We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you are looking to chill out this is the place to stay, although make sure driver takes you on new road to get there from airport, two & half hours!
Staff very friendly & attentive, plenty of food choices, lovely pool but wild seas not brilliant for swimming in.
We really enjoyed the relaxation, not many English people!
Spa worth visiting, grounds & public areas well maintained, lovely views from rooms.

Room Tip: I think they all have pool or sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatrinaGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advice. We are delighted to know that you had a great stay with us enjoying the hotel and the facilities. We consider it a privilege to have had the opportunity to take care of you and make your holiday relaxing and comfortable. We hope you will come back to Sri Lanka for your next holiday too and stay with us. Please keep us up- dated when you make your holiday plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,248 - 2,254 of 3,577 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Our stay was very enjoyable and relaxing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Our luxury suite was excellent and we have no complaints with the quality of this accommodation once inside.
Overall the quality of service and facilities were very good. However, two areas that need to be improved are: i) The drab and poor condition of the décor of the walkways leading to the bedrooms and the condition of many of the bedroom doors need to be improved to meet the standard expected of a top quality hotel.
ii) Although service was excellent overall we noticed that used plates and empty bottles from room service were left outside rooms for two days before being removed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to share your experience of your holiday with us. We are very pleased with the positive comments that you had made about our hotel, food and staff and the service,. However we are concerned about the clearance not being done immediately and I have up dated my F&B Manager about this. We will ensure that this will be taken care of and will never happen again in the future. We are happy to know that you had a great holiday with us. Hope you will come back for another spell of holiday. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hi went here for just over 2 weeks for our honeymoon and have to say it was the best holiday we could have possibly asked for!! on arrival we instantly felt welcome at this hotel! We only had bed and breakfast so had to buy our evening meals. We are vegetarian and explained to the staff that there inst much vegetarian food on here that we like! 10 minutes later the head chef came out to speak to us about what sort of food we would like, 1 hour later we had out own personal menu with 10 vegetarian dishes to chose from. we got to use that menu for the whole stay and when I say the food was amazing!! wow it was amazing! out of 16 days, we stayed within the resort for 14 of the days, didnt feel the need to leave. the water ball games at 11am were really fun! feeding and going on the horse ride was great. Spa was really good! the days we did leave, we went to goal which is a near by town one day and we had a really good time. the other day we went to a few different places but I would really recommend the piniwala elephant sanctuary!the best part is went you walk with them to the lake where they have free play time, a truly amazing experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavesh-Shivani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting as your destination of romance for your Honeymoon. First of all let me take this opportunity to wish both of you a very happy wedded life. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience with us. We are extremely happy about the comments you have made about the hotel and our food. Please know that it was a privilege to have you both at our hotel during an important period of your life. We hope you will cherish this memory for the rest of your life. We trust you will come again to capture the romance at our hotel soon. Please let us know if you happen to make any holiday plans to Sri Lanka. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

It is our first trip to Sri-Lanka, but not the first trip to other country from Ukraine, that is why we have something to compare. We are in hotel Heritance Ahungalla, Deluxe Room on the first floor. During our 10 days we had nice time without rain. Tomorrow our last day in this country, we already saw everything and now we can objectively evaluate this hotel. The nature is wonderful here, beautiful ocean, many animals, so sweet fruits. The biggest plus in this hotel - people. Staff extra good, helpful and kind. I want to write about Thushara Gnanarathe - R&B Manager in Heritance. He is responsible for resto and bar. Food very good and so tasty! Service is perfect. But hotel is old, rooms need new life, tables in the rooms not new, bathroom is not modern. We saw many hotels and this one is not 5 stars, as for us. I think CEO of this hotel must update his hotel, rooms need nowadays breathing. And in conjunction with your ideal staff your hotel will be real 5 stars too. Thank you!

Room Tip: Try to choose room on the 2 or 3 floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ekaterina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor sharing your holiday experience at our hotel. We are very happy to know that you have made very positive comments about every thing except for the building and furniture. We have noted these comments with some concern and will definitely direct them to our Head Office. However thank you very much for bringing them to our notice. We hope that you will come back to our hotel once again despite your opinion about the building. We will definitely make it up to you with our service. Please let us know if you make any future plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

It is our second time at the hotel, you come to place twice only if it worth it.
This hotel absolutly desrve the title of best hotel in Sri Lanka!
I want to mention the great rooms, the beautiful view, freindly staff, and exellent,professional, and very special and delicious kitchen!
I recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malisov_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. we are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to us for another spell of great holiday with us .Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

During our 4 weeks we had really a very nice time a part from some rain in the evening.Beachfront hotel large and well kept property, Room confortable with everything you need, rooms a little too dark in the evening.Towels and bedsheet in perfect conditions, rooms very clean.Staff kind and helpful also in the 2 pools, the pool attendents were always ready to give you new towels and to help you to change place when necessary.The food in the main restaurant , usually self service, is various and abundant, of course You must like oriental food, not accordingly to european tast, but very spicy, ( not strong or pure fire,) just spicy as a matter of fact the majority of the guest are arabs, indians, and other asian countries.For us italian was OK. Good entertainment afternoon and evening, fire works, shows , music etc.Something special was the man playing flute in the morning at the main pool.What was not good at all, was the great quantity of russian, ukrain and soviet people, noisy,arrogant,impolite, mainly dressed with shorts, shirts withouth sleeves and sandals, and all this at the main restaurant. Also a great deal of small children were roaming shouting and screaming in the main restaurant sometimes . In a 5 star hotel this is not acceptable!!!!
In any case this hotel is good and advisable. bruno e marisella torino italia

Room Tip: upper floor the 3rd, but those not near the reception and restaurants are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bruno08081940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you very much for the time and trouble taken to post a review about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely touched and delighted by the comments you have made about us, our hotel, food and staff. Please know that it was a great pleasure to have you both at our hotel. We trust that you had a relaxing and rejuvenating holiday with us experiencing true Sri Lankan hospitality. We too enjoyed having you at our hotel and look forward to having you back if you come back to Sri Lanka. Please keep us informed if you make any plans to come back. Until then, please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

What can I say, this place is simply amazing, the staff are the most friendliest lovely people on the face of the earth, nothing is too much trouble, if something isnt to your taste the cooks will specially make something for you, I could not have felt more welcome or more like part of the big family that is Heritance Ahungalla. The rooms are relaxing, clean and tidy and are cleaned by lovely people leaving flowers or towel animals on the bed. The bathroom is lovely with a big rain shower head- fantastic hot water!!!!! The grounds and pool are kept up to a very high standard and you can always be assured of fluffy fresh towels when visiting the pool. The breakfast and dinners are buffet but they have two restaurants to choose from so variety isn't a problem - they also have dinners on the beach - very romantic and I would recommend it!!! Also free Wifi in rooms and everywhere on grounds. I stayed for 3 nights and only wished it could have been longer..... Only downside is beach touts trying to sell sarongs or trips - they can't come onto ground security chases them away but once you're on the beach you're fair game- be firm but polite and they leave you alone. But Heritance Ahungalla you are amazing I will be back to stay again!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinthewild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for the time and trouble you have taken to share a review regarding your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are highly motivated by your positive comments. It is a great pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had to undergo because of the beach agents, but I would like to assure you that we are working on a solution for this problem and hopefully we will be able to find a workable solution to this. We look forward to having you with us during your next holiday. Please keep us up dated when you make your holiday plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.7 mi away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#3 of 25 in Galle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: £81 - £432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Holiday Gems, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing