We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday at Heritance Ahunghalla”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Pilar de la Horadada, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holiday at Heritance Ahunghalla”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A beautiful location and a wonderful hotel for a relaxing holiday. We found the staff very attentive and nothing was too much trouble, with their infectious smiles you can´t help but feel at ease in this location. When we arrived and looked through the reception area and saw the beach we realised we had come to a special place and we were not disappointed during our stay. Great variety of food available from the daily buffet, although there are other restaurants to use or arrange an evening dinner on the beach. We would have no problems recommending this hotel to others and are looking forward to returning..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank WBA17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to post review of your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments you have made and the five star rating you have marked for us. Please know that it was our pleasure to have had you with us and take care of you during your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel for your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,519
    618
    233
    64
    54
See reviews for
1,204
1,135
72
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is the most difficult review I have written so far. The hotel has two parts – one is brilliant and another is terrible. Therefore I summed everything up and evaluated it as average.
Brilliant points:
Extensive, very clean beach with clean ocean water.
Fantastic pool area (two pools fit for any taste) with very good service.
Nice reception, pleasant and airy open lobby.
Beautiful grounds with veritable zoo: variety of birds, squirrels, shy langur monkeys, almost friendly molitors, etc.
Superb food both at evening and morning buffet.
Terrible points:
Rooms and bathrooms are outdated, dirty, smelly (sometimes smell of sewage is overwhelming) and ill-kept, some may be cockroachy. After one night I asked to change my room on the ground floor which totally awful to only slightly better on the first floor (at least with more light).
Housekeeping is poor: rooms are not cleaned until very late and then, several hours later, in the evening there comes house keeping again for god knows what reason. Also in the dining area at one point the floor was slippery because of spilt fat and remained so for at least two days.
Hotel spa prices are more than exorbitant, go for massage to the village.
Beware when dealing in cash: bad exchange rate (and different than told at the reception) the cashier cheats (tried to swindle me and one of our group too), so count your money carefully.
Even when in the hotel grounds (and especially on beach) you are periodically accosted by touts, seller of various goods, tuk tuk drivers, etc. If you leave the grounds and go to the village you are immediately swarmed with “helpers” who tussle between themselves and finally you will have one fixed “leach” who will follow all the time offering all kinds of goods and services.
So, if you are indifferent to the room you sleep in, the hotel is perfectly all right, even great. But otherwise consider other possibilities.

Room Tip: Never take the rooms on the ground floor unless they open direct to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback while on holiday at Heritance Ahungalla. Whilst being very disappointed about the comments that you have made, we are also happy to note that there are certain areas of our hotel that you have appreciated and enjoyed. I am extremely sorry to note that your stay with us has not been quite like you envisaged it to be, due to the facts mentioned by you in your review. First of all thank you for taking the time to share them with us and keeping us informed of them. I am truly sorry that these few shortcomings have spoiled your much awaited holiday. I have personally looked into all the areas that you have mentioned in your review and have spoken with my Rooms Division Manager regarding the cleanliness of the rooms. We have immediately put the room in question out of order to do a thorough cleaning and we have done a good clean up now. I am extremely sorry with regard to the inconvenience that you had to suffer due to all these shortcomings. Your comment about the transactions at the Cashier has been noted by me and I have up dated my Finance Manager to check on the cashiers on how they deal with our guests. Thank you for bringing this to our notice.

We take great pride in providing our guests with exceptional service experiences and we truly apologize for not being able to deliver on this promise. Nothing is more important to us than regaining your trust and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at Heritance Ahungalla in the near future and provide you with a positive Heritance Ahungalla experience.

Until we see you back in Heritance Ahungalla take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Its a beautiful place, but we missed the hotel coming because their was no sign going towards Colombo. So we had to drive back to get to the hotel. The rooms were good and spacious, but the TV has to be in a better angle as it wasn't facing the bed. The food was very good, and had a lot of variety to choose from. The toilets were big and clean, which was a great thing. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach was a bit rough but very good. We definitely will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natasha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are extremely delighted by your positive comments and star rating. However we have noted the small improvements that you have mentioned in your review and we will take immediate measures to rectify these areas. Thank you for brining them to our notice. We trust that you and your family left our home happy and relaxed. We look forward to welcoming you back at the hotel dueing your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when your plans are made. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

very clean, quiet place with super friendly staffs.
Breakfast and dinner superior. Lunch we did not take.
From our side a 100% recommandation.
If possible we would choose this Hotel again.
Never hade more friendly and polite staffs before

Room Tip: Better view at pool and ocean on 3th floor, But all rooms are quiet and good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h_abraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive comments and the star rating given by you. We hope you went home fully relaxed and rejuvenated after your holiday in Sri Lanka. Looking forward to having you back with us during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated if you make any plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Room= nice bed, good view nice balcony alot of ants though. Kind of a walk and no lift. Spacious. NO IRON.
Bathroom= overall good bathroom clean and we'll equipped.
Restaurant=
A La carte= expensive for pasta and one pasta looked freshly made other looked like it had been in the microwave and it was disgusting even the waiter said it wasn't good.But didn't care. Kind pushy for us to get drinks when we specified water 3 times. Food took 2 long and like I said quality was bad.
Buffet= nice buffet girl was good and since my wife didn't eat just wanted pineapple she said it was ok and let us just get pineapple and one buffet so she was friendly. Really good variety and service was good.
Breakfeast= breakfeast was ok. Only happy person was the one making our waffles this was April 27 by the way. He was answering our questions and was good at what he was doing always working.
Asked for late check out and got it til 2 thank you very much.
And also check out was the worst. Fyi always get an outside cab hotel gets you a cab. EXPENSIVE and not worth it. And waited 20 minutes for my bags to come down( the lift is only for them). Beach however is awesome just people trying to sell u things as soon as u put one foot out the hotel. Beach was empty so perfect only me my wife and like 2 other people. Awesome beach.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adalvasquez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to share with us your holiday experience. Although you have made a lot of positive comments about the hotel, I am very concerned about the remark you have made about our staff. Whilst thanking you for bringing these shortcomings to our notice, I would like to sincerely apologise to you for the inconvenience that was caused to you due to negligence of service from our service staff. I have immediately had a chat with my F&B Manager to trace the staff member who was on duty at the Coffee Shop last week-end (27th April,). We will definitely have a chat with the concerned staff member with regard to his attitude and service and will ensure that he will never repeat this type of mistakes again while on duty at Heritance Ahungalla. However I sincerely hope that this small mistake will not stop you from visiting us again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please keep us informed when you are coming again so that we can be ready to give you a warm welcome back and ensure that you and your wife will have a fantastic holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are not clean at all, I was waiting to see all type of animals but not mouses passing near the rooms.it smell really disgusting especially when u are in the breakfast and dinner and u don't have anything to eat even cheese is crispy because of the long time stay outside!
Don't hesitate to choose another hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matouu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your feedback while on holiday. However we are extremely disappointed to note that your stay with us has not been quite like you envisaged it to be, due to many shortcomings pointed out by you. Whilst thanking you for bringing these to my knowledge please accept my humble apologies for any discomfort that you may have had to undergo due to these shortcomings. I have discussed your review with all my Department Heads and we will definitely look into all the areas that you have mentioned and will immediately rectify them. We hope that you would consider changing your opinion about our hotel and will visit us again and given us the opportunity to take care of you and ensure that you exceed your expectations during your next holiday with us. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

From the moment you walk into this hotel, you can enjoy everything that is on offer. Service quality is exceptional, staff are well trained and are very courteous. Rooms are spacious and clean. Awesome food. I have been going this this hotel on and off for more that ten years and I never get sick of the place. Great hotel and great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as you holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see your very positive comments and hope that you had a great stay with us. Please know that it is a pleasure to have had the opportunity of looking after you and your family. We trust that you would consider this as your dream location where you can have a relaxing and rejuvenating break from your busy schedules. Look forward to having you back with us soon. Please Keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#2 of 11 in Kalutara
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Property: Heritance Ahungalla
Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing