We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Amazing Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kuramathi Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2007

I used this website to decide what island to choose in the Maldives so I felt that I needed to feedback on Kuramathi.

Went on the 31st March 2007 and flew on Sri Lankan Airlines. When we arrived and departed the seaplane we witnessed a school of dolphins just off the island (I knew from then that this was going to be an amazing holiday). We were given cold towels and a drink immediately. We stayed in a Superior Beach Bungalow which was lovely – a four poster bed and an outdoor shower looking up onto palm trees. The bungalow must have been less than 15 metres to the beach. The beach was always quiet and very peaceful.

The food was ok – nothing special but the usual standard for an all inclusive hotel. The buffet did vary nightly but I would suggest that you try and book in one of the other restaurants (you will pay extra though). We also went to the full moon buffet which was delicious.

If offered any excursions, the one I can totally recommend is the Coral Romance package. It was amazing!! You are taken to another island (about 45 minutes from Kuramthi by speedboat). We booked a Water Bungalow which cost us $600 for one night. This island was unbelievable. Total paradise!!! You are given spa treatments and a snorkelling lesson by the islands instructor. Your meals are also included along with dinner on the beach in the evening and a champagne breakfast brought to your room in the morning. A truly unforgettable experience – not to be missed.

Although the island visit was amazing – it was great to return to Kuramthi Island, mainly because of the atmosphere. Every member of staff and visitor was friendly. Suggestion – tip the barman at the beginning of the trip and this will ensure that you get served at the bar straight away.

My partner completed a PADI dive course and the instructors were both friendly and the services were quite reasonable. I thoroughly enjoyed the snorkelling and couldn’t believe the amount of fish around the islands coral.

I would thoroughly recommend this holiday to everyone. I have travelled around the Caribbean and would state the Maldives knocks spot off every Caribbean island I have visited. I am definitely going to return to Kuramthi as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank Jo_Jersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,694 - 2,700 of 4,021 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2007

We stayed here for 13 nights and had booked on a Full Board basis at a Water Villa.

Firstly, when we arrived we did ask to move room as we were backing on to the water purification pump which we found noisey, although we are a bit over senstive to noise and I'm sure this might not bother other people! The reception quickly moved us with no problems.

Good & Not so good points: Good range of restaurants. Indian and Thai buffets definately worth a try (although watch the mango chutney: goregous but V hot!).

On a the full board basis dinner and lunch are buffet or set menu on alternate days. Normally on AI or full board basis you would expect the choice and variety. If we visited Kuramathi again we would definately go with BB only and visit the excellent Palm Court for lunch which is set at the edge of the beach and the service is superb or eat at one of the bars and use the specialist restaurants in the evening.

Lots of fish and baby sharks around and good snorkling areas. All staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing seems to be a problem. Note: there is a 10% service charge added to everything.

This was our third visit to the Maldvies and our first visit to Kuramathi and although we had a great time we probably wouldn't visit Kuramathi again only because there are other Islands to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank FTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2007

We have just returned form a week in Kuramathi and would return tomorrow. This island is 100% paradise.
We stayed in Kuramathi Village in a beach bungalow. A little wooden bungalow, four poster bed (complete with flowers on arrival), fantastic bathroom with outdoor shower - stand and watch the bats and herons for ages! The food in the restaurant is fab and the waiters are happy to serve you drinks as long as you can drink them. Pina colada is a definite, you will fall in love with them.
The beaches are like nothing you've seen before. pure white sand, turquoise sea and the sun shines all day long (careful, it reflects off everything and burns hard!!)
We were lucky to get upgraded part way through the holiday to Blue Lagoon. When we return we will book straight into there. Coconut Village was fab, Blue Lagoon is even nice. A bungalow straight on the beach and the bar was literally 5 steps away. This restsaurant is smaller and the food even better if that could be possible (so are the Pina's somehow!) This is the part of the island right near the sand bank so the view from our little beach right outside the door was awesome - as was the sun set.
Kuramathi is a place to definitely go, we've been some gorgeous places in the world but this had us stunned.
Oh, also go for a massage....... again top class.
One tip would be NOT to go with My Travel They were the worst air line we've ever traveled with. Poor cramped seating, poor food and you have to pay for everything. This is a long haul flight and the service was like a two hour hop over to Spain. I've complained! Plus don't expect to see your rep about anything (even when slightly delayed coming home) she must have been sunning herself somewhere cos she wasn't anywhere keeping us informed! If it costs slightly more to go with Emirates, Sri Lanka then its worth it........ My Travel TERRIBLE.

Stayed: February 2007
12  Thank UNDERVESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2007

We visited the beautiful Kuramathi village for one week starting on the 9th Feb. This was a special family holiday for myself, my wife and 2 children, Sarah aged 17 and Mark aged 20. We booked an all Inclusive deal via Kuoni during January 07. Flying direct with Sri Lankan airlines from Heathrow from the snow bound UK, we arrived at Mali on 9th Feb to 30 degrees of beautiful sun and greeted by the turquoise seas of the Maldives. Our holiday got off to a great start, taking the Maldivian Air Taxi for the 25 minute flight to Kuramathi. The views and whole flight experience were fantatastic and well worth the additional supplement. On arrival at Kuramathi, we entered a tropical paradise which met our every expectation. The island was beautiful, with white sand fringing the palm trees alongside the picturesque shrubs and flowers. Our first priority was a quick change into our snorkelling gear and off to the sea. Our standard beach bungalow was great. About 10 metres from the beach on the house reef side of Kuramathi. The sea was absolutely georgeous, so turquoise and clear and the aquatic life on the house reef was tremendous. The colour, variety and numbers of fish was incredible. We never tired of this and took 2 dives and a snorkelling tour to further explore the under water world. The food was always excellent in the beautiful dining room at Kuramathi village - better than at the other 2 resorts on the island in my opinion. With a choice of a Set 4 course menu as well as a buffet the choices were excellent at all the meals and all of us enjoyed the food every day. The heat was incredible so do take care in the sun and use the shade of the trees whilst on the beach. We also elected to wear T shirts when snorkelling. We can recommend the cocktails in the bar and also comment that the staff without exception were always helpful and friendly. Although it was half term week, the island was not busy, often enjoying the beach to ourself. The water sports centre was good and the Bio Station was excellent with Rheinhard the resident marine biologist providing great info about the coral reef and the aquatic life. The Dive Centre was excellent also. We all vowed to come back to the Maldives and would not hesitate in recommending Kuramathi Village.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank TheHarrisfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2007

From the minute we stepped on Kuramathi we instantly began to relax. Of the 3 hotels on the Island the Blue Lagoon was most definately the best. The room was wonderful right on the beach, the bedroom (with 4 poster bed) was so romantic and dreamy (on our honeymoon). Indoor bathroom was beautiful and the outdoor shower was groovey, funky and an adam & eve setting!! he he. Pair of us kept giggling at first at the thought of being outdoors.
We were there for a month, and we did NOT get bored. The restaurants are fanstastic, great wines (additional costs but worth it). The 5 course dinner on the end of the pier/ jetty was v. romantic if you are that sort of couple who want to be alone.

During the day you hardly see anyone, but in the evening all these people appear and its good if you want a bit of company.
Definately have 'sexy eyes' cocktail... I had them everynight and I think I put on 1 stone in weight after the holiday but well worth it.
The sea food restaurant is amazing especially the lobster, highly recommended, as is the Thai restaurant.
The spa I thoroughly enjoyed spent every other day in there having a massage, highly recommend the mama!!! Bring your hubby along with you they stick you in a private granite bath with floating petals, fruit and champagne and leave you all alone... !!!

Scuba diving and snorkling is a definate must, I have never seen such an amazing amount of colour and quantity of marine life. It was unbelievable. Not to scare anybody off but be warned we did see quite large sharks which did nothing to us, but we were a bit freaked the first time we saw them as we were on our own and nobody mentioned to us that they would be there immediately at the drop off. Perhaps our ignorance really for not thinking they would be there. We went out to snorkel and see the turtles and saw 2 mako sharkes instead. Hey ho... would not put me of going to the Maldives though. There is a great dive school on the island and the instructor who took us out was great. She was very good and made the trip fun. Even those who were first timers she was extremely patient.

Want to go back again very soon.

Stayed: September 2004
10  Thank FlowerGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

We were at Kuramathi Cottage & Spa from 2 Feb until 12 Feb 2007 staying in one of the Water Bungalows. This was our first trip to the Maldives and we loved it.

The water bungalows are some of the earliest built in the Maldives and have a faded elegance to them. We loved the beautiful mahogany floors and high ceilings. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in. The downsides were that the lights all had fairly low wattage bulbs which made reading of an evening difficult unless you were close to a lamp and the lack of drawers/shelf space (There was plenty of wardrobe space but a lot of it was hanging space).

The water bungalows are numbered from 231 to 280 and are in groups of 10. One drawback of the lower numbered bungalows is that they are close to either the desalination plant of the electricity generator (we didn't establish which it was) and there would be a constant low noise like an engine ticking over. We were in Bungalow 253 and the noise was not that intrusive,

We were on half-board basis - the breakfast buffet offered plenty of choice. Evening meal was either a themed buffet, eg italian, maldivan/sri lankan, etc or a 4 course set meal with a no choice on the starter or soup courses, a choice of two main courses, and desert or fruit to finish. The food was well cooked and nicely presented, although we heard one or two moans about the size of the portions. However, whenever there was a set meal there was also a small buffet and you could eat from the buffet as well as have the set meal. We never went hungry and now need to lose a few pounds!! The tables in the restaurant were a little too close together and service could be slow. The table you are allocated to on your first meal is where you stay, so it is worth trying to get a good spot. For those people on full board, we believe the same formula applied at lunchtime

There are several 'a la carte' restaurants and you could choose to dine in those and get a 20% discount if you booked via your waiter in the main restaurant. They are only open in the evening.

During the day, the coffee shops at each of the resorts offer snacks and there is the Palm Court restaurant close to the watersports centre in the middle of the island which was where we ate a lunchtime and, having done our sums now we are home, we definitely saved money by not going full board. The salads at the Palm Court were generous and they will happily bring you two plates so you can share.

There is a small swimming pool at the Spa with about 50 sun loungers. This area was pleasant and never got crowded or noisy. The Spa itself had nice treatment rooms and facilities; given that this part of Kuramathi advertises itself as being more for health and well-being, we expected to find things like stretching and meditation sessions and possibly some exercise classes but the only thing offered was yoga at 7am each morning.

Access to the reef for snorkelling is via channels with the closest together being near the Water Bungalows. Snorkelling safaris to other parts of the Atoll are offered and you can also book private snorkelling trips. We went on one of the safaris with the resident marine biologist - it was interesting but we felt the snorkelling along the house reef was as good. We snorkelled everyday and each time we went in we saw something new. We felt that the snorkelling here was much better than any other places we have been - including the Caribbean. There is a Bio Centre in the middle of the island and every evening the marine biologist was there to answer questions and show photos. He gave several lectures on different topics - in German and English on different evenings.

On the opposite side of the island is a long sandy beach and a watersports centre. We didn't use the centre but swam a few times off the beach which was very pleasant with a constant breeze which kept the temperature down. Most of the time the beach was fairly deserted, but the last couple of days saw more people using it - probably because low tide was during the middle of the day so it was tricky getting out to the reef. Also, there were more children around the last couple of days - until then we had seen only a two or three. There are no sunbeds on the beach although there were a number of reclining chairs.

At the very end of the island, through the 'Blue Lagoon' resort, is a sand bar which took about 15 minutes to walk the length of. At sunrise it was deserted - at sunset there were lots of photographers. We were never there through the heat of the day so don't know how crowded it got.

There was low key evening entertainment in all three resorts but we didn't watch it. Close to the Cottage reception is the Havanna Club which is a wine & cigar bar and was the most elegant room on the island. But it was hardly ever used - the most clients we ever saw in there were 4 and 2 of them were us!

Any little niggles? well, I didn't like it that there was no sugar or milk on the tables - if you wanted sugar/milk in your tea or coffee the waiters put it in when the poured the tea/coffee from large flasks. So no chance to adjust flavour after tasting. (I asked for green tea and most of the waiters would bring & leave a pot a breakfast and a pot a dinner). I could have done with the opportunity to buy some fresh fruit (the odd banana or two) rather than order a fruit plate which was a mixture. The only 'food' available in the gift shops was biscuits, crisps and chocolate.

Overall, the resort exceeded our expectations and the minor criticisms made above are nit-picking. We would certainly consider going back to the Cottages when we go back to the Maldives, because after this trip we will certainly be returning to this beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank pagallery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2007

Sorry this is a really long post, wanted to make sure I covered everything!

My husband and I decided to go back to Kuramathi for 2 weeks 29th Jan-13th Feb, having been there for one week Honeymoon in October 2005.

We booked our holiday at the last minute through Travel Now who are agents for Kuoni. Since we we so late booking (just 2 weeks before departure) the chartered flights i.e. Monarch were full up so we had to pay extra for scheduled and ended up flying with Sri Lankan. We found this airline to be very good. The seat pitch is better than Monarch and we had plenty of room to stretch out and sleep, seating is in 2-4-2 formation so didn't feel so claustrophic as other planes. Seats all have tv screens in front showing a great variety of films and programmes, as well as music/radio stations and selection of games, which certainly helped pass the time. All drinks were free and the hostess came by frequently offering top-ups! We were given a menu just after take-off detailing the dishes available throughout the flight which were delicious, various sandwiches were also available in between meal times. All in all I would recommend paying the extra and not going with Monarch if you get cabin fever.

Arrived in Male on time and only had to wait a short while for the speed boat transfer. The crossing was smooth - better than our last trip and we arrived at Kuramathi in no time.

We were greeted off the boat by Helen the Kuoni rep and quickly shown our room, a standard room on the lagoon side of the island. Although the room was sufficient, I would say that the standard rooms could do with a re-vamp as the difference between them and the superior ones is immense (we were upgraded to one with outdoor shower etc on last visit), but then I guess you get what you pay for! Room boy was great, very efficient, always managed to slip in when we weren't there and decorated the bed with elaborately folded sheets and on our first and last nights - flowers which were so pretty. We tipped him $30 for his efforts at the end of our stay.

The island was just as we remembered it, lush, green and warm - the weather was fantastic - about 32 degrees every day, and no rain (I had been keeping an eye on the Wunderground website which warned of storms and rain the days leading up to the holiday but these were nowhere to be seen, thank goodness!) As before, the restaurant offered a generous breakfast bufeet catering for all tastes, various cakes, croissants, bread, jams, cheese, ham, sausages, eggs (scrambled, boiled, fried and omlette - there is a special chef for these!) or fish curry if you fancied it!

Lunches and dinners varied between a full buffet and set menu, although you can choose to just have just one course from this and the smaller 'grill' buffet was always there too offering fresh fish, meat, rice, noodles, pasta etc. The quality of the food really was fantastic, so much choice and very tasty, especially the fish. The only bad thing for us was the lack of fresh vegetables, although there was a good salad cart. Fresh fruit on the other hand is in abundance and is very tasty - pineapple, bananas, melons, passionfruit, papaya etc. delicious. Our waiter was very friendly and again we tipped him generously at the end of the holiday.

The beaches were of course fantastic and the snorkelling brilliant. The best place to go is on the outside edge of the island just next to the boat jetty. The reef is amazing and we saw turtles, sharks (biggest one about 4ft) stingray and moray eels, as well as array of tropical fish, it's an experience not to be missed. Way paid to go on the snorkel safari again which is good as a marine biologist comes with you to point out the various underwater flora and fauna, but to be honest, we saw far more wildlife on the house reef then on this trip.

If you are on all inclusive then snorkelling equipment is included during your stay. We actually purchase our own fron the shop on the island and since returning we have found that the good were about half the price than they are here in the UK.

On the subject of Marine Biology, we went to a couple of the presentations run at the island bio-station and were surprised at how interesting they were - they cover a variety of topics such as how the Maldives came to be, fish, coral and plankton. I would recommend attending at least one of these as you really get an understanding of how special the Maldives are and a great respect for the landscape and the sealife etc.

The sandbank of course is a must-do, lovely evening stroll to watch the sunset, but go up there first thing in the morning to get really good, well light photos (sun shining on sand and sea make it look extra white and turquoise!) This really is a sight to be beheld! Hop on the golf buggy of you don't fancy the walk.

We went on the sunset cruise one evening which is included for those on all inclusive, this is a lovely trip - about an hour long, you go out on a boat, which goes along the length of the island before stopping to watch the sunset at which point they serve chilled sparkling wine. Great photo opportunity.

On our last evening there, I made a visit to the Spa to have my nails done. The Spa is beautiful, very well designed, with a very tranquil atmosphere. If you are having a body treatment, the price includes use of the sauna, steam room and jacuzzi too so that you can relax prior to treatment. They are very accomodating, since I was stuck for time I asked for a french polish without the manicure and this was no problem - it cost just $15! Some of the treatments are quite expensive, but even if you can only afford something cheap, it's so worth it!

So overall another fantastic holiday at Kuramathi. Will we go back again? Already started looking for next year, we might try doing the Atoll Explorer cruise for one week before staying at Kuramathi again for one week.

Watch this space!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank louellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuramathi
19 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
592 reviews
12.1 mi away
Velidhu Island Resort
Velidhu Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Velidhoo Island
484 reviews
3.5 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
543 reviews
17.6 mi away
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
Ellaidhoo Maldives by Cinnamon
#1 of 1 in Ellaidhoo Island
1,633 reviews
15.8 mi away
Constance Halaveli
Constance Halaveli
#1 of 1 in Halaveli Island
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuramathi Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuramathi Island Resort

Address:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Kuramathi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kuramathi
Price Range: £441 - £1,170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kuramathi Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Rasdhoo Atoll , Kuramathi Maldives is 1.8 km in length and tapers to a pristine stretch of white sandbank, lending a dramatic quality to the idyllic surroundings of turquoise lagoons, tropical jungle and flora. Catering to all budgets, 12 distinct choices of villas are on offer, ranging from the individual Beach Villas to the idyllic Water Villas with Pool. A splendid pick for families and friends travelling together is the Two Bedroom Beach house. Savour exquisite dishes from 12 superb restaurants catering to diverse taste buds. Sip exotic cocktails in the 7 bars located in beautiful settings around the island. The island's vast size opens up to a wide range of activities. Immerse in therapeutic healing at Kuramathi Spa as we revive the holiday psyche. Younger guests find thrilling options at Bageecha Kids club, featuring fun and educational experiences. There is something for everyone on this paradisiacal haven that embodies Maldives in a natural setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Kuramathi Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuramathi Island Hotel Kuramathi
Village Hotel Kuramathi
Kuramathi Village Hotel
Kuramathi Cottage Spa
Kuramathi Island Resort Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing