We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of Alpa City Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alpa City Suites
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Great breakfast buffet, much better than some renown 4 n 5 star hotels in Cebu, clean rooms, not too noisy location, plenty of local style eateries within walking distance, good location half way between Ayala and SM Malls, not far from Mandaue's party mile of Fortuna Street, and a short taxi ride to Cebu's Mango Street night life. Absolutely beats Tune style hotels 10 times over.

Room Tip: None of the rooms face the busy road, the sides don't face any busy roads.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Alpa City Suites having moved from another hotel nearby.
Check In was swift and very efficient.
Rooms are clean, large and comfortable with good quality fittings.
There is a nice little Kitchenette with Fridge and Microwave provided.
Aircon is a Thru-Wall unit, quite noisy with limited temperature control but it is efficient.
TV has a good selection of channels.
Bathroom is large and water pressure is quite good. The Electric water heater was faulty and worked for a few minutes then cut out and could not be reset again. I asked the Reception to send somebody to fix it, but they never appeared. We used it by holding in the reset button whilst having a shower.
There is no Wifi, but rooms do have a LAN Connection. Internet is free but speed ranges from very poor to zero.
Breakfast is a basic buffet with fairly limited choices, but service is good. The hotel motto is a European Standard, however the breakfast is very Asian.
On the whole the Hotel is well situated and offers very good value for money. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhaywardtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We had a seminar within the area of this hotel so we chose this one due to its price. They offered their suite room at Php 3,100 with breakfast so it was really dirt cheap compared to other hotels within its vicinity. The room they offered was already their top of the line (suite) while other hotels were offering a basic room for the same price, we just had to grab it. It was more than worth its price. Suite room was large and spacious. It had a kitchenette so there’s a full-size refrigerator, microwave and coffee making facility inside the room. Even with an extra bed, there’s still so much space. Although the ambiance of the room was budget hotel, it was clean and everything still felt new so it was well worth its price. Bathroom was comfortable in terms of size.

Location-wise, its midway to city proper. Taxi are plentiful and you can go to SM or Ayala Center at Php 80.00 per way, either way. If the taxi doesn’t recognize the name of the hotel, you can just tell him that its in Ayala Access Road or its near Sykes Building. Apparently, the street (F. Cabahug) was formerly known as Ayala Access and the Sykes Building, which is a few meters away from the hotel, is pretty well known as it’s a very tall building with the prominent sign “Sykes”.

The downside. During our stay, there was only one (out of two) elevator working. It’s a small elevator so if the hotel is full (especially during convention month), it takes time to go to your room or to go back to it if you left something. Not really a deal breaker but a nuisance just the same. And since the room rate is cheap, everything extra has a price. Local calls will cost you extra. Borrowing an iron is not allowed. You have to avail of their pressing service so if you are staying for more than two days, be sure to have a budget set aside for pressing of your clothes. If you have a travel iron, much better.

Food or breakfast was okay. Nothing to rave about. You can go to other places within the area for better food.

One of the good part of staying here was the free wi-fi. Internet speed was pretty decent. But if you need to print out something, printing at their business center is costly at Php 50 per page.

I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for family vacation though. There are no extra amenities to entertain your kids (no pool or play area).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Note that the street in front of the hotel will be torn up in the next week, making the area very muddy for the next...If you are driving suggest contact the hotel to ensure the parking ramp is not blocked.

Some items on their web site are not accurate:
- No extra charge or a deposit for WiFi
- Credit Cards are not charged on check-in, only authorized.

This is a very complete hotel.
- excellent staff. A problem with my water heater was fixed very quickly
- Fine, large room with nice furniture
- Very clean floors
- Fairly Quiet
- Free breakfast is better than expected
- Very big bed
- Small kitchenette with microwave, large fridge, sink
- Air con adequate and quiet
- Two large mirrors are appreciated
- Close to major malls: 60-80p taxi ride
- Very nice restaurant
- BBQ grill restaurant next door
- Flat screen tv with several movie, sports and news channels
- Best room rate is available booking online with the hotel web site.
- Wireless WiFi Internet router available at no extra charge, also direct Ethernet LAN connection.
- 10th floor conference rooms have an open air balcony, a good place to grab a smoke.

Some negatives:
- Internet a bit slow, not sure if this may be a result of the recent earthquake
- Water pressure not terribly strong
- Demand water heater not particularly hot
- Street in front of the hotel is very crowded and often chaotic when there is no traffic enforcer
- Not really much near here worth walking to. If you walk several blocks towards Ayala you will find a 7-11 and some nicer restaurants
- Streets here are in rough condition. You may be standing in mud etc waiting for a taxi
- There is work installing a drain pipe along the street. In the next week the street in front of the hotel will be torn up with this work. After they are finished, there will be mud left over until it is repaved

Room Tip: Rooms x01 to x10 will be most quiet. Rooms x15 and x16 will be noisy as they are next to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamboME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alpa City S, Director of Sales at Alpa City Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hi! Thank you so much for your comments. The city government is currently working on the drainage system in the area. Thus, the roadwork. This is great to ensure that the main street in front of our hotel will not have flooding problems in the future vis a vis other areas in the city which, I may say, are really prone to flooding. We do not anticipate a lot of rain prior to the completion of the roadwork along with the clean up so it being muddy should not be a concern.

Again, thanks for sharing your experience. We really appreciate it.

Warm Regards,

Anna Galicia
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Service was excellent, rooms are spotlessly clean, all up to European standard and yet at great rates. Yes you can spend hundreds more and stay at a resort hotel, but it's a much better idea to stay here and just book a day at a beach resort when you feel like catching some waves and sun. Breakfast buffet is free, extensive and varied, with a distinct asian touch. But you will not need to miss scrambled eggs or omelet (made to order), toast, cereal and the like. Truly value for money, will stay here again.

Room Tip: As Cebu/Mandaue are busy cities, higher floors are recommended as they are farther from the street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tackholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Alpa for 2 nights for a business trip in Cebu. The staff of the hotel are friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and well-maintained. Breakfast is very filling, if you take your brekkie late in the morning, you won't have to eat lunch.

Insider's Tip: there's a good carinderia (local canteen) beside the hotel that sells Lechon Belly. It's very good and cheap! Ü

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eynjel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Only stayed here for a night, but wish we could've stayed longer. The staff was very accommodating to our needs. We requested wifi in the room and received a wifi hotspot, free of charge. And since we had to leave the hotel by 4:30am to catch our flight, they offered to provide us breakfast in takeaway bags, also free of charge. The room was clean and very spacious (included a kitchenette with sink, microwave, fridge, water boiler), bed was comfortable, and bathroom was large.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mandaue
0.9 mi away
Andy Hotel
Andy Hotel
#4 of 13 in Mandaue
83 reviews
0.7 mi away
BIG Hotel
BIG Hotel
#1 of 13 in Mandaue
99 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Orchard Cebu Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Copenhagen Residences
Copenhagen Residences
#5 of 13 in Mandaue
26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Leope Hotel
Leope Hotel
#6 of 13 in Mandaue
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
Bayfront Hotel Cebu
#10 of 92 in Cebu City
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpa City Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpa City Suites

Address: Hernan Cortes corner F. Cabahug sts., Mandaue 6014, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Mandaue
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Mandaue
Price Range: £24 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpa City Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newest all-studio suites hotel. Strategically located at the border of the cities of Cebu City and Mandaue, we are very near major shopping malls (SM Mall, Ayala Mall and Terraces, Park Mall), Cebu Business Park and Asiatown IT Park, churches restaurants, Cebu International Convention Center, the seaport, white sand beaches and the international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Zenrooms, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpa City Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpa City Hotel Mandaue
Alpa City Suites Cebu Island/Mandaue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing