We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again!”
Review of Plantation Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitulgala
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Plantation Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Plantation Hotel during our road trip to Kandy. we stayed there one night. The hotel situated by Kalani river, the location is good. We found this hotel online and the photos we saw in their website was looking good. however, it was a completely misleading situation. We were offered a room facing the river but to get there you have to pass very old looking two kitchens and very dirty walking path. when we entered to the room it was not what we imagine. The bathroom is very smelly and there is no air circulation. The person who took us to the room did not explained well about the room and the hotel as a result we had to spend time to find light switches/remote control/ ect before we leave for the lunch.

The room is itself very old and dirty looking. Cushions and armchair should be cleaned. food was horrible and very dry. If you need any room service you have to call them using your mobile or have to walk to the reception through kitchen and the dirty path.
We arranged rafting from the hotel but if you go out you can find it cheaper than the hotel. Hotel staff is not friendly but very curious to know whats happening in the inside of the room. If you are going with young girls or as a couple, you should not allow any room service to inside of your room and keep your doors locked properly.
Defiantly not recommending to go there. You can find some other decent place to stay that value what you pay for.
I see that they need good operational manager and a renovation.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thara-kodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    40
    37
    17
    17
See reviews for
37
47
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night only. The reason we chose this place was because our travel agent gave us two options either the tents at River resort or the room at plantation. Because f the inclusion of a bathroom here we chose this place. However as soon as we gt here we regretted by dinner we wanted to run. By breakfast we were out f here. The bedroom is all antiques and dirty! Three dead insects in the shower. With some renovation it would be an amazing place due to its structure.
The staff at the restaurant are extremely rude and ignorant. At lunch the place was full bcz the endpoint fr the whitewater rafting is here. By evening we realised us and another family were the only occupants here. Our neighbours complained about a lizard in their room.
Fr dinner I had spaghetti which was not very nice. Best and safest food here to eat is the fries!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatemajamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kitulgala hotels

Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night here while whitewater rafting in Kitulgala.First of all we enjoyed our stay here,quite relaxed and laid back and a super location to stay if you plan to do the whitewater rafting.Room was clean,TV worked fine as did the aircon.

The hotel itself is quite old and in serious need of renovating but is kinda quirky at the same time.Overpriced,room locks need to be replaced and pump in showers needs fixing to avoid someone getting badly scalded when waters goes from cold to boiling.
Staff were nice but could do with a proverbial kick up the behind to improve the service.

All in all I'd stay there again but only for a night and I'd be trying to negotiate a more reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niallgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a part of our bird-watching itinerary...had to wait for an hour for our rooms to get ready but I guess that was because we were checking in early...Otherwise this was the best place in our entire itinerary...to relax after a hard day of walking in the jungle...

Room Tip: Try getting rooms near the pool...facing the stream
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samir_Ovalekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel for lunch as part of a tour. It is billed as a 5 star designer hotel so we were expecting good things. The service was dreadful. We waited 30 mins for our food (sandwiches) and asked when they would be ready. A few minutes we were told. 2 more times of asking the food eventually appeared. 50 mins after ordering!! I had a toasted cheese sandwich which was like warm and tasteless. The accompanying chips were hard as it appeared they had been cooked more than once. Our request for a free drink to compensate for the service and food was ignored and our complaint fell on deaf ears. It was such a shame as the setting by the river was perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stay there for our honeymoon. It’s much quit, isolated place. Very good place for relax. Better to choose a room facing the river. Service wise I may not give good ranking. But the place will gives you kind of tropical holiday feeling.

Room Tip: Better to choose a room facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amila_Jaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Room 1 - super loud a/c, right beside reception so you could hear everyone's movements and discussions/reception phone etc. floors of room were filthy - black feet within 10 minutes in the room. Bathroom had a good few bugs and dirty floor.

Restaurant is in a good position by the river. Good dinner of devilled beef with rice and chicken curry. Service was extremely slow with both dinner and breakfast taking ages to arrive.

The hotel arranged the white water rafting for us which was great fun. Think we over payed by 5-10 pounds but was well worth it.

This place could be great with some renovation and effort. Would try elsewhere next time.

One tip though is to walk across the steel cables footbridge a few hundred yards upriver from the hotel and have a walk around the local village on the other side - highlight of our visit aside from the rafting.

Room Tip: Stay away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kitulgala hotels
0.0 mi away
Mountriver Hotel
Mountriver Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kitulgala
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmstone Retreat
Palmstone Retreat
#1 of 7 in Kitulgala
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Forest Edge
Forest Edge
#2 of 7 in Kitulgala
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rafters Retreat
Rafters Retreat
#2 of 11 in Kitulgala
139 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kithulgala Rest House
Kithulgala Rest House
#5 of 7 in Kitulgala
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kumbuk Sevena Adventure Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hotel

Property: Plantation Hotel
Address: 250 Kalukohutenna, Kitulgala 71720, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Sabaragamuwa Province > Kitulgala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kitulgala
Hotel Class:2 star — Plantation Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing