We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kuramathi Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“100% Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from an amazing two weeks here. It was breath taking from the moment we arrived till we made our way home. We booked the jacuzzi water villas with the select all inclusive. The staff cannot do enough for you, our room was perfect & thank you to our house keeper. The restaurants are hard to choose between but my favourites are the Island BBQ & Reef my husband is Thai & the coffee bar for lunch. We did try the main restaurant which is for the all inclusive guest & was very happy, we attended the Chinese buffet evening. The ice cream is a must a wide selection to choose from, my favourite was "screw pine" it's a must!!! There is an excellent selection of wine that you have to pay for, the only down side is the best wine is payable but you are also charged 10% service charge & 8% tax. The island is big at 1.8km in length but is every bit breath taking, if you have difficulty in walking more than 5 minutes there are golf buggies that go around the island that you can jump on.

The snorkelling is amazing with reef sharks swimming closely by & turtles plenty of reef & marine life to see. There is a full diving school available, a biologists & Eco centre.

We had a couples spa back message which was worth every penny, the only downside to the spa is man & women are kept separate in the sauna, steam room areas which is odd when you go as a couple :-(

The evening entertainment was one night a disco, 2nd night chill out music & 3rd night hope air movie then it rotated back to night 1 & so on!!! So take playing cards etc to entertain yourself.

Island hopping to the local island Rasdhoo is worth a visit & the sunset cruise is a must.

If you are considering the Maldives I would highly recommend this island as this is our third visit & the best by far.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank S7rge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,882
    542
    120
    48
    32
See reviews for
423
2,702
26
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Our trip was fantastic - food, views, sand, sea, swimming, staff and accommodation were all excellent. We decided to upgrade to the a la carte all inclusive option which was well worth the additional expense. Have started looking into holiday dates for next year.

Room Tip: Water bungalow with jacuzzi was to die for. Room 252 was quiet and our view consisted of blue sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here for a week and had the time of my life. The beaches here are beautiful and the snorkeling/ diving is incredible. Everyday we saw tons of sharks, sting rays, turtles, eagle rays and even an octopus all just swimming from the beach. I did 3 dives and the dive team are all easy going and fun. Hotel staff are very friendly and everything was sorted for us. We stayed in 3 different level of rooms while there due to availability and even the entry level Garden Villas are great!

THis is a really big island so even though there are a lot of people on the island, it really doesn't feel crowded in the slightest, we hardly saw anyone during the day, quite often having a big patch of beach to ourselves, especially if you walk down to the south of the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TSR014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Decided to choose this resort for our 10th Anniversary instead of going our usual 2 week summer holidays in Europe. Travelled from the 7th to 22nd June and stayed in a beach villa (72) booked via Kuoni.

Took advice from the forums and postings and went select AI. I would highly recommend this as not only is the food exceptional in all restaurants, the choice of bottled wine is also very good and it allows you to experience that part of the island for that evening. For example at the top, the Reef is an amazing fish restaurant, and you can sit before at the Laguna Bar for the sunset (or stingray feeding) and then back there after dinner and maybe listen to some live music. Or you can go to the middle of the Island and visit the equally exceptional restaurant, Duniye (with Wagu Beef), and then visit the Dhoni Bar after and sit on the decking and just see sea and stars, there is also the Havana Bar there and also live music some evenings. The Siam Garden restaurant is also here, and again lovely food. At the bottom of the island you have the Island BBQ and Fung & Sand bars, outdoor cinema and disco area. Communal breakfast, lunch restaurant provided depending where you are on the island, we were in the Hurage at the bottom and is the busiest, but good buffet food, always changing. Select AI also allows you to have lunch at the Palm restaurant and the Island Coffee Shop.

The staff are immense, always friendly, and remember who you are, I wish we could remember the names of the people in the Fung Bar (junaih ?) and at the Laguna, but they went out their way to remember you, your room and your drinks - pretty impressive given the number of guests. The rooms were always clean and free of any biting insects, although they are there in the grounds and sand areas. We found the incognito spray worked wonders and not as harsh as the Jungle Formula (although this also worked).

The island was big enough for 2 weeks, only one day of rain (although rain at nghts some times), and if you can cope wiith 35 degree heat during the day and 30 at night (it took me 10 days to get into the swing of things - and getting used to my glasses steaming up every time I left the air-con villa), then this island - with the select AI !! - is for you - and the black tip sharks swimming round are are quite something. I would return in a heartbeat !!! - Absolute bliss !!!

One thing, if you are not good with mildly choppy water, especially this time of the year, then the 1 and half hour trip from male may not be for you. My wife paid for our 20 min sea plane return journey back to male after not having a fun crossing getting to the island !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Andy&Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in the Maldives for our Honeymoon in Sept 2011 on Kuramathi. It was totally amazing! The sand dunes at the top if the island are so beautiful it will make you want to cry, the room was absolutely perfect and the FOOD.... Well what can I say.... The food is wonderful! The BBQ restaurant is fantastic... Best steak I ever had. The drinks menu was extensive and one of the best All Inc offers we've seen. We would definitely recommend upgrading to All Inc A la Carte, it's worth every penny. Beautiful place to spend our honeymoon and we'll treasure the memories forever.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahJaneSmith84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We went to Kuramathi resort for our honeymoon in June 2014.
We booked our whole trip through a small travel agency specialized in made to measure trips call BlueBay which was excellent.
They booked the whole thing with Kuoni which included the flights and hotel etc.
We chose the best villa on the island called the Honeymoon Villa. It is about 300sq/m with a private garden, private swimming pool etc...
We also got the a la carte all inclusive package so all the food and drinks were included even in the restaurants.
The island itself is absolutely beautiful, perfectly kept like a luxuriant botanical garden.
There are about 5 restaurants (in addition to the buffets) on the island and all were extremely high quality. Our favorite was the Dunye which was fine french dining. The service was perfect and food amazing.
We decided to book a snorkeling session at the excusion center for an our. The team that took care of us was very well trained and made us feel very safe, even when we swam with sharks!
We also took a couple's massage which took place on a jetty above the sea. Before the massage you have access to the whole spa facilities, with steamroom, sauna, cold pools etc. After the one hour massage we got offered a glass of Mimossa and fresh fruits and stayed on a private balcony over the sea.
I would highly recommand this hotel and would go back anyday.
This was an amazing experience, one of the most beautiful place on earth I have ever been.

Room Tip: Honeymoon villa was perfect, central on the island, cleaned twice a day (they even prepare your bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucile L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from our perfect honeymoon (which included a short stayThe Atlantis Palm in Dubai, would also recommend) at the Kuramathi Island Resort. We stayed for 7 nights.

For travel to the island itself we opted for a mixture of the sea plane (on the way there) and a speedboat (when departing). This seemed like common practice although I think most people did it the other way round. Either way it didn't bother us. From the beginning of our journey, we were greeted by a pleasant atmosphere whilst waiting for our sea plane. The views towards the island were beautifil as you were able to see many of the other beautifil islands during the flyover.

We stayed in a superior beach villa with a jacuzzi which we adored. Lots of privacy with your own private garden which has an outdoor shower & of course the jacuzzi, as well as a proper double sunbed etc. Out the front, you step out, just over the pathway, to your own beach front space with sunbeds. The rooms were kept extremely clean and the minibar topped up - we noticed people were in at least twice a day cleaning which was a pleasant surprise.

In terms of cleanliness, this resort is amazing. We constantly witnessed staff cleaning and tidying around the island. We were extremely impressed at the dedication put into keeping the island in impeccable order.

The island is a perfect mix of relaxation and activity. There is a watersports and dive centre and you can also hire snorkel equipment for your stay. If you don't do anything else, the snorkelling is a must - there is lots to see, even if you don't go too far out. We saw reef sharks, stingrays and many beautifully coloured fish. Others also saw turtles. Also, make sure you go and see the stingray feeding which happens at The Lagoon bar every evening at 6:30.

Make sure you take a walk around the island, particularly up to the sandbank at the far end which is absolutely stunning. My husband and I booked a couples massage at the spa with private bubble bath afterwards during which we were served sparkling wine and fresh fruit - would definately recommend this special treatment. The massage itself took place in a room overlooking the sea which was gorgeous.

The food = EXCELLENT. My husband is a particularly fussy eater and he loved every meal ... trust me this says something about the food. We were on the select all inclusive package (deffo recommend) which offered us a main restuarant (ours was Malaafaiy but there were 2 others depending on where you were on the island) to eat all our meals but also could book any of the al la carte restuarants which you do need to book (you can book up to 3 nights in advance). We ate at the Island BBQ (you must try the Steak Diane - they cook it in front of you & it is delicious), The Palm, Tandoor Mahal and Siam Garden - all were exquisite. The bars were also brilliant with various things going on across the island each evening.

Lastly but certainly not least, the staff were some of the best ever we have come across whilst on holiday. They couldn't do enough for you, and we also found that whilst walking around the island whoever you walked passed would always say hello setting a lovely atmosphere for your holiday. It's a simple thing but impressive.

We spoke to a number of people who have been to various other Maldivian islands and every single one said the Kuramathi was there favourtie to date. We would certainly highly recommend it and look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliJ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
21.0 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing