We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large island but didn't feel that way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We are a couple in our fifties and we went to Kuramathi island in January. Good time to go with dry hot weather. Didn't notice the mosquitoes. Kuramathi is a large island with a beautiful sand spit on one end and lovely beaches. We don't snorkel, so can't comment. Although in the shallows of the lagoons, easy to see some fish, including baby sharks. About the beaches, very easy to swim all along the garden bungalow side - fantastic clear beauitful water with a great depth.

We stayed in the garden bungalow. Clean and decent rooms with everything you could want, aircon, tv and dvd player a lounge a large comfortable bed, tea and coffee facilities, stocked mini bar included in the AI plan, which we had and a very good bathroom with two showers, one under cover and one in the open air with a tall wall all around and half roof, like most in the Maldives. Beautiful fluffy towels. Bathroom products.

There was a beautiful exquisitely clear lagoon outside our room and the sand outside the garden bungalows is beautiful, soft and white - Heaven. But, and a very big but, is that there is a very visible local island from this part of the island. It's sort of odd actually, that the best sand and the best lagoon are here, in my opinion, but not the best outlook towards the ocean.- but what an ocean. Having said that, though, I would not have chosen anywhere else to stay because the sand and the lagoon here made up for the outlook. I actually loved this part of the island the best also because of the ambience around the pool and the bar, if you go there, you'll know what I mean. Very soft sand to walk on all around this part of the island and we walked around it quite a few times, some of the more expensive rooms don't have soft sand around their bungalows at all. It was compacted.

The sand spit is indeed fantastic, as has been said by many a reviewer and it is indeed true. Eerily quiet but beautifully mesmerising. My husband walked to the extreme tip, it was amazing. I only went half way and watched him get quite small in the distance. Wow! It's corally sand here, so take your shoes. I dipped into the water, I coudn't resist, it was so fantastic. Although, most people just went for a walk or came at sunset, also amazing. Don't miss it if you come.

When we were there it seemed quiet and you only saw a few people around the beaches, there was plenty of room for all. Lots of people at dinner time though, so because it's a large island, there's plenty of room to spread out. The buffet food was much better at lunch than at dinner, oddly enough. Breakfast very good. Cocktails are also very good. Been to Reethi, though, where I thought their buffet food was better. But just in comparison, if you're interested, in my opinion, Kuramathi is a better island apart from the food.

Would I go back to Kuramathi, definitely, a resounding yes.

Room Tip: Garden rooms have beautiful sand and a beautiful lagoon directly outside - heaven. But don't fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shangrila g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,316 - 1,322 of 3,996 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our first time to Maldives, but definately won't be the last. We are very pleased with our choice of Kuramathi Island resort. We stayed at Superior Beach villa with jacuzzi and chose the Select All inclusive plan. I would recommend the Select AI to everybody. We managed to go to all a-la-carte restaurants. The Island BBQ is our favourite and the steaks are ones to remember.

The bars and restaurants are conveniently situated throughout the island and the free shuttle service is great, when you feel no more walking at night.

We have enjoyed the massage at a villa in the water. The spa center is really nice.

It is worth mentioning the Sunset boat trip, where the boat was accompanied by group of dolphins playing around.
Do not miss also the sting-ray feeding at the lagoon bar every evening at 18.30 - apart from the many sting-rays coming to the shore, you will see a bunch of sharks, coming with them.

My favourite place at Kuramathi was the tail of the island - this is the most beautiful and peaceful place, I have enjoyed in my life. Quite, deserted and surrounded by the ocean on 3 sides, you had the feeling of being on top of the world.

On the last day, we had to check-out at 12.00 p.m., but we were allowed to have lunch at any of the buffet restaurant. Yet we chose to go to the Palm, near the beach. The staff was friendly and helpful as alaways. They proposed to close our check before 12p.m. but serve our table until 14.30, when we went to the beach again. Then we were offered the free services of the spa center to use the shower facilities, before our water taxi collects us at 17.30 - the latest flight for the day.

As we had few more hours at Male before our return flight, we took the option to be guided at Male for free, by a local tour guide.

Spending just a week at Kuramathi was great, but not enought, so we are looking forward to returning back to Maldives soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MiraNedeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Just returned from our seventh visit to Kuramathi . It was fourteen years ago when we first visited this paradise and it just gets better. Seen some changes over the years and they are all good. Went select all inclusive, if you can afford it , do it, as the food is awesome ! The staff are fantastic, and really look after you. It's just a beautiful island , please go and see for yourself, you won't be disappointed . All being well, we will be returning for the eighth time .There are lots of repeat guests on this island, so that says it all !!

Room Tip: Don't need to pay a lot for a room ,as even the basic rooms are a good standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I have to say that we didn,t write a report about our trip,guest just lazy but after reading all the TERRIBLE reports this place is getting i just wanted to say a few things.
\
1, we had a water villa WOW what a place to spend a week in very clean,big and a joy to open the curtains every morning and c that view.

2, I,m sick and tried of people complaining about taking a drink back to there rooms i can say we didn,t have an issue we that ay all, just ask the staff if it,s ok .

3, We ate at most restaurants and found all the staff extremely friendly and curitious at all times, food was very good and of a good high standard.

4, People should go on vacation to get away from issues in there lives not put it in there suitcases and take it out when they get there.

Many thanks Andrew /Susanne Thompson

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank andrew628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We have been to the Maldives 5 times and this is the best island we have stayed at, its a beautiful island with lovely layed out with its trees and plants, it takes about 30 minutes to walk the length of the island. The staff are fantastic and the service is like being on a cruise ship and Vicky the Kuoni is wonderful and cannot do enough for you and you can contact her any time. You must upgrade to select AI is fantastic the food is amazing and all the restuarants are excellent, you have to book at 10am at reception and you can book two days in advance, we had no trouble booking at any restuarant. My wife is an experienced diver and she had some really good dives, she rated some dives 10/10 which is rare for my wife. My only slight disappointment was the beach villas are in a shaded area and are dark inside and not as close to the beach as other islands we have stayed but that is just a minor point. This island is 5 star and we will defenately be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We were here in November for the second time. I always worry about returning somewhere when it has been so good, but no need to worry was just as good if not better the second time around and we will be returning this year.

Travelled by sea plane which is a must as amazing views.

Rooms
We stayed in a beach villa and these are amazing, large rooms, large bathroom and outside shower, which is an experience. I wouldn't upgrade my room as we don't spend any time in our room apart from sleeping and getting ready.

Eating and drinking

The cocktails are amazing and if there is nothing on the menu you fancy they will make you a speciality one. The bar staff are all amazing and remember what drinks you have had. They even knew our room number half way through our stay.

The food is the best I have ever had on an all inclusive, we do do the select all inclusive which I would totally recommend.

The island coffee shop and palm are the best for lunch with amazing dishes, too many to actually list as they are all good.

The Island BBQ for steak is amazing, you must go for the flambé steak Diane cooked to perfection every time. I am not specifically a pudding person but the Creme brûlée is as good as any you get in a top class restaurant.

The Reef is also very good especially for fish.

The Duniye we were not keen on, we tried twice and all a little bit too strange for me.

Some people seem to complain about booking the restaurants, we never found this a problem we always went for a 9pm booking and got into the restaurant we wanted every time.

The fish are amazing when you are standing in the sea they come and swim around you, even the sharks come close but they are harmless reef sharks.

Basically one of the best holidays we have been on and will be returning again.

Paradise

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lyndasam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The most beautiful, idyllic tranquil place we have ever seen. Just amazing, after 18 hours travelling and totally shattered the minute you see the island you can't do anything but smile. Everything we expected and more. We stayed for a week in a water villa with jacuzzi with the a la carte all inc package and would have changed nothing. The staff are fantastic, friendly, attentive and very professional they make no mistakes, villa was cleaned twice daily, my wife loved the towel art left on the bed ! Food delicious especially the Duniye if you like fine dining then you must go here and try the wagyu beef - lovely. The island is spotlessly clean and there is no need for shoes, strange at first but you get used to it. The sunset cruise was fab, plenty of dolphins in their natural habitat. Snorkling is a must, we are new to it but so glad we did it. You can take wine back to your villa providing you have acquired it in the restaurant and opened it there then it's not a problem. The shuttle bus/buggy ferries you around and is very frequent. If you plan to use the spa I can highly recommend the couples rebirth, just when you think you can't relax anymore there's the spa! We transferred by seaplane - their time keeping is appalling, we waited 90 minutes, some waited 3 hours for their transfer! One word of warning the island becomes very very dark and you can easily pass where you are meant to be going! There is a torch supplied and you should take it out with you at least for the first couple of nights. On the whole Kuramathi is just a world away from real life my wife actually cried when we had to leave the whole experience was something that dreams are made of, we would love to go back. My only moan is I have nothing to moan about!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
17 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
540 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,611 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: £457 - £1,214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing