of rain during our stay but it didn't spoil anything.

Room Tip: The Beach Villas were very spacious and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 17Merlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
563 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
480 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
882 reviews
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: £470 - £1,301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing