We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Heritance Ahungalla
Nearby Hotels
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Ranmenika(Ahungalla)
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Walauwa The Villa Ahungalla(Ahungalla)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa 42 by Tree(Ahungalla)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Villa Thotupola(Ahungalla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sea View Villa(Ahungalla)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (3,741)
Filter reviews
3,741 results
Traveller rating
2,672
687
253
69
60
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,672
687
253
69
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssri lankagreen poolluxury roommain poolbeautiful hotelmain restaurantgeoffrey bawafive star hotelinfinity poolrelaxing holidaylovely beachspecial thanksbuffet restaurantrestaurant staffour honeymoonhalf boardsea view
Filter
Updating list...
2,708 - 2,713 of 3,741 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2013

My partner and I had the most excellent and enjoyable stay at the Heritance Ahungalla.What makes this hotel special is its staff and the food.This hotel really understands the meaning of customer service. We stayed in this beautiful hotel, maintained fantastically, for 20 nights and every day we were greeted with beautiful smiling faces, the staff had the "yes I can do" attitude and made us feel like home.Every day was a special day due the staff and their incredible friendly manner,from breakfast to pool & bar,dinner and houskeeping staff and chefs, we were spoiled by their attentiveness and pure kindness, The food is out of this world,the variety of dishes on the buffet,the freshness of the ingredients,the presentation and the taste was outstanding,every dish tasted like heaven.To our dearest Kusum,Anushka,Jananjaya,Nelka and Aeysha in the restaurant,Madhu,Puspakumara,Waruna,Indika and Lakshitha at the pool bar,Thilina in housekeeping and Rukshan and his chefs, thank you all from the bottom of our hearts for this unforgettable stay.We truly appreciated your endeavours to make our long stay the best we ever had and for that we salute to you all and to the management for treating their staff well.In sum we highly recommend the Heritance Ahungalla to all you travellers out there,there are no worlds to describe it just go and experience it yourself.Thank you again and see you soon. Yours sincerely Izra Mannan and Frank Herrenbrueck

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I trust that you spent a dream holiday with Heritance Ahungalla last November, 2012. Thank you for selecting our Beach Haven as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking your valuable time and the trouble to make a superb comment about our hotel, our staff, our food and even taking time to mention individuals who have excelled in their services. We will pass down your comments to all our staff. We appreciate your gesture very much. We consider it our privilege to have had the opportunity of looking after you both and we invite you to consider Heritance Ahungalla as your home away from home. Please come back to us whenever you feel the need to relax yourselves . We are looking forward to having you with us soon. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I love the hotel, beach and food at Heritance Ahungalle. As you walk into the hotel, the view is amazing... you see the pool and then the beach.. It's impossible to explain you just need to see it. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and greet you with a massive, welcoming smile :) The rooms are very nice and comfortable and the food is really amazing. The selection of food at lunch time is amazing!

If you don't want to laze by the pool, beach, or bar which is located close to the pool, there is a verandha which is also by the pool for anyone to chill out and do whatever they want. If i'm not mistaken there are one or two games available to help you happily pass the time.

The beach is sooooo soft and the sea is warm at all times and you can wade quite far in with the water being at your knee. :) Love it! Have gone there atleast 10-15 times and i still can't get enough!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are beautiful.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchess85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

We are indeed flattered that you have visited our hotel about 15 times and still crave to come back. Thank you so much for being such a wonderful family member of our Heritance Ahungalla. Indeed it is our privilege and pleasure to be of service to you. We hope that this special bond that you have bound with us will go stronger and stronger and you will consider our hotel as your second home where you can come down to relax and rejuvenate yourself whenever you feel you need a break. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment with such passion and love about our service and the hotel. We hope you will come back to us soon and are looking forward to having you back with us. Take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My wife and I would like to share our wonderful / memorable stay at Heritance Ahungalla during this short trip. We will definitely come back for a longer stay. The team of Sampath ,Gamini and Thusara took care of us so well that we felt we were being spoilt . As I told them in the service industry this is what make the difference. I believe Heritance brand should not expand too fast and special attention should be paid to training and succession planing not forgetting staff retention . A lot of respect should be given to old staff who have been hardworking and loyal which is something I could notice in this hotel organization . Congratulations and all the best wishes. Once again a big thank you for the reception at your hotel .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunil7118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination. We hope you had a dream vacation with us although it was for a short spell of time. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to comment about the experience that you had with us and also sharing with us your valuable ideas about the property and our staff. We have taken note of all the comments that you have made about expansion and succession plan and staff retention. We also quite agree with you about taking care of our senior staff and giving them prominence and reward for the valuable service and loyalty they have rendered to us. Thank you once again for all your comments which we will certainly take into consideration in the future. May we say that it was a pleasure to have had the opportunity to serve you and take care of you and your wife during your holiday and we are waiting for your return to our beach haven soon. Please give our love and regards to your wife. Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It's a wonderful place folks specially if you enjoy a great pool, a good spread of food with a choice to suit all types of palates, friendly and helpful staff not only to you but also to the children.
Our only hassle was the delay in getting the rooms organised though the booking was made a week or a few days before our arrival.(Mind you this was a FB booking.)
Once the rooms were given the unfriendly front desk staff or member of staff was so rude in asking for the rooms when it was time to leave.We were told that we could stay on till 5 or 6pm but to give up the rooms and to stay by the pool if we liked or anywhere else !!!Ha ha
It's a hotel! It's a holiday! It's your job to be hospitable.
Rooms are booked by people for comfort..a home away from home, if you took back a room or two and gave us the use of one room till we checked out at 5pm that would have been better.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the sea and the pool are the best.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination. We are also very thankful for the time and trouble you have taken to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. Your comment is taken up very positively and we are very concerned about your comments. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience that you may have had to undergo during your stay with us. However since you have not mentioned the room number and the date of your holiday we are unable to trace the staff member who dealt with you. If you were with us last weekend, the only reason that we could give you is the hotel was occupied 100% back to back. And most of our guests were demanding that we hand them over their booked rooms as soon as possible. Hope you would be kind enough to understand our situation. However we took up your comments at the Morning Meeting today and have called for explanations from the Front Office Department with regard to same. We will ensure that the particular staff member will be taken to task for bad handling of guests. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us because this will give us opportunity to see situations from the guests' point of view and take necessary measures to create a win win situation for all like the way you suggested. If the hotel was not full we would never ask guests to leave right on time because we are very flexible if situation permits us to be. Please accept our humble apologies and sincere thanks. We trust you would come back to us and give us another opportunity to take care of you again. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This was our first stop of our family vacation in Sri Lanka during the Christmas break in 2012. We had given the hotel a rooming list one month prior to coming to Sri Lanka and they screwed up royally with the rooms.

They had rooms all over the hotel on the second floor in both wings and it was very difficult for the family with 7 children in total to keep an eye on them as the rooms were almost 5 minutes walk from each other.

They also did not have the room types as we had requested (one month prior) given to us. Some of the couple were given twin beds and the extra beds which were requested were not given at all.

Food was very good here though. The property itself is a beautiful one with the pool and beahc so close to each other.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the main building facing the ocean and not the rooms in the left or right wings which sometimes have no view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandmaster82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for selecting Heritance Ahungalla to spend your Christmas Vacation. We are also very thankful for the comments you have made about the hotel and your experiences on the trip advisor. Thank you for bringing to our notice the bad experience you had to face with regard to your rooms. We have taken this matter up with our Front Office Manager immediately. After enquiring from him with regard to your comment, he informed us as follows. Apparently your coordinator has requested the following facilities as important:

* Early checking in ( you checked in before the normal checking time as per your request)

* To ensure that the whole group is in one floor ( we allocated all rooms in first floor - three / two rooms together as per availability. It has not been specifically requested by your agent that all 7 rooms should be together. Also your agent was satisfied with our allocation.

* With regard to twin beds being given, the majority of our rooms consist of twin beds. If a guest makes a request for a double bed we certainly will oblige first come first serve basis but in your case this request has not been made.

However we are very sorry that you had to even undergo the slightest discomfort during your holiday. We hope you understand our position from our explanations. Despite this, we trust you had a good time with us with all our festive arrangements and hope that you would come back again so that we can accommodate all your requests next time. Thank you once again for being with us and commenting about us. Please keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews