We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff and private location”
Review of King Fern Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #3 of 265 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nuwara Eliya itself is slightly shabby and underwhelming, but an interesting place architecturally to pass through. The surrounding countryside is spectacular and the real highlight; winding through the tea terraces, vegetable gardens and waterfalls.

Unfortunately the cold and rain hampered our hiking plans in June, though the guesthouse manager Lai was an invaluable fountain of knowledge (he speaks great English) and helped arrange a Plan B for us, including info about buses and taxis.

The guesthouse is walking distance to the town centre and street food, but is set back from the main bustle in a green, private and quiet setting.

Rooms are spacious and great value though a little damp, given the climate, with occasional power cuts (pretty common across Sri Lanka). Wifi signal was strong, and the window-filled lounge/dining area has great views to a private fern garden and stream. The place has heaps of character. On especially chilly nights the fire is roaring and there's a nice communal area with TV if you're feeling social.

You can eat here, but we opted for the street food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcass272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 505 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a great stay here at King Fern Cottage in Nuwara Eliya. Staff was okay but helpful with other bookings. The rooms and the lounge were really nice and comfortable. Very good option for this city. We also had dinner here, which was very good. We will defintetely come back here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed here for one night in May. After staying in not so great accommodation the night before, we had seen this guest house mentioned in our guide book and saw it had won lots of trip advisor reviews, so were hopeful of some nice accommodation. On arrival it turns out they had no space for our driver to stay (either that or our driver knew something we didn't and managed to get himself a nicer room elsewhere!) so he had to stay 1 km down the road. The place looked funky - all made out of wood and quite 'hippy'. The complex is a bit odd - all built on different levels. We had the middle height room to the right of the complex - they were refurbishing the room underneath us. Our room stank of damp which was a shame as it looked quite cosy - a superking double bed and a single bed. The bathroom was quite garish - dark blue tiles with a yellow toilet and sink - I quite liked it. Our mirror was broken and the bathroom shelf fell off when we put anything on it. Again the bathroom was a 'wet room' with no shower curtain.

The food was lovely in the restaurant and was the cheapest place we ate in on our trip - a coke was 80 rupees! Our waiter wasn't great at english so a few things got lost in translation. We had rice and curry which was again a lot of food which was lovely.

We didn't get a very good night sleep as everything was damp and clammy - it was horrible. The beds had blankets on them instead of sheets and they smelt of BO and damp - I don't think they'd been washed in a while. Getting to sleep was hard as you just felt very clammy and wet. The pillows smelt too - we put our towels over the pillows. On closer inspection in the morning, we noticed our walls actually had damp mould growing on them.

We wouldn't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bloonoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Our stay at king fern cottage was amazing! Very friendly staff and owner and we had a super room! The beds are really wide with good mattresses and the shower is lovely... We read about the complaints of moist rooms but the are currently replacing all the floors (carpets etc) with wooden floors... hope it helps!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfreriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

This place was amazing. A beautiful little peaceful hideaway with amazingly helpful staff. Unfortunately our room smelt really bad - like it was musty and it was a bit dirty. The food was also only ok. If you get a clean room it would be a great place to stay. It's also just a 20 minute walk to town from here.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room under the stairs to the second floor as its the dirty one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa1234Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We didn't actually stay here, but got out of the taxi here while dropping off two othere girls. We escaped from the taxi because we were being hounded by a rather agressive tout who goes by the name of Yoga. He kept trying to push us into staying in certain gyesthouses, no doubt for a commission. Upon arriving a King Fern, he actually ran towards the owner, begging him to say he was fully booked for the day, so we would have to search elsewhere. We decided to ignore him and he went away, clearly very annoyed. The owner of King Fern was very friendly and helpful. He phoned a few places and eventually set us up at the Trevene. We offered to pay for the phonecalls, but he wouldn't accept any money. Place seemed really nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TaraLut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Beautiful setting nestling amongst the trees with verandas to have a cup of local tea or a beer. Clean, interestingly decorated rooms with cosy blankets and comfy beds. Friendly helpful staff and tasty food!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,600 reviews
2.4 mi away
Heidi's Home
Heidi's Home
#4 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Cottage
Sherwood Cottage
#15 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ferncliff
Ferncliff
#1 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Garden
Spring Garden
#7 of 265 in Nuwara Eliya
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £26 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing