We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritance Ahungalla
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights with my husband, my one year old and my four year old in August.

This is a lovely hotel, well maintained with great staff.

Everyone was very helpful and considerate especially as I spent most of my time running after my one year old.

The only let down for us was that there wasnt a kids pool - my son could only stand up on the steps of the pool which meant we were constantly on guard.

The close proximity of the beach was beautiful so the kids enjoyed the playing in the sand.

The buffet was good - there was a different choice every night. For lunch we ate at the pool bar which i enjoyed more.

There is a very small kids club room so the kids spent a little time colouring.

I would recommend this hotel for older families or couple - purely based on the pool depth.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rushnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are happy to note that you are extremely happy about the experience you received at our hotel. we are very pleased and motivated by your comments and trust that you would come back to us for another spell of great holiday with us .Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,519)
There are newer reviews for Heritance Ahungalla
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,034 - 2,040 of 3,519 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I selected heritance as our vacation spot to celebrate our anniversary along with our kids.. having kids who are 2 1/2 & 1 1/2 is usually not so relaxing :) but the staff at the hotel made it easier for us. . There was a 'kids club' activity planned out on Saturday which was quite exciting. .. the f&b staff inquired if any special food should be made for the little one. . Little gestures like these made us feel welcome... all in all we had an awesome time and many thanks to the GM and staff at heritance.. we would definitely recommend it to anyone and we will be there next year as well... :)

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoushka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the very positive remarks you have made about the hotel, rooms and our staff. Whilst being happy about the fact that you have commented positively . Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We hope you will come back soon for another spell of holiday with us. When you decide to come back please keep us informed so that we can welcome you back to our home. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed here only one night with my family. Nice hotel for a beach holiday and unfortunately we were there during the monsoon period. Our room was 158 and it is a huge room in the corner , room was very clean , food was average. They have super friendly staff.
Normaly they organize fire show in Saturday night and I enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very large
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ridl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about your holiday experience on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the star rating that you have given us and are very glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you will come back to our hotel with your family during your next holiday too. Please keep us up dated when you make your plans. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Last month i visited to The Heritance yet again for the 3rd time which has been superb. Staff were very warm and friendly as always & they did everything they could do to make sure my stay was a relaxing and enjoyable one. Heritance is definitely a home away from home & you feel more comfortable as you do in your own home. The service was outstanding & i enjoyed every minute of my stay. Apart from that tasty food, spotless clean room & private swimming pool...list goes on & on. Thanks for making my stay memorable :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Indika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the Star rating you have given us and the very positive comments you have made about us. Please know it was a pleasure taking care of you. We are truly happy to know that you had a relaxing and happy holiday with us. Hope you will return back to our home for your next holiday too. Please keep us informed if you make your plans to visit Heritance Ahungalla again. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

The only thing about that hotel that I did not like was the fact that I had to leave.we were lucky to have a beautiful room with a view. The pool was nice and the ocean looked beautiful. The sandy beach was enjoyable. Staff members were polite. The food was delicious

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rami I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the Star rating you have given us and the very positive comments you have made about us. Please know it was a pleasure taking care of you. We are truly happy to know that you had a relaxing and happy holiday with us. Hope you will return back to our home for your next holiday too. Please keep us informed if you make your plans to visit Heritance Ahungalla again. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We visited with some friends on 17th for a night's stay. We had to wait a while to check in because a lot of people were checking out as we got in. But the hotel made up for the delay by allowing us to check out late.The rooms are pleasant and comfortable with a nice view. But I had specifically asked for 2 rooms with king sized beds but were given a room with two twin beds pushed together and one room with a king bed. Not sure what happened but we didn't make a fuss.

The guests- only swimming pool + hot tub is a great feature and allowed us to spend some time in the water well away from the crowds.

The food was great with a good variety but the crowds were big at breakfast. We arrived a bit late but had to sit in the non-AC area because the main room was full of families. Perhaps a separate family area where bustling/running/screaming/crying kids won't annoy the rest of us would be a great idea :)

We had a problem checking out as the person who was sent to check the minibar in one of our rooms claimed that 4 bottles of liquor was consumed when we didn't even touch them. We couldn't help but laugh as the cashier gentleman recited the list - "Scotch, Cognac, Vodka and Rum". But once we assured them that we didn't consume the liquor, they wrote it off so we didn't have to pay for it. Perhaps the management should assign more thorough staff to check the minibar upon check out. We were told by the cashier gentleman that the previous occupants in the room may have drunk the liquor and the staff didn't check properly. Yikes!

Despite a few snags, it was a comfortable stay! I'd recommend this to others.

Room Tip: Verify the type of bed at the front desk when you check in!!!
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination and thank you for taking the time and trouble to up date us on your holiday experience. First of all let me very sincerely apologies to you for the inconvenience that you had to go through at our hotel during your holiday with us. Whilst being happy about the fact that you have commented positively about our food,Rooms & pools, we are concerned about the remarks you have made about mini bar check. Thank you for bringing them to our notice. Whilst appreciating your comments we trust that they will not put you off in visiting us again .Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. and You have given us the opportunity to improve ourselves. Hope to seeing you soon again at our hotel. Until then please take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel has a wonderful location right next to the beach. Adjacent to the spacious lobby there is a huge Infinity pool and just beyond that the beach starts. From the moment you enter the gate, the grounds itself are great. The hotel has two pools - one of them has a a Jacuzzi. nearby. Rooms are spacious and well appointed with small patio opening onto the garden. On Saturday nights there is a special poolside cultural show which starts at 9.30 pm - we were lucky to be able to catch it. What sets apart was the service - very friendly,courteous and warm. Somehow our special request information which was confirmed by our travel agent had not reached the hotel - but the senior front office executive immediately assured us that next day when the offices were open he would get it sorted out and he kept telling us that we should concentrate on on enjoying our stay . And true to his word , next morning we got confirmation from him that it is sorted out. Even the hotel General manager (Mr. Reehan) was very friendly and keen to listen to our suggestions.And introduced us to other key staff. The highlight of our trip was that the Sri Lanka and Pakistan cricket teams were staying there - so we got see first hand the special welcome function put up for the teams. Food was also good - on our request the restaurant even made special Sri lankan vegetarian dishes for us.
The only minor improvement I would suggest to the hotel is to improve the brightness of the lighting in the bathrooms.
Overall an excellent beach hotel for a relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with sea view Ground floor rooms are easier if you want to come in from the beach and...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Srini-Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahungalla_Heritance, General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for selecting Heritance Ahungalla as your holiday destination. Thank you also for taking the time and trouble to comment about us on the Trip Advisor. We are delighted by the Star rating you have given us and the very positive comments you have made about us. Please know it was a pleasure taking care of you and your family. We are truly happy to know that you had a relaxing and happy holiday with us. Hope you will return back to our home for your next holiday too. Please keep us informed if you make your plans to visit Heritance Ahungalla again. Until then take care and keep in touch.

Yours Sincere Refhan Razeen, Executive General Manager at Heritance Ahungalla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ahungalla
8.7 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
7.6 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
16.6 mi away
Aditya
Aditya
#1 of 27 in Hikkaduwa
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Shinagawa Beach by Asia Leisure
21.5 mi away
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
Royal Palms Beach Hotel
#3 of 11 in Kalutara
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritance Ahungalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritance Ahungalla

Address: Galle Road, Ahungalla 54041, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Ahungalla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ahungalla
Price Range: £66 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritance Ahungalla 4.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a beach hotel where style and substance mix like a classic cocktail. Just as the turquoise infinity pool seems to blend into the ultramarine Indian Ocean, award-winning cuisine fuses the best of east and west. Welcome to Heritance Ahungalla, where we weave a little magic into your holiday memories while promising you the finest hospitality and best luxury services among Sri Lanka beach hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Sunspot Tours, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritance Ahungalla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritance Ahungalla Hotel Ahungalla
Ahungalla Heritance Hotel
Heritance Hotel Ahungalla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing