We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing piece of paradise”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to Kuramathi resort for our honeymoon in June 2014.
We booked our whole trip through a small travel agency specialized in made to measure trips call BlueBay which was excellent.
They booked the whole thing with Kuoni which included the flights and hotel etc.
We chose the best villa on the island called the Honeymoon Villa. It is about 300sq/m with a private garden, private swimming pool etc...
We also got the a la carte all inclusive package so all the food and drinks were included even in the restaurants.
The island itself is absolutely beautiful, perfectly kept like a luxuriant botanical garden.
There are about 5 restaurants (in addition to the buffets) on the island and all were extremely high quality. Our favorite was the Dunye which was fine french dining. The service was perfect and food amazing.
We decided to book a snorkeling session at the excusion center for an our. The team that took care of us was very well trained and made us feel very safe, even when we swam with sharks!
We also took a couple's massage which took place on a jetty above the sea. Before the massage you have access to the whole spa facilities, with steamroom, sauna, cold pools etc. After the one hour massage we got offered a glass of Mimossa and fresh fruits and stayed on a private balcony over the sea.
I would highly recommand this hotel and would go back anyday.
This was an amazing experience, one of the most beautiful place on earth I have ever been.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa was perfect, central on the island, cleaned twice a day (they even prepare your bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,090
    570
    129
    51
    37
See reviews for
468
2,887
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from our perfect honeymoon (which included a short stayThe Atlantis Palm in Dubai, would also recommend) at the Kuramathi Island Resort. We stayed for 7 nights.

For travel to the island itself we opted for a mixture of the sea plane (on the way there) and a speedboat (when departing). This seemed like common practice although I think most people did it the other way round. Either way it didn't bother us. From the beginning of our journey, we were greeted by a pleasant atmosphere whilst waiting for our sea plane. The views towards the island were beautifil as you were able to see many of the other beautifil islands during the flyover.

We stayed in a superior beach villa with a jacuzzi which we adored. Lots of privacy with your own private garden which has an outdoor shower & of course the jacuzzi, as well as a proper double sunbed etc. Out the front, you step out, just over the pathway, to your own beach front space with sunbeds. The rooms were kept extremely clean and the minibar topped up - we noticed people were in at least twice a day cleaning which was a pleasant surprise.

In terms of cleanliness, this resort is amazing. We constantly witnessed staff cleaning and tidying around the island. We were extremely impressed at the dedication put into keeping the island in impeccable order.

The island is a perfect mix of relaxation and activity. There is a watersports and dive centre and you can also hire snorkel equipment for your stay. If you don't do anything else, the snorkelling is a must - there is lots to see, even if you don't go too far out. We saw reef sharks, stingrays and many beautifully coloured fish. Others also saw turtles. Also, make sure you go and see the stingray feeding which happens at The Lagoon bar every evening at 6:30.

Make sure you take a walk around the island, particularly up to the sandbank at the far end which is absolutely stunning. My husband and I booked a couples massage at the spa with private bubble bath afterwards during which we were served sparkling wine and fresh fruit - would definately recommend this special treatment. The massage itself took place in a room overlooking the sea which was gorgeous.

The food = EXCELLENT. My husband is a particularly fussy eater and he loved every meal ... trust me this says something about the food. We were on the select all inclusive package (deffo recommend) which offered us a main restuarant (ours was Malaafaiy but there were 2 others depending on where you were on the island) to eat all our meals but also could book any of the al la carte restuarants which you do need to book (you can book up to 3 nights in advance). We ate at the Island BBQ (you must try the Steak Diane - they cook it in front of you & it is delicious), The Palm, Tandoor Mahal and Siam Garden - all were exquisite. The bars were also brilliant with various things going on across the island each evening.

Lastly but certainly not least, the staff were some of the best ever we have come across whilst on holiday. They couldn't do enough for you, and we also found that whilst walking around the island whoever you walked passed would always say hello setting a lovely atmosphere for your holiday. It's a simple thing but impressive.

We spoke to a number of people who have been to various other Maldivian islands and every single one said the Kuramathi was there favourtie to date. We would certainly highly recommend it and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steeple claydon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are regular travellers to the maldives so when looking for a honeymoon destination last year we were down two resorts this one and lily beach, a great guy at bluebay travel sold us on this one and i am so glad he did.

It was a mix of sand and vegetation beauty, fantastic to walk around as it's big enough and the sandbank clearly breathtaking. Because there were so many areas to chill out you simply could never get bored.

The restaurants I know many have said but simply amazing the best steak my husband has ever eaten and he does eat a lot! And the Cesar salad to die for, such amazing service.

We did some great trips the deserted island, the school, the next resort and hired a speedboat for a few hours.

The staff are simply fantastic all so friendly and always happy to help, well done and thank you.

Here is the but alas this was all last year in June. Started looking for a holiday this year and nothing really compares

So ......... We started researching and spoke to bluebay and guess what a great deal and we are coming back in 3weeks yippee only to a beach villa ( last year was a wiv) but to be honest it will be nice to try something different

So happy days we are coming back to re live our dream holiday all over again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richngaily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Wow what amazing place. We went last year but I haven't got round to writing this review! Amazing location, food, beaches and staff! Loved it and would love to go back!!!!! We stayed in a water villa and had some of the most amazing experiences by just stepping into the water from our villa!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We found our water villa, 242, to be very private and so beautiful I actually felt quite emotional when first shown around.

I'm sure all the accommodation is of a very high standard but for us the jacuzzi water villa felt extremely luxurious & indulgent. From the beautiful deck area where we spent most of our time sunning ourselves to the wonderful cool of our air conditioned room a step away & outdoor access to the shower for a quick cool down - heavenly.

I've never been to the Maldives before so ive nothing to compare this island to but as far as I'm concerned kuramathi is everything & more than I ever wished for & although we never visit any one place twice this resort is somewhere I would happily return to at the drop of a hat.

We mostly only ate breakfast in our allocated restaurant the Malafaiy, there was a great variety of food on offer enough I'm sure to please the pickiest of eaters & the waiters were so friendly & helpful. We weren't usually ready for more food until around 3ish, after the Malafaiy had finished service but this wasn't a problem as we had some lovely salads, pizzas etc @ the island coffee shop which serves all day.

As we were a la carte all inclusive we found that by eating lunch later we chose the 9 pm sitting for our evening meal @ the restaurant of our choice which seemed to be a less popular time for the majority & had no problems getting into our chosen restaurant.

We loved the size of kuramathi, the great varied choice of restaurants & bars & the fact that it never seemed busy. We enjoyed walking & exploring the island which we did a lot of as we were constantly getting lost.

Not being much good in the water I thoroughly enjoyed spying all the different species of fish swimming around our decking, it would of been nice to have a chart in our room listing the fish so i could tick off the ones I saw - sorry that sounds a bit sad but I love the simple things in life!

A fabulous island that I dream of returning to one day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diytours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just returned from this paradise island after celebrating our silver anniversary in June. From start to finish this was our best ever vacation.
I would advise going for the select all inclusive when booking which gives access to all the a la carte restaurants on the island. We tried them all and would struggle to pick a favourite......each one was brilliant in a different way.
The island itself is gorgeous and credit must go to the staff for maintaining it to such a high standard. There is so much to see and do if you want or you can just sit back and relax......although there are nearly 300 rooms you never feel crowded.
We chose a water villa with Jacuzzi which was perfect with the view out to the Indian ocean. The staff were all friendly and could not be more helpful.
This will always be a holiday to remember..

Room Tip: Water villas with Jacuzzi have privacy and fantastic view. They are also centrally located which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

During our wedding planning i decided i wanted to book our honeymoon and keep it a secret until our wedding day. After 10 months of telling the mrs we were going to Bognor she was amazed when i told her where we were going. The pressure was on and Kuramathi didn't disappoint us.

We had a beach villa 25 located about 30 yards from a stunning tree lined beach with clear blue water. Our room was spotless and cleaned twice a day and clean towels. The Island is fairly big so a shuttle cart is available to take you around the island but just walking around is better to take in all the views.

We were allocated to the Haruge restaurant where we were given a table for our stay the food was really good plenty to choose from with hot and cold food. The waiters were also very friendly and chatty our waiter Ali always knew the world cup scores and gave me updates every morning.

A few tips if you go.

Go see the Stingray feeding that happens every night at 18:30 the man is crazy

Snorkelling there is plenty of places to do this an is a must. Amazing fishes and sharks and if your lucky you will see a sea turtle.

Sunset at the top of the island is amazing to watch great for photos

Don't bother packing shoes you don't need them.

The spa is well worth a trip too as well its a bit expensive but the rooms overlooking the sea is stunning.

The only thing we found annoying was when you buy stuff from the shop you have to a service charge of 8% on top of 10% tax we were never told about this charge but it does add up by the end of your trip.

I would highly recommend Kuramathi i would go back tomorrow if i could.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WayneSansom1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
17 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,070 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing