We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent and Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Its a beautiful place, but we missed the hotel coming because their was no sign going towards Colombo. So we had to drive back to get to the hotel. The rooms were good and spacious, but the TV has to be in a better angle as it wasn't facing the bed. The food was very good, and had a lot of variety to choose from. The toilets were big and clean, which was a great thing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was a bit rough but very good. We definitely will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted by your positive comments and star rating. However we have noted the small improvements that you have mentioned in your review and we will take immediate measures to rectify these areas. Thank you for brining them to our notice. We trust that you and your family left our home happy and relaxed. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel dueing your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when your plans are made. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,508
    614
    232
    65
    53
See reviews for
1,198
1,129
72
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

very clean, quiet place with super friendly staffs.
Breakfast and dinner superior. Lunch we did not take.
From our side a 100% recommandation.
If possible we would choose this Hotel again.
Never hade more friendly and polite staffs before

Room Tip: Better view at pool and ocean on 3th floor, But all rooms are quiet and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h_abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments and the star rating given by you. We hope you went home fully relaxed and rejuvenated after your holiday in Sri Lanka. Looking forward to having you back with us during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated if you make any plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Room= nice bed, good view nice balcony alot of ants though. Kind of a walk and no lift. Spacious. NO IRON.
Bathroom= overall good bathroom clean and we'll equipped.
Restaurant=
A La carte= expensive for pasta and one pasta looked freshly made other looked like it had been in the microwave and it was disgusting even the waiter said it wasn't good.But didn't care. Kind pushy for us to get drinks when we specified water 3 times. Food took 2 long and like I said quality was bad.
Buffet= nice buffet girl was good and since my wife didn't eat just wanted pineapple she said it was ok and let us just get pineapple and one buffet so she was friendly. Really good variety and service was good.
Breakfeast= breakfeast was ok. Only happy person was the one making our waffles this was April 27 by the way. He was answering our questions and was good at what he was doing always working.
Asked for late check out and got it til 2 thank you very much.
And also check out was the worst. Fyi always get an outside cab hotel gets you a cab. EXPENSIVE and not worth it. And waited 20 minutes for my bags to come down( the lift is only for them). Beach however is awesome just people trying to sell u things as soon as u put one foot out the hotel. Beach was empty so perfect only me my wife and like 2 other people. Awesome beach.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adalvasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience. Although you have made a lot of positive comments about the hotel, I am very concerned about the remark you have made about our staff. Whilst thanking you for bringing these shortcomings to our notice, I would like to sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience that was caused to you due to negligence of service from our service staff. I have immediately had a chat with my F&B Manager to trace the staff member who was on duty at the Coffee Shop last week-end (27th April,). We will definitely have a chat with the concerned staff member with regard to his attitude and service and will ensure that he will never repeat this type of mistakes again while on duty at Heritance Ahungalla. However I sincerely hope that this small mistake will not stop you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please keep us informed when you are coming again so that we can be ready to give you a warm welcome back and ensure that you and your wife will have a fantastic holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are not clean at all, I was waiting to see all type of animals but not mouses passing near the rooms.it smell really disgusting especially when u are in the breakfast and dinner and u don't have anything to eat even cheese is crispy because of the long time stay outside!
Don't hesitate to choose another hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback while on holiday. However we are extremely disappointed to note that your stay with us has not been quite like you envisaged it to be, due to many shortcomings pointed out by you. Whilst thanking you for bringing these to my knowledge please accept my humble apologies for any discomfort that you may have had to undergo due to these shortcomings. I have discussed your review with all my Department Heads and we will definitely look into all the areas that you have mentioned and will immediately rectify them. We hope that you would consider changing your opinion about our hotel and will visit us again and given us the opportunity to take care of you and ensure that you exceed your expectations during your next holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment you walk into this hotel, you can enjoy everything that is on offer. Service quality is exceptional, staff are well trained and are very courteous. Rooms are spacious and clean. Awesome food. I have been going this this hotel on and off for more that ten years and I never get sick of the place. Great hotel and great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your very positive comments and hope that you had a great stay with us. Please know that it is a pleasure to have had the opportunity of looking after you and your family. We trust that you would consider this as your dream location where you can have a relaxing and rejuvenating break from your busy schedules. Look forward to having you back with us soon. Please Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed here five nights at the end of January. It was a friendly welcoming place and we had a lovely relaxing time enjoying the sun sea and beach. Beautiful pool and sandy beach. I can't find a fault about this place.
All the food we had here was great and there are good selection of food everyday. A special thanks to the young chef Vikasitha who was very attentive and kind enough to cook me some Sri Lankan curries to my request.
We occupied room 335 and our room boy Priyantha was a polite chap and make sure the room was clean at all time.
We would highly recommend this hotel. A very welcoming place with friendly polite and attentive staff.

Room Tip: corner room on the upper floor over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanthi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and for taking time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor with photographs of our hotel. We are extremely delighted by the comments you have made about us and of the star rating you have given us. Please know that it was a great pleasure for us to have had the opportunity to take care of you both during your stay with us. We are so happy to know that you relaxed and left our home happy and satisfied. We hope you will come back to our hotel for your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you decide to come back so that we can be ready to welcome you both. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just came back from two weeks in HA.

This is a lovely hotel and we cannot add too much to the previous positive reviews but just would like to share some of the points that we think worth to be mentioned.

Location.

This is the most important thing that needs to be considered if you plan to choose this hotel. The thing is that it is unexpectedly isolated. Most of the beach side hotels in Sri Lanka (especially such big as HA) have a developed touristic infrastructure just outside their entrance doors - shops, travel agencies, restaurants, etc. HA is not the case. Here you can find only two restaurants on the beach and … that’s all. Needless to say that the prices for everything (from taxi to excursions) are the same or just a bit less than in the hotel. Just as an example we found out that ordering a room service dinner is cheaper than going to the restaurants. So, be prepared.
At the same time the good point is that the

Beach

is just perfect. Because the hotel is so isolated the whole huge shore line is used only by the guests. This is the advantage that cannot be underestimated.

Rooms

Rooms are Ok. Not bad but nothing special. We were staying in the luxury room on the second floor. All floors have all types of rooms, but the third floor is considered ‘special’ and costs some extra money. We asked for relocation to the third floor but were explained that we needed to pay a difference. As it was written in the other reviews only the third floor had a full sea view. The second and first have it only partial. This does not mean that the view is bad – no, you’ll be overlooking the big (really big) and nice (really nice) pool or picturesque garden with monkeys and varans .

Position

HA stands rather far away from the main touristic attractions of the central and southern Sri Lanka. If you want to see something you should expect to get up at 5 or 3 a.m. to spend a whole day in the car. The trip from the airport takes around 2.5-4 hours. When you negotiate with taxi it is advisable to make it clear from the very beginning that the price include highway fee. If you do not choose highway be ready to spend 4 hours in the permanent traffic jam on the local road.

Conclusion

Would I recommend this hotel? Yes, why not. It is well maintained, stylish and relaxing. If you like the beach relaxation, travel with a kid or just want to have a break after exploring the island HA might be a good option.

Would I come back? No, next time we’d rather choose some of the hotels on the south closer to Galle.

Room Tip: Try to get a suit in the right wing of the building. Suits are nice in HA
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wet_ezh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank also for taking the time and trouble to post a review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor and for sharing your thoughts with us. However we are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and relaxed yourselves before leaving our home. I am sure that you enjoyed our lovely pools and the delicious food prepared by our award winning chefs. We hope you will change your mind about coming back to our home once more and give us the opportunity to give you a lovely holiday experience that you will cherish always. Please let us know if you plan to come back so that we can be ready for you. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
601 reviews
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,233 reviews
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing