We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort for Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent resort for Honeymoon!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My wife and I recently spent part of our honeymoon on Kuramathi. We stayed at beginning of June 2013 for 10 nights. The island was magical and the food and service was first class. We had the premium all inclusive feature as part of our package....we would highly recommend it. This meant that we could eat at everyone of the different restaurants throughout our stay. Our favs were probably the island bbq and the reef.

Our accommodation was fantastic. We stayed in a beach villa with a jacuzzi. The outside bathroom was just brilliant and added to our overall experience. It made a great base for our honeymoon and we still talk about how well planned the out the villa was.

The cocktails and ice creams are amazing as well. We loved nothing more than sipping an ice cool blue lagoon at the Doni bar whilst starring lazily out to sea or watching the small reef sharks.

The weather was changeable... about 3 or 4 days of sun, 3 days of cloud and 3 days of rain/cloud/sun. When it rained it poured! However, there is plenty to do even when it is raining....snorkeling, gym, swimming, spa, eating, drinking etc...we never got bored.

We got the sea plane to and from the island...The arrival was completely amazing...we flew in with beautiful clear skies and flat calm waters. It was like flying into a movie!

The departure was somewhat different in its nature....we flew out..eventually...at the tail end of a tropical storm...but that is a different story (the Kuoni rep did not do herself any favours with her lack of customer-care skills).

We would thoroughly recommend Kuramathi to anyone, especially couples wanting to spend a special occasion, such as a honeymoon, there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hansolo_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,034
    564
    129
    49
    36
See reviews for
448
2,844
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (832)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We went to Kuramathi on 6-10Aug13. There is no doubt that the island is beautiful, well maintained and the beaches are amazing, like what everyone says. Food is also generally of good standards.

However, I feel that their service standards can be improved on. The staffs can put in more efforts to make the guests feel more welcomed, instead of looking grumpy and bored all the time. However, there are also moments where we received really good service such as on our last night at Duniye restaurant. The 2 waitresses are exceptional and cheerful and makes effort to ensure we had a great dinner experience.

My next issue is with the van/buggy that are provided to help you travel around the island. It is difficult to get on one and wait time is long. It seems that they only have a van with a grumpy driver and a buggy available. Most times, you don't see any van or buggy when you need one which can be quite frustrating. Finally, the island could do with more signages and lightings. The roads are dark at night and it is difficult to find our way during first few days when we are still unfamiliar with island.

Overall, it was still a great and relaxing trip. Would I be back next time? I would definitely visit maldives again but would most likely try another resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callieggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We visited Kuramathi from 21st July - 4th August 2013. It is, as already said, an amazing island. We stayed in a water villa with jacuzzi and this was fantastic. Each morning the sharks and an array of fish swam in front of the villas so its well worth a walk to see these between 9:30 and 10:00am. We stayed in villa 232. The snorkelling really showed the vast types of fish. The water was at times a little rough but we hired a life jacket - this was included with the all inclusive package although we didn't know this until we enquired. Also included but not made clear was a trip to the neighbouring island of Rhasdoo. If souvenier shopping then this is worth a visit as prices for souveniers are a lot cheaper than in the few Kuramathi shops and the airport shops. We did experience some rain whilst there but all villas are supplied with an umberella. I would advise to take a foldaway raincoat because when it rains, it pours - sometimes it doesnt last too long. The island promotes a no cash policy so any extras are charged to your room and can be paid for at any time in american dollars. This is the currency used on all of the islands and at the airports. I would recommend taking some small $ bills as a tip to the drinks waiter at the end of the night goes a long way to ensuring you never wait for a drink. We were basic AI and the food was very good. The staff at this island work extremely hard and were always friendly. I would definately recommend this beautiful island, it really is paradise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just spent 12 nights in Kuramathi for our honeymoon and it's simply amazing! You are treated like royalty and the staff cannot do enough for you. I like my food and like to eat in good restaurants, but the food was outstanding. I might be repeating other people, but that's only because they are right!, go select all inclusive!! You can choose any restaurant, you just need to book at any reception and reserve and 7,8 or 9pm slot. You can only book 3 days in advance but this prevents the same restaurant being unavailable. We ate all over the island, my personal favourite was the steak at the Reef!

Room Tip: You can and should experience the overwater villa, we did just for one night. This is not the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We went to Kuramathi on 4th May and stayed for 8 nights. After reading all of the amazing reviews we were really expecting something spectacular but we were slightly disappointed particularly with the food. I think people’s expectations and standards differ quite a lot so I would take some of the reviews with a pinch of salt.

We booked a Beach villa mainly due to location as we wanted to be at the top of the island and right on the beach ,however upon arrival were told that we had a free upgrade to the Superior beach villa which was situated at the bottom of the island (the one place we really didn’t want to be). We had a look at the room and it was nice enough however the location was very poor, nowhere near the beach and completely covered in vegetation so you couldn’t even see the sea. We requested the room that we actually booked and luckily there was one beach villa available although in my opinion it was the worst one. The room was very dark and the bathroom was dated and in need of renovation. On the first night it poured with rain which wasn’t a problem as it was rainy season after all except that it was raining in our room. There were 3 leaks in the roof and water was pouring into our room. This was obviously an ongoing problem as there were clearly stains on the ceiling from previous downpours. The problem was temporally rectified by them putting some plastic sheeting on the roof! Overall we found the room disappointing although we preferred the location to the upgraded room.

We went select all inclusive which in my opinion is the only way to go. We did find it a bit of pain having to be at reception at 8am every day in order to book the restaurant of your choice. The Duniye restaurant was a massive disappointment, the food was described as Michelin star which I didn’t really expect but I found the food did not live up to expectations and was very bland. The island barbecue was probably the best choice, the steak Diane was amazing (like everybody says) but I expected more barbecued food on the menu, after all it is called the Island Barbecue! I found the Reef restaurant very average, I ordered crab one night which was mushy and tasteless and the choice of fresh fish was very limited. I also thought the side dishes of brushetta and boiled potatoes very odd for the Maldives and would have preferred some nice salads and rice dishes to accompany our fish.

All of the restaurants were far too quiet so you were very conscious of other people’s conversation, and felt like you had to whisper. I think a bit of low background music would have created more of an atmosphere.

I hated that we had to sit at the same table for breakfast every day (if you were on the basic all inclusive you would have to eat your breakfast, lunch and dinner at the same table which would have been very tedious) There were some lovely tables at the edge with a great view of the sea and no one was sitting on them, but we were given a table right in the middle of the restaurant. The breakfast wasn’t that great either. The fruit platter was very poor and I have no idea who decided to put cinnamon on the fresh pineapple as they completely destroyed it.

We had lunch most days in the Palm or Island coffee shop and were very happy.

Overall the Island is beautiful and most parts are well maintained. The sandbank is spectacular! The beach on the lagoon side was much nicer than the reef side which was too shallow for swimming. We found a nice spot right next to the Palm restaurant which in my opinion was the best beach overall.

All of the bars were fantastic and the service was very great. I did find most the cocktails far too sweet and was very disappointed that not one of them could make a good margherita.

I would definitely go back to the Maldives but I would choose a more exclusive resort next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaxKelly197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We have just spent 12 nights in Kuramathi for our honeymoon and loved each and everything about it. The island is beautiful and immaculately maintained. The rooms are large and luxurious. The beaches are stunning and it isn't hard to find your own piece of secluded paradise. As for the food, it was just amazing! The choice, the quality, the service, the settings...! We've had some of the best food we've ever had and we're already quite big foodies!! I would go back there again and again and again if I could!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Recently returned from Kuramathi so rather than repeat the same old review here are our top tips;
Go Select All Inclusive.
Able to book any restaurant as we went for a 9pm every night.
No mosquito problem as we wore Avon SSS. Used one bottle between us for 10 days.
Manicure at the spa excellent.
Water villas with Jacuzzi amazing, don't go for the other water villas; these are older and less private with very small deck areas.
Don't book a 9pm BBQ restaurant sitting on the same 2 nights as the beach movie night...noise interrupts the ambience,
Reef restaurant is over-rated, catch of the day is pushed on you and is bland.
Best restaurants, Duniye, BBQ & Palm.
Wear short-sleeved shirts and possibly linen trousers to dinner (men).
Whilst we were there, a breeze came from the South (Water Jac villa) and rarely on the other side.
If you are serious sun-worshippers avoid this time of the year, 2.5 days rainy/dull and most days overcast at 3pm. bit of a downer if you only there a few days,
Go on sunset cruise and stand at the front on the way back...lovely.
Steak Dianne at BBQ nice but a novelty only as many other dishes are better.
Go to Ray-feeding at 6pm to get a seat .
Tip 1 dollar for drink times, 2 dollar at lunch and 4-5 at dinner.

Otherwise enjoy.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank OnTheList66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 16 in North Ari Atoll
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 1 in Rasdhoo
16 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,385 reviews
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing