We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms, friendly staff, overpriced food”
Review of Plantation Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good rooms, friendly staff, overpriced food”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

A bit expensive but the location is great fro going white water rafting (10m from the hotel). We stayed here for a night. Used the sink to wash our clothes and dried them with the help of the fan in the room.

Positive
* Clean and nice rooms
* Friendly staff
* Nice dining area
* Close to the white water rafting centers (They start 10 meters from the hotel, take you upstreams by car and then stops by stepping out of the raft on the hotel shore)

Negative
* A bit expensive
* Overpriced food that didn't really motivate the cost.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked it prior to your arrival try to get your driver to negotiate the price ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niklas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    40
    38
    17
    18
See reviews for
39
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early March.. The hotel is old style full of character. Everything worked fine for us and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Food was good but not exceptional. Situation of the restaurant by the river was fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

As the title says we had expansive views of the river from our veranda which had comfortable chairs for sitting and snoozing in. The room was clean and comfortable - especially the beds. The bathroom was of a good size. Colonial style decor befitting the plantation house approach.

Let down by very basic service provision, basic breakfast and expensive beer!!

OK for a night or 2.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colombo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

we stayed at plantation hotel for the weekend, hotel needs a lot of renovations but all in all we had a super time.
Room 10 (super deluxe) room was large and a normal size Bathroom, Tv gave us few problems if not everything else worked. Few times the power went off but within 2mts it came back.
view from the balcony was great and so peaceful we want to go back again.
Didn't like the stray Dogs walking about in the hotel.
Service was very good always with a smile...
Pool is small but the kids had a great time.
Food was Good. no srilankan breakfast you need to inform the day before if you want srilankan.

Room Tip: Take the super deluxe rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gracesummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Where to start? We arrived in the afternoon here for a one-night stay, our guide having done a deal with the hotel to get us a 'deluxe' room at about half price. All good so far...

Our room on the first floor (room 9) was big, if a bit tired, with a nice shared balcony looking over the river. Colonial style decor and interesting prints made it a nice room, however the fridge barely worked, neither did the air-con, and the ensuite bathroom may well have last been decorated back in the 1940's. But that's not the best bit...

All the 4 deluxe rooms are above the main restaurant and disco. When we arrived we saw they were setting up for a wedding homecoming party. We were told by the manager it would be finished at 5.30pm. We had pretty decent European-style food in the restaurant (no Sri Lankan option) and the party was still in full swing at 8.30pm. A few beers later we went to bed....however the music was so loud in our room - proper "you're-in-a-nightclub-next-to-the-bass-bins" loud - that we couldn't think never mind sleep. I went & asked the manager when the music was going off & was told "definitely finished in 15 minutes sir!"...this was 8.15pm. At 10pm when it got EVEN LOUDER I went back to be told by a 14 yr old boy on reception "the manager always goes home at 8.30pm sir!". So he was right, kind of!

This went on until about midnight until a MASSIVE blast shook the entire building - fireworks under the guest bedrooms apparently - which had everyone out of their rooms fearing a gas tank had exploded or something. Unbelievable. I had about 5 more run-ins with an increasing number of children that had been left in charge of he hotel until about 2am when it ended after the last karaoke singer collapsed in a puddle of whisky.

So... sounds pretty fair for a wedding party...just not under my "deluxe" room thanks. Next morning & lots of very disgruntled people. This is apparently a frequent occurrence - the hotel rents out the restaurant & disco for events and then lies to the poor suckers who've paid $$$ for rooms - even the guides were grumbling about it but there are very few hotels in Kitulgala and the Royal River Resort is owned by the same people.

This sprawling old hotel has a good location, decent food, and a Rolls Royce museum (really) however the rooms & decor are tired, stuff (like air-con) doesn't work and most importantly you may not get ANY sleep here at all. The management of the hotel is terrible..no wait, non-existent, and fobbing off guests a speciality. Don't stay if you can help it & if you do, get a room well away from the disco. Or ask if you can join the party ;)

Room Tip: DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES choose a deluxe room as they are above Sri Lanka's loudest disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl-UKdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitulgala hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is not a 5 star hotel but It does not advertise itself as such. We loved it. It is an old plantation owners house with magnificent views of the river and the white water rafters heading home. Try to book one of the rooms away from the lobby at the rear of the wedding reception centre. These are big spacious rooms beautifully furnished with old furniture and covered bed.They open out onto a huge balcony with views of the pool and river. The restaurant was overlooking the river and although it is not 5 star service the food was good and a welcome change from the buffet fare elsewhere. Try this hotel with an open mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peachie000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The rambling and slightly awkward architecture of the place would work to it's advantage if it was a bit more cheerful. The history revolves around the late proprietor and his wife who created this venue and to whom a small vintage car museum has now been dedicated on the site. We were there in the off-season so we had the place to ourselves for the night and as another reviewer remarked, the upstairs balcony rooms are a very pleasant place from which to sit & watch the river through the trees. The electrics, plumbing etc are indeed pretty grotty, so don't expect the toilet to flush properly or the bedside lights to work etc. Having said that, it is a quaint place to pass a few nights and the staff are friendly. Food is pretty average and strangely both restaurants had set all tables despite there only being 7 guests that we ever saw. Delight of the stay was sitting out on the balcony at night watching the fireflies in the trees.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are large and overlook river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayemyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kitulgala
0.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cinnamon Citadel Kandy
0.0 mi away
Hotel Thilanka
Hotel Thilanka
#11 of 55 in Kandy
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forest Edge
Forest Edge
#3 of 7 in Kitulgala
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal River Resort
Royal River Resort
#1 of 3 in Kitulgala
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 7 in Kitulgala
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hotel

Property: Plantation Hotel
Address: 250 Kalukohutenna, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing