We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sleeping in The jungle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafters Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafters Retreat
Poppel, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
“Sleeping in The jungle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Friendly personell, good local meals.
The hut you sleep in is really Nice, like you are Sleeping outdoor.
The shower is cold, but part of The experience.
We realy enjoyed our stay, relaxing and wild water rafting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    56
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
25
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is not a hotel or a guesthouse, its an ecolodge so you probably need to make sure you are that kind of person before you stay here but with that aside this is a one of a kind experience. We stayed in a tree-house pitched on a few stilts 6-7 feet above the ground with a great view looking at the trees and river. With that said there are no windows just some straw blinds which means you are going to have more than a few unwanted visitors through out your stay. Luckily there is a mosquito net to keep them out, sleep quality is not the best because of the narrow bed and noisy river. The bathroom is underneath the bedroom and you need to take a narrow staircase to access it, there is no hot water but you can still take a shower; the water is not too cold. The food and service here are great! Tasty buffet for dinner and many options with large portions including fresh fruit juice for breakfast. The owner Chenna and his wife are very friendly as are the rest of the staff that work here. My only gripe is that the internet is only available in the restaurant area and not in the rooms, an extender would be a nice addition so that guests could use the wifi under the net away from the mosquitoes and other pests. So in summary make sure you know what you are getting into before booking a room here and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migsawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Loved it. Cabin round a tree with crazy view of river. Any reviews you read that are negative re insects etc are written by people with zero experience of nature who have probably only ever slept in air con hotels on their hols. Of course if it is a bungalow built round a tree with open view of river then nature is close at hand. We had a firefly flying on our room one night which was a novelty. Rafting was excellent even for my youngest. Food good. Excellent for bird watching. One night might be sufficient for the experience but definitely go for it. We went canyoning with company just outside and to the right on main road and they were also excellent. Young guys but good English and we all went with kids aged 7, 9, and 11.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martynbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've done a good bit of eco-tent camping and cabin camping throughout Asia and thus thought we had a good feel for what to expect. While we definitely enjoyed our stay, it was a good bit rougher than we expected. I think a big disconnect for us was that most of our eco-lodge experiences had been beach-side and this was the first in the "jungle". The rafting was fabulous. The hikes were beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the place in practically ON the rapids ... the water is very noisy, but we loved that. All above said, the place just didn't feel clean and we all struggled a bit getting comfortable. If you are good with bugs everywhere, then you'll love the place. There really is a lot to love here, just make sure you set your expectations correctly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Do not miss out on this place!! Gorgeous place on the side of a mountain with a rushing river below where we went white-water rafting! The place is very eco-friendly, but well done and extremely relaxing. The owners suggested we go for a swim just below in the river and the natural jacuzzi was absolutely wonderful! Breakfast and dinner was included in our package and both meals were fantastic, and there was fresh fruit and fruit juice served both daysl! Served buffet style, local specialties but all was very delicious. The host was great, very relaxed but treated us as royalty and worked the rafting and meals around the guests needs. Great place for rafting as well-- overall wonderful! If you are traveling to Sri Lanka you won't want to miss it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went and did four really fun activities and ate lunch there both days. We were a group of 5. All the activities were great fun (as a cycling enthusiast I loved the biking but it is a biggish hill). The staff were so friendly and accomodating and just wanted us to have a great time. The food was the best I have had so far in Sri Lanka and the rice and curry lunch was the highlight. Sleeping out with one side open to the jungle was definitely an experience that I enjoyed although you have to be ok with ants and various insects being around. The bathrooms are the same with one side facing the river and partially open which is beautiful but sometimes various bugs make it there too so make sure you wear shoes in there at night!

Overall we got the whole weekend with more food than we could possibly desire and great guides and hotel staff for just under 22,000 Rs which we thought was great value for money! (We did go off season though so I am sure it get a bit more pricey at other times of the year!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remtres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

The location is just perfect on the side of the steep river banks with the sound of water passing over the rapids below. A rustic stay in a beautiful location. The huts are made well with timber and stone and do not intrude into the natural landscape or harm the views from the river. It is staying in nature which will always be a challenge for total cleanliness as the wind will bring in bugs and leaves but this is part of the charm of the place. The hut is generally open to the elements but has nets to keep the bugs from attacking while you sleep. A basic shower cut out of the stone with cool water is more than enough to wash off after rafting or hiking. The lovely owner suggested washing in the river - "the natural jacuzzi" and it was amazing! Can't beat the overall friendliness, the rafting, the location and the locals. Don't miss out - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitulgala
1.6 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kitulgala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.2 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
0.0 mi away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 5 in Kitulgala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Nawalapitiya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Garden Resort
Paradise Garden Resort
#3 of 5 in Kitulgala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
16.7 mi away
Lake Serenity Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafters Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafters Retreat

Property: Rafters Retreat
Address: Hilland Group, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kitulgala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rafters Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafters Retreat Hotel Kitulgala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing