We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kuramathi in May ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Chippenham uk
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kuramathi in May ”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We booked a 10 day stay here at the start of May 2014
After a long flight we were welcomed to the seaplane lounge which was a lovely relaxing experience, food , drinks and wifi were provided.
We would recommend paying for seaplane transfers as this speeds up the whole process and also means you don't have to leave the island so early in the morning on your way home.
The resort itself was absolutely amazing, staff couldn't be more helpful. We stayed in a water villa with jacuzzi and had reef sharks swimming underneath.
We chose the select all inclusive dining and as long as you are flexible with times booking each meal is not a problem, the restaurants were absolutely fantastic and food amazing.
We didn't have breakfast in our allocated buffet restaurant but instead went for the Maldivian curry in the island coffee shop - fantastic experience.
All in all an amazing resort that we could not fault - we will be back

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Raimonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,926
    553
    126
    49
    33
See reviews for
437
2,743
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (805)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Runcorn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We travelled here at the end of May 2014, and spent 10 magical days in what can only be described as paradise.
We stupidly scanned daily the weather reports prior to leaving, which did take some of the excitement away.
Big mistake!! Don't do it, they're not reliable in the slightest. Yes, we had one episode of torrential rain during the day, but rest assured it only lasted max 15-20 mins, it then returned to the beautiful blue sky and basking heat. It rained during the night on a few occasions, not that that affected us in the slightest.
We stayed in room 260, one of the water villas with jacuzzi, it was pretty much in the middle of the island, and it took us probably 2-3mins to walk to the Lagoon side, which was where our designated restaurant was. We had already upgraded to the Select All Inclusive, highly recommend you do this. We favoured the Indian and the Siam, along with the Island Coffee Shop. The food is faultless, the staff were always polite, very attentive and knowledgable about the dishes they were serving.
Room was cleaned twice a day, clean towels provided even when we didn't put them to clean. We made use of the buggy service daily, occasionally you needed to wait a few minutes, but given we didn't need to get to work, or have any appointments, this truly wasn't an issue, it gave you more opportunity to take in the beautiful surroundings along with the wildlife.
I have never seen such huge bats, and they certainly weren't shy, flying around during the day, my husband and I spent lots of time watching the crabs busy digging their homes, shifting the sand, claw full by claw full, yes, we're probably sad, but this is how relaxed and tranquil we found this island.
We thoroughly enjoyed the Sunset cruise, what an absolute delight seeing so many dolphins in there natural environment. The snorkelling was amazing, seeing Turtles on both the house reef and when we went on the snorkelling safari.
I needed to visit the medical centre due to the number of mosquito bites I had, again fantastic service. They had sprayed the island, but it then rained, so it was unavoidable. We used repellents which proved to be useless. The medical centre gave me antihistamine tablets, which only cost $10 for 10 days, within 10 mins I was itch free, and could get on and enjoy my holiday.
This was our first experience of a holiday of this calibre, it definitely won't be the last. I could go on and on, but it's just repeating other reviews.
If your thinking about going, don't hesitate, book now!! We booked through Nicola at Holidaysplease. Fantastic service, knowledge and advice.

Room Tip: Go for the best room you can afford, snorkelling is better on the side where the water villas with j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pauline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whalley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We went here in March 2014. The weather was perfect, the hotel amazing, the choice and quality of food, brilliant and the staff, extremely accommodating and friendly. We choose Kuramathi because of the variety of restaurants and bars and we were so glad we had. This was as quiet as we like it and we couldn't imagine an island with one or two bars / restaurants to be appealing to us. We we glad we had made the choice to go here as it was quiet when you needed it to be but you could still have a few drinks and a dance if you wanted a (slightly) later night.

The house reef is great and full of marine life. The island is about 2k long so it is a nice walk and they operate buggies for those too lazy to walk!

Top top: go platinum all inclusive. It pays off in the end and saves a lot of hassle.

We stayed in a water villa and loved it but would equally have loved the standard beach front villas. Surprisingly the Honeymoon villas weren't on the sea so we choose not to stay in one of these.

Would we return.......? Yes, in a heartbeat!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt_Timmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights on this beautiful island for our honeymoon.

The island itself is just beautiful, white sandy beaches and warm turquoise seas. It is very well kept and clean.

We stayed in a beach villa at the bottom end of the island. The accommodation was lovely, spacious and clean with a large, comfortable 4 poster bed, bathroom and outdoor shower which was different and quite enjoyable!
It also had a large outdoor terrace area with a bench and 2 sun loungers.
It was a very short walk to the beautiful beach which had a large open area and then many small, more secluded areas with plenty of sun loungers available.

The snorkelling equipment was good quality and free to use for the duration of your stay, we collected ours the day we got there and just returned it at the end of our stay. We stuck mostly to the beginner areas for snorkelling and saw some amazing sealife, sharks included! We did find it hit and miss with the conditions though, one day the sea was just too strong to swim easily and another time the water was too shallow over the coral to reach the reef.

Other water sports are available which we did not take at vantage of, having spent 6 days touring Sri Lanka we were more interested in relaxing but there is plenty to do if you need it.
We did do the sunset cruise which was an enjoyable hour out at sea with a couple of glasses of sparkling wine but unfortunately didn't see any dolphins.

The staff were friendly enough but I wouldn't say they went above and beyond or treated you all that special which was a stark contrast from the service we received in Sri Lanka. Mildly disappointing but didn't really affect our stay

The food, oh the food! If I could give you one piece of advice it would be to upgrade your package to the select all inclusive - this allows you to eat at all of the restaurants, any time. We did this a couple of weeks before we flew out as a last minute decision but it was the best one we made! If you are on the basic package you will get 20% off but our bills were totting at least $150 per meal.
We were assigned a buffet restaurant at the beginning of our stay, where you get assigned the same table and waiter for the duration. I think they're going for a more personal feel to your stay but considering my point about the staff, we didn't really feel this. We only ate in there for breakfast and this was only for a few days during the week because, while there was nothing particularly wrong with the food, the same choices day in day out can become a little tedious. They do have different themes for dinner each night though.

We didn't try all of the restaurants but The Palm was by far our favourite. They had an extensive menu and all of the dishes we tried were delicious. We also ate here for lunch on a few occasions. And they have an excellent ice cream parlour!
We also tried The Island Barbecue (the steak Diane is a must, for experience alone), The Reef where we ate catch of the day and Tandoor Mahal, the Indian restaurant, where we received the best service during our stay but you must ask for your curry to be cooked with the heat you enjoy, I think they play it safe with the tourists and ours was considerably lacking spice although tasted lovely. We didn't have a bad meal the whole time we were there.
The island cafe is also great for lunch, they do an excellent Maldivian fish burger and the best coconut shrimp I've ever had.
You can only take cans of beer and sealable bottles of wine back to the room with you so you need to stock up if you like a good drink in your room. The cocktails in the bars are amazing.

Other things we did which I would highly recommend would be the couples massage - while this was on the expensive side at $280, it was a wonderful experience. The spa is beautiful, the massage room we had was on the end of a jetty in the middle of the sea, totally open with the waves lapping underneath you and the massage was excellent. They even take you back inside to a beautiful bath with fresh fruit and sparkling wine afterwards. Just warn your husband or boyfriend about the disposable pants, they are tiny and see through which was quite hilarious.
And movie night under the stars was lovely, they put a screen up on the beach and surround it with bean bags which was a lovely experience. Unfortunately ours got rained off half way through the film but that's our fault for visiting in rainy season!
The sting ray feeding at the top of the island is well worth a watch, you can do this on returning from watching the sun set on the sand bank which is definitely a must - so beautiful.

On that point, the weather - I was starting to worry a little after speaking to a few people about the fact it was rainy season but that really was wasted energy. Day one and 2 were bright blue skies and hot sunshine, day 3 was overcast with a few rain showers lasting about an hour in the afternoon and we also had the most almighty thunderstorm during the night, I'm fairly sure the rain continued until the early am but then days 4, 5 and 6 were beautiful and sunny again. I think we experienced rain one morning but by the time we got up it had stopped, and just a couple of other showers lasting no more than 10 minutes. And even when it did rain, it was still so warm you just didn't care.

You will get eaten alive by Mosquitos. Don't believe the rep when she tells you you only need to wear repellent in the evenings as they spray the island daily, the day I did this I was absolutely covered! But even with repellent, I still got bitten so just stock up on after bite as whatever you can get from the island doctor costs $18.

We chose to tip at the end of our stay but you do need to give the bag porter $2 per bag on the first day. We gave $20 in The Palm as we had eaten there most frequently and left $10 for our room boy. I would have given more to other staff if we had had it but unfortunately didn't have enough cash. Any extras you spend will be charged to your room which we settled with a credit card at the end of our stay. Just be wary, they put a service charge on everything, even the gift shop.

If you have booked this resort you have made an excellent decision and should be in for a holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: The beach villas with jacuzzi looked amazing, really good location and we kinda wished we had booked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Smh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
March, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Me and my wife holidayed here and had an amazing, quite, slow, peaceful, stunning holiday, the hotel was a bit basic but nice, but the sea views made for it, the food was ok a bit basic but ok, we will be back one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marchcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Fantastic island & I've actually been here twice. Once for my brothers wedding in 09 and for my own honeymoon in 2013. The locals on the island are fantastic & it's just a dream place to be. Try and get the deluxe beach bungalow because it's at the better end of the island.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KeremGokce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

On arrival to the island after 14 hours travelling, we were greeted with cold drinks and face towels to freshen up. After a quick welcome message from our travel agency, we were soon on the buggy up towards our room – 324. (Deluxe Beach Villa)

As we were travelling on the buggy and dropping a couple off at their room, we were amazed at the colours of the plants, and the wildlife that seemed to live on the island. When we got to our room, we were shown in and immediately appreciated the air conditioning!
We were here on honeymoon too, which was made evident by the bed being decorated in petals shaped in a love heart and with other decoration on the bed. A nice appreciative touch I thought.
The room itself was a perfect size. The bathroom was great, and we especially liked the outdoor shower – somewhere we frequented several times a day. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had some very good nights sleep listening to the waves hitting the beach – Although beware! When a coconut drop and lands on the roof, it can be a bit startling in the middle of the night, although we found it quite funny when it did happen too!
As you leave the room and walk onto the veranda area, you soon realise you really are in paradise, with your own beach, complete with palm trees white sand and the beautiful sea. In fact, on our first day we had a baby black tip reef shark swimming in our area. Stunning.


It was soon time for Lunch, which was in the buffet restaurant assigned to us. On arrival for the first time, you are shown to your table which is your table for the duration of your stay – this is so you deal with the same waiter and can build a relationship with them – and consequently feel like you’re getting better customer service. The food in the buffet restaurant is good. We were happy to eat there everyday for breakfast and lunch – although we were on the All Inclusive Select option, which meant we could eat at other food establishments for lunch if we wanted to (we took advantage of this and ate at the Palm a few times).
If you go to Kuramathi, you must go AI Select. It opens a load of options up for you. We ate at an A la Carte restaurant everynight and found the food to be amazing quality and extremely well presented with fantastic service. Our favourite restaurant was the Reef. Fresh fish and great cooking – whilst enjoying the view across the atoll and watching the crabs and heron on the beach.

The facilities on the island are good, albeit the buggy always seems to be going in the opposite direction that you need it to be going – although this is more my luck than anything else! The dive centre was fantastic. The dive sites around the island delivered everything we needed. The dive guides were also really good and considerate of divers less experienced. All in all, glad we went diving with Kuramathi (rasdhoo divers). The swimming pool on the island is so refreshing too, and with the beach less than two minutes walk for pretty much everyone on the island, the swimming pool is never too busy. (there are two pools, we just used the one near to us)

I could write forever about this wonderful island, but it would never do it justice. All I can say is we had the most amazing time of our lives – made even better by the people working on the island. If we could go back, we would – in fact we are, I just put a pound coin in the Kuramathi Piggy Bank!!

Room Tip: 324 - Deluxe Beach Villa (South West side of the island - near the water villas)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie_Cartwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
491 reviews
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,011 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,343 reviews
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing