We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing..............”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“amazing..............”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My husband and myself stayed here for our 25th wedding anniversary after we stayed for 8 days in Sri Lanka and from the moment we arrived by speedboat it was amazing.
The boat took about 1 hour 20 to reach the island from the main land but when you step off the boat and are welcomed with a refreshing glass of mocktail and a smile from every member of staff it was well worth the bumpy sea.
Beaches are pure white with the bluest waters we have seen and always clean of garden litter as the gardeners on the island seem to be cleaning 24/7. Plenty of marine life to see even if you don't like snorkeling too much but if you do its amazing too good to be real.
We were glad we opted for the 7 night stay as this was not even enough to spend on this beautiful island.
Rooms; we stayed in a beach villa which is a bit miss leading as they are more in the gardens which at first we were a bit disappointed but where glad in the end as they are really quite and no one has to walk pass our villa to go anywhere unlike some villas on the island where you walk pass the there front door.
Food; we stayed on the basic all inclusive buffet style as we are not wine drinkers or exotic food eaters but we found there was never a day where there was nothing we didn't like and enjoy with every evening being a different theme from Chinese to USA cuisine. Waiters were all very attentive and a drink always waiting for you when you have filled your plate.
All in all this holiday was a 5 star ++++ and would love to go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meerkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,090
    570
    129
    51
    37
See reviews for
468
2,887
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (841)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I think for the first time in my life, experience of the place was better than in brochure. I'm sure you had these: travel agent shows you absolutely stunning photos of the hotel in your chosen location and promises paradise on Earth. And then hard landing at the actual location.
Well - with Kuramathi Island Resort can't go wrong. Everything you see in the brochure or catalog - it's there for real. Even better than the photos.
Bungalows are spacious and clean. Ocean front.
There's a bunch of restaurants you can choose from and food is fresh and delicious.
Staff is very friendly and helpful.
I recommend sunset cruise with bottle of champagne, snorkling and kite surfing. And the beaches. OMG! The best ones! And the SPA. You got to go.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyotrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Kuramathi is without doubt beautiful. The beaches are white sand with turquoise waters. Sunrise was tranquil and worth getting up for. On our first morning I stood on the beach alone at 6am - bliss. The snorkelling is amazing, but at times quite hard to access the snorkel lanes. We saw the black tipped shark - wow!
The kids club deserves a special mention - it was brilliant. Sara and her team are so caring and fun. Normally my kids aren't fussed about kids clubs but they ran each day to this one and went 4 days in a row!
The food was average - after travelling in Sri Lanka for 10 days, the food wasn't up to the same standard in the buffet. There was always lots of choice, but sometimes it wasn't that exciting.
We enjoyed our 5 days here a lot. The sea plane is definitely worth doing and made the trip exciting - flying over the islands is spectacular and watching the pilots operate the plane is fascinating.

Room Tip: We had beach villas 74/75 which were very close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rainbow2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent our honeymoon at Kuramathi Island Resort and had a wonderful time there. We had a ‎jacuzzi water villa which was lovely and spacious; located on the reef side of the island, you are ‎guaranteed to see a variety of sea life from the decking before you even step into the water.‎

We opted for basic all inclusive and also ate in a couple of the restaurants which were not included in ‎our package (and paid separately) during our stay and this worked well for us. The food was amazing ‎and the fresh fish (caught daily) was delicious. My husband was really pleased as they serve curry for ‎breakfast, lunch and dinner! We had the same waiter every evening and he was so helpful and ‎cheerful and soon got to know our ‘usual’ drink choices as well as catching on to my husband’s ‎repetitive trips to the buffet.‎

Every last detail has been thought about on this island and it had such a warm ambience to it, the staff ‎seemed to love working there and it showed in the service we received throughout our stay. ‎

We had a sunset cruise included as part of the honeymoon package and were lucky enough to see ‎dolphins along our journey. We were also given a romantic candle lit meal along with two other ‎couples in a separate part of the restaurant – you are able to book this whenever you wish during your ‎stay and we decided to book it on my birthday. Unfortunately it was the worst meal of our holiday – ‎there wasn’t a great deal of choice on the set menu. I had assumed (wrongly) that it was on the ‎beach, which it wasn’t and I wish now we’d have booked a candlelit dinner on the beach separately. ‎Whilst we were disappointed by the food, our usual waiter made a special effort to come over and ‎present me with a birthday cake and sung happy birthday. The food was redeemed by the service – I ‎do love a fuss on my birthday!‎

There are buses which drive up and down the island which take you to different areas, but it is not too ‎far to walk if you enjoy a stroll and you can get from one end of the island to the other in about 20 ‎minutes / half an hour. The sand bank is breath-taking, but don’t forget your sun cream / cover-up!‎

We did lots of snorkelling and our favourite spot was off the jetty near to the reception area – this part ‎of the reef is stunning and has the most variety of fish.‎

We only found the Cuban bar which is inside and air-conditioned on the last day and wish we had ‎found it earlier, but to be honest when you are British and in a hot country – you do not need an ‎indoor bar… even if it is Cuban.‎

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed at Kuramathi for 8 days in July. We were told that it should be rainy season but did not experience any rain. The weather was fantastic during the whole stay.

Kuramathi is a fantastic island with magical beaches, turquoise water, coral reefs filled with colourful fish, sharks, turtles and more. In addition, the island offers some really good a la carte restaurants and bars. It is also one of the larger tourist islands which makes it more than just a secluded beach on a tiny island. You can stroll around in the botanic gardens or even go for a short run.

We stayed in a beach villa on the lower end of the island. The beach villas are not all situated at the beach but some are 50-100 yards from the water. However all of them are surrounded by palms and a well-maintained garden. The garden and the island in general is kept to an impeccable standard.

"To dos" except lying at the beach:
- Snorkle/Diving: MAGICAL reefs with a fantastic view. You can spend hours here. Be aware of the sun and preferably use a shirt when lying in the water
- Tennis: Nice tennis course at the center of the island. Book tennis time in the morning or the evening when the temperature is lower
- Gym: Nice gym situated in the middle of the island
- Sunset cruise: Nice cruise made in the sunset. Included in all inclusive packages
- Sunset at the bank: Have a nice walk to the sand bank in the sun set. Beautiful views
- Sting ray feeding: Stopped in August 2014. Otherwise a remarkable show seeing sting rays behave like hungry dogs.
- Aqua sports: Many different sports to chose from
- Excursions: Many different excursions to chose from. I can recommend the snorkeling safari

Food
We had the all inclusive select package and this is something I can really recommend. The a la carte restaurants are really good and it made our stay so much more pleasant than having buffe every lunch and night. We also had the serenade dinner. I can recommend this as well, not because of a particular fantastic food but for the setting. It was magical.

All in all a paradise that I would love to come back to.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K_enjoying_life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I am so glad that we decided to spend part of our honeymoon here! Right form the moment we arrived on the island staff were brilliant with us and were prepared to do anything for us. The villa we stayed in was beautiful, and about ten paces from the sea!! It was cleaned twice a day so was always spotless. I cannot fault the food in the buffet restaurant, it was stunning and again the staff in the restaurant were brilliant. We didn't choose the select all-inclusive package and don't feel that we missed out, the food in the buffet restaurant is so nice. There was a different theme for the food each night so you don't feel like you are eating the same thing. We did try the ice cream from the Italian restaurant and that was amazing though so I would recommend that! There are plenty of things on the island to keep you occupied (my husband hates just sitting around on the beach all day!) We filled lots of our days with snorkeling around the island and kayaking. If you enjoy snorkeling then I would recommend the snorkeling safari, this is a great way to see more amazing fish! All in all this is truly a piece of paradise and such an amazing place to go to relax!

Room Tip: All rooms we walked past were brilliant and all are very close to the sea so don't worry about w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LucyMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

What shall I say about this hotel. Simply wow.

This hotel was suggested by Travanya who are based in panchkula

I stayed for 4 nights with a combo of deluxe beach villa with jacuzzi and water villa. Travanya guided me about the trip and do's and Dont's. I am in love with that place. Thanks for providing such a fab services. Will recommend to my friends and who so ever finding hotel. About travanya and hotel services. ...

Hats off to your patience and deep understanding.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19.0 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
Acqua Blu Rasdhoo
#1 of 2 in Rasdhoo
17 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,070 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Gangehi Island Resort
Gangehi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Gangehi Island
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Property: Kuramathi Island Resort
Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Measuring 1.8 km long, this idyllic resort in North Ari Atoll is dotted with lush flora and fauna, turquoise lagoons and tapers into a pristine sandbank. Catering to all budgets, the choices for villas are many, and ranges from the simple yet stylish Garden Villas to the ever popular honeymooners' favourite over water choice, Water Villa with Jacuzzi. Early 2016, Kuramathi is set to extend the options with new villa categories that will features villas over water, several with private pool and also two bedroom houses suitable for families or friends travelling together. Savour exquisite recipes from over 10 restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Imbibe tropical concoctions in 6 bars conveniently placed around the island, and they have the added plus of regular evening entertainment. Leave your worries behind, and choose our great-value all inclusive packages to enjoy the best that Kuramathi has to offer. The Basic All Inclusive includes a wide range of premium beverages while the Select All Inclusive is ideal if you wish to have a taste of Kuramathi at its best where you wine and dine at any restaurant of your choice. Rejuvenate, revitalize and beautify at Kuramathi Spa, with its blend of diverse therapies using signature product line Voya, which comes from Ireland and is made from hard-harvested organic seaweed. Dive with eagle rays, friendly sharks and explore world class dive sites. Become a certified sailor at the only Royal Yachting Association certified water sports school in the Maldives. Bond with your family at Bageecha Kids Club and let the children indulge in fun yet educational programs. Learn more about the thriving organisms both in and out of water at the multi award winning Eco Centre. There is simply something for everyone on an island that is naturally Maldives - Kuramathi Island Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing