We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed at the Heritance ahungalla for 7 nights and could not have asked for a more perfect stay. The hotel and grounds are stunning and the staff are the nicest, friendliest, most helpful people I have met. Especially Niroshan who cleaned our room and left us amazing towel animals. Food was outstanding every day and the restaurant staff were attentive and always went out of their way to make you feel special. Rooms were simply decorated and tasteful which makes them relaxing. I cannot wait until I can come back to this country, this hotel and the hospitality you find here

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckyboop28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience. We are delighted about the comments you have made about the property, our staff food and other facilities. Please know that it is an immense pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make you relax at our home. We are delighted to know that you will come back to our hotel on your next trip to Sri Lanka. Please keep us also up dated when you make your holiday plans so that we can assist you from here. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,664)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,330 of 3,664 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

stayed here last week for six nights last week everything is superb lovely rooms fantastic staff made us very welcome and nothing was to much trouble, pools, beach etc all gorgeous, food was superb we mostly ate at the mustard cafe which was our favourite but all were good ,did some trips also river safari is worth going on and went to galle on the train from the local station all in all a very good well run hotel a credit to the staff and sri lanka

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 759miked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share a review of your holiday experience with us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive comments and are very happy to know that you had a great holiday with us. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday. Please keep us up dated when you make your next holiday plan to Sri Lanka. It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back at our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Well clean hotel with greet full housekeeping staff. Also nice lobby area with straight pool and sea view. Housekeeping EPA always keep in touch with us. Great service. I love to be at bar area in the evening time. Superb bar in down south. I love this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 460kismet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. we are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to us for another spell of great holiday with us .Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

This hotel was booked following recommendations. The booking process was not straightforward but we were very pleased with the service we received, once we arrived. Check in was smooth and friendly and the service as a whole was very good. Beautiful surroundings to include a large pool with the beach just beyond. Total relaxation! Food was good and the choice was great too. Will have no hesitation booking this hotel again and recommending to friends.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, our staff and the service. Please know that we consider it a pleasure to have had the opportunity to look after you and give you a memorable holiday experience. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We had come from Colombo via Dambulla and Kandy to stay at the highly recommended Heritance Ahungalla in Galle. No disappointment here. Wonderful impression when you arrive and the sea lies just beyond the pool through the lobby. Much has been said about the genius of architect, Geoffrey Barwa. The building is beautifully designed and a pleasure to be in and to look at. The rooms are stylish, comfortable and well maintained. Staff are extremely friendly, happy, attentive and keep smiling even when dealing with large groups of demanding, ill mannered tour groups. Food is good. Beach is clean and well patrolled. (important because of the very strong rip) Huge pool. Lots of activities. In all, a great place for a relaxing holiday and a base to explore the surrounding cultural sites. OH.....don't forget....the Heritance has the BEST TOILET PAPER IN THE WORLD!!

Room Tip: Clever design means all good views from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very pleased with your positive comments. We hope you will come back to our hotel soon. Until then take care and keep in touch

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived at the Heritance Ahungalla following a week's tour of the cultural triangle so were ready for the relaxing part of our holiday.
We were given a very warm welcome and pleasant check in experience by being offered a refreshing drink and relaxing as the check in was conducted. Then we were shown to our room which was very modern and beautifully appointed - no bath but excellent shower as well as the other high quality fittings. The room was large with a spacious balcony offering views of the main pool and sea. Each day the room was attended to at least twice by the cleaning team who added delightful touches such as flowers on the bed and beautiful designs created by folding towels into swans etc.
The food was very good with a wide choice of mouth-watering dishes every day and the staff were so friendly and warm - sincere smiles greeted us everywhere. They seemed to be proud of their hotel and took great pride in their work at all levels. This included the pool attendants who would do all they could to ensure all guests were quickly provided with towels etc.
The only downside was not being able to walk onto the beach without being accosted by a swarm of touts - not the hotel's responsibility as the beach is a public area, but I thought it might be an idea for the hotel to engage with the touts and perhaps educate them to the buying behaviours of European tourists - we are far less likely to purchase items or services if we feel in anyway 'hounded' into it. Perhaps the touts could be encouraged to have a bazaar style set up on the beach where I am sure tourists would actively visit and buy. Just a thought, but otherwise, a great stay, great staff and an overall wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pentland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and thank you very much also for the time and trouble you have taken to post a review on your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the comments you have made about us, our services. Please know that it gives us immense pleasure to know that our guests have enjoyed their stay and have left our hotel happy and satisfied. Your comments about the beach agents have been noted by us. We have on various occasions educated these beach agents on how they should handle the foreign traveller. We are still working on a plan to bring about a solution for this problem and hopefully we will be able to do so soon. Perhaps on your next return to our hotel this situation might be improved. Our difficulty in bringing a immediate solution is because they are the villagers and the beach is not the private property. However, we assure you that we will try to the end to bring a amicable solution for this problem. We hope you will come back to our hotel soon and will keep us up dated when you make your plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We went to heritance for a weekend get away. We booked in to a standard room, and they were nice enough to upgrade us to a luxury suite. In terms of dining, we felt that the starters were great, but the main course was not that great.
The service was exceptional, though the dinning area was full and very busy, there was always a waiter around to serve us.
Its a great comfortable hotel, with exceptional service.

Room Tip: The walk to the dining areas is quiet abit, so it might not work out for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charith_atu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heritance A, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience with photographs on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your comments. However we have noted the comments you have made about the main course and I have already up dated my Executive Chef about it. He will check on this immediately and see how best we could improve on this. Thank you very much for bringing this to our notice. We trust you will visit us again soon to experience another spell of great holiday at our hotel. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 29 in Hikkaduwa
637 reviews
21.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 26 in Galle
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: £92 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Sunspot Tours, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing