We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure and stunning experience”
Review of Borderlands

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borderlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I spent two awesome days in Borderlands, enjoying the rafting, the canyoning and a nice walk around the area. The camp is perfectly located in the middle of an incredible place and the extraordinary staff help making the experience unforgettable.
The activities offered by Borderlands provide a really fun time and also the possibility of getting involved in the amazing landscape and nature of Sri Lanka.
The sounds of the jungle, the wonderful views, the fun activities, the friendly staff...this is definitely a TO DO in Sri Lanka.
Thanks to everyone in the camp, it is always a pleasure to share a smile during a nice breakfast, followed by great activities led by a good team.

I loved the experience in Borderands and I strongly recomend it. Much fun and much adventure for everyone, families, young travelers, group of friends, business trips... Everyone could find hundreds of reasons to enjoy Borderlands.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EV000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Enriqueta V,

Wow! Thank you for such a flattering review! We’re thrilled you had such a lovely time and got to enjoy more activities. We especially like your description, “the sounds of the jungle, the wonderful views, the fun activities, the friendly staff,” and “everyone could find hundreds of reasons to enjoy Borderlands.” We hope to see you again in the near future!

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

As group of seven with kids of 9, 11, 13 and 13 and three adults, we had a fantastic day with Borderlands. We knew in advance that the 9 year old could not go white water rafting so she and her mother hung out while the rest of us did the rafting. It was a fun introduction and left all of us ready to try bigger rapids on another trip. The canyoning was fabulous. The guides were extremely careful to keep everyone safe but there were still opportunities for the most daring to do backflips off the rocks into deep pools. As we drifted down the river back to their base, the guides allowed the kids to play balancing games on the side of the boats which meant that most of us ended up in the water. Upon arrival at the base we were able to rinse off and change into dry clothes. The showers were basic but clean. If you decide to stay overnight the camping is not too rustic. There are covered platforms overlooking the river with tents on the platforms. It looked like their might be cots in the tents. The hot lunch was lovely. It was relatively simple and served family style but we enjoyed the various dishes and there was even something for the vegetarians. It was loads of fun and we would absolutely recommend this company to our friends (and already have)!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear P L,

Thank you for your lovely review! We’re extremely happy to hear the whole family enjoyed the trip, and we love the descriptions of canyoning and playing balancing games on the rafts. We’re glad the vegetarians enjoyed the meals as well, and we look forward to seeing you in the future “ready to try bigger rapids.”

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I spent two brilliant days with a large group of friends at Borderlands and we had a wonderful experience. We did abseiling down waterfalls, white water rafting and canyoning and enjoyed all three very much. The instructors were professional yet fun and the activities were exciting yet felt safe. The accomodation was great and all meals were delicious! I particularly loved the chill-out area at camp where we gathered to play games after dinner. I would definitely recommend a trip here for any adventure-seekers!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Fiona C,

We’re happy to hear you and your group enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review of the abseiling, white water rafting and canyoning, and the “delicious” food and accommodation side as well. We’re glad you had a good time chilling and playing games, and we hope to see you soon with more “adventure-seekers!”

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I attended a corporate outbound training program with Borderlands and I must say it has been one of the best experiences I have ever had. I wasn't much of an outdoor person to begin with but I guess my stay at Borderlands has changed my outlook on the great outdoors. I must thank the staff at Borderlands for their prompt and quality service. Special thanks to Wade, Roshan, Nirmal, Zerine, Mahesh, Akila, Candy, Kishok and everyone else whose names I don't recall; for making the stay and experience nothing less than AWESOME! Kudos guys. I'm looking forward for more adventures with you guys in the future with my friends. Thank you team Borderlands!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashaff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Ashaff H,

We’re glad you and your group enjoyed your program with us! Thank you for the review and it’s great to hear that you’ve changed your outlook on the great outdoors! We look forward to seeing you and your friends in the future.

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

99x Technology had our annual Adventure Training here, and it was nothing short of amazing. 2 days of brilliant activities that kept the adrenaline pumping, worked our minds, and allowed us to shine in something that is not our natural environment.
Planning with borderlands is also simple. Their friendly staff carried out professional presentations, and once the event was confirmed, carried out a pre session that kept calmed the to be participants of any fear they might have had.
Once the program started, things kept running smoothly. They're attention to safety was very notable, as our team saw some other groups doing the same activities with sub par equipment, and less gear that we had on... it made us feel glad to have chosen borderlands.
The activities we did included white water rafting, canyoning, and team building activities. All of these were done in 2 days with brilliant results.
The team that attended this training still talks about it.
Borderlands is definitely the best training provider for corporate training programs... and if you are a tourist, or an eco lover, their camp is situated in an amazing area facing the river. The sight which you wake up to leaves you speechless for a while. The food was brilliant, the tents were awesome, the lodge was amazing, and the activities will leave memories for all that attended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Shan U,

Thank you for your incredibly flattering review of us! Your description of the process from start to finish is so complimenting and we especially like to the description that “kept the adrenaline pumping, worked our minds, and allowed us to shine in something that is not our natural environment.” We’re glad to hear that the results were brilliant and everyone has memories from attending! We hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Our family (2 adults + 3 kids) went for half day activity of rafting and canyoning. We had wonderful day (probably the best one during our entire trip in Sri Lanka). The team was amazing: Very nice and helpful, flexible to make our time enjoyable (not easy with 5 years old girl). Everything ran better than expected and the equipment was in high quality. Also, we felt safe during the entire activity.
Last but not least, the lunch was great and was nice closure for the day

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Kobibl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Kobibl,

We’re happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for your review of your stay and we’re glad you and your family all had fun and enjoyed the lunch as well. We hope to see you again!

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Went for borderlands group team building exercise at the Welligama Bay resort. It was interactive, safe and LOADS OF FUN, very creative team building exercises as well as fun water sports with very well informed trained adventure sports assistants. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorderlandsL, Sales & Marketing at Borderlands, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Pamela P,

Thank you for your review! We’re thrilled to hear your and your group enjoyed the trip at Weligama Bay. We’re glad you liked the team building focus of the trip and the water adventure sports aspect as well! We hope to see you and your colleagues again in the future!

Best wishes,
The Borderlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitulgala hotels
1 mi away
Mountriver Hotel
Mountriver Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kitulgala
6 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 10 in Kitulgala
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rafters Retreat
Rafters Retreat
#2 of 17 in Kitulgala
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adventure Base Camp Kitulgala
1.8 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
4 mi away
Paradise Garden Resort
Paradise Garden Resort
#2 of 10 in Kitulgala
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borderlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borderlands

Address: Hatton Road, Kitulgala, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Kitulgala
Price Range: £64 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borderlands Adventure Eco-Lodge offers comfortable riverfront accommodation, in 4 tents and 11 cabanas (3 of which have en suite facilities) which are fully kitted with beds (which can be arranged from singles to doubles, with up to 5 beds able to fit in a family cabin) and have electricity throughout so guests can charge their laptops, phones and cameras. Each tent and cabana is located on a wooden platform with a private deck, with views overlooking the Kelani River and the surrounding mountains. All meals are served in The Long House, a great place to chill out at the end of the day. A full music system means guests can listen to their Ipods. Evening Movie Nights are offered, which is a great hit with kids. As well as offering accommodation, Borderlands runs white water rafting, canyoning, and white water and flat water kayaking activities from our ecolodge, and offers the largest number of sit-in and sit-on-top kayaks in Sri Lanka. Other activities include abseiling, hiking, biking and swimming. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing