We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very unique place to stay - highly recommended” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafters Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rafters Retreat
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very unique place to stay - highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August 14 and really enjoyed it.

As other people pointed out, this place is very much more an ecolodge / forest lodge and therefore anyone coming with the expectation of home comforts will be disappointed. However, that is definitely the appeal of the place. The huts are open to the trees and river, and therefore, yes, there may be bugs. The beds have good insect nets over them though so once you are safely tucked up you are safe!

We did rafting which was good and we were on the water for about an hour. Then the next day one of the guys took us up to some lovely pools up in the hills where we were able to swim and jump in etc. The scenery was spectacular!

Food on the terrace was very very good and we didn't go hungry. The terrace is a great place to eat, have a beer and read a book. The noise of the river below makes it extremely relaxing. Staff were extremely friendly and good to chat to.

Room Tip: The huts are very spread out along the river bank so it would be advisable to have one as close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    56
    19
    15
    4
See reviews for
25
54
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poppel, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

Friendly personell, good local meals.
The hut you sleep in is really Nice, like you are Sleeping outdoor.
The shower is cold, but part of The experience.
We realy enjoyed our stay, relaxing and wild water rafting

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is not a hotel or a guesthouse, its an ecolodge so you probably need to make sure you are that kind of person before you stay here but with that aside this is a one of a kind experience. We stayed in a tree-house pitched on a few stilts 6-7 feet above the ground with a great view looking at the trees and river. With that said there are no windows just some straw blinds which means you are going to have more than a few unwanted visitors through out your stay. Luckily there is a mosquito net to keep them out, sleep quality is not the best because of the narrow bed and noisy river. The bathroom is underneath the bedroom and you need to take a narrow staircase to access it, there is no hot water but you can still take a shower; the water is not too cold. The food and service here are great! Tasty buffet for dinner and many options with large portions including fresh fruit juice for breakfast. The owner Chenna and his wife are very friendly as are the rest of the staff that work here. My only gripe is that the internet is only available in the restaurant area and not in the rooms, an extender would be a nice addition so that guests could use the wifi under the net away from the mosquitoes and other pests. So in summary make sure you know what you are getting into before booking a room here and you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank migsawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Loved it. Cabin round a tree with crazy view of river. Any reviews you read that are negative re insects etc are written by people with zero experience of nature who have probably only ever slept in air con hotels on their hols. Of course if it is a bungalow built round a tree with open view of river then nature is close at hand. We had a firefly flying on our room one night which was a novelty. Rafting was excellent even for my youngest. Food good. Excellent for bird watching. One night might be sufficient for the experience but definitely go for it. We went canyoning with company just outside and to the right on main road and they were also excellent. Young guys but good English and we all went with kids aged 7, 9, and 11.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank martynbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've done a good bit of eco-tent camping and cabin camping throughout Asia and thus thought we had a good feel for what to expect. While we definitely enjoyed our stay, it was a good bit rougher than we expected. I think a big disconnect for us was that most of our eco-lodge experiences had been beach-side and this was the first in the "jungle". The rafting was fabulous. The hikes were beautiful. The beds were comfortable and the place in practically ON the rapids ... the water is very noisy, but we loved that. All above said, the place just didn't feel clean and we all struggled a bit getting comfortable. If you are good with bugs everywhere, then you'll love the place. There really is a lot to love here, just make sure you set your expectations correctly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lafbizguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Do not miss out on this place!! Gorgeous place on the side of a mountain with a rushing river below where we went white-water rafting! The place is very eco-friendly, but well done and extremely relaxing. The owners suggested we go for a swim just below in the river and the natural jacuzzi was absolutely wonderful! Breakfast and dinner was included in our package and both meals were fantastic, and there was fresh fruit and fruit juice served both daysl! Served buffet style, local specialties but all was very delicious. The host was great, very relaxed but treated us as royalty and worked the rafting and meals around the guests needs. Great place for rafting as well-- overall wonderful! If you are traveling to Sri Lanka you won't want to miss it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We went and did four really fun activities and ate lunch there both days. We were a group of 5. All the activities were great fun (as a cycling enthusiast I loved the biking but it is a biggish hill). The staff were so friendly and accomodating and just wanted us to have a great time. The food was the best I have had so far in Sri Lanka and the rice and curry lunch was the highlight. Sleeping out with one side open to the jungle was definitely an experience that I enjoyed although you have to be ok with ants and various insects being around. The bathrooms are the same with one side facing the river and partially open which is beautiful but sometimes various bugs make it there too so make sure you wear shoes in there at night!

Overall we got the whole weekend with more food than we could possibly desire and great guides and hotel staff for just under 22,000 Rs which we thought was great value for money! (We did go off season though so I am sure it get a bit more pricey at other times of the year!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remtres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitulgala
22.1 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.6 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 5 in Kitulgala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 5 in Kitulgala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Royal River Resort
Royal River Resort
#1 of 3 in Kitulgala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
The Tea Cottages Resort & Spa
#2 of 4 in Nawalapitiya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
5.4 mi away
Paradise Garden Resort
Paradise Garden Resort
#3 of 5 in Kitulgala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafters Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafters Retreat

Property: Rafters Retreat
Address: Hilland Group, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Kitulgala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rafters Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafters Retreat Hotel Kitulgala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing