We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Common area extremely beautiful and cosy”
Review of King Fern Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #2 of 237 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Common area extremely beautiful and cosy”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very nicely decorated common area with a lot a wood and a fire place. Great atmosphere. Nice garden with water running through. Double rooms for 3000 or 4000 Rs including breakfast, or 5000 for a family room. Booking in advance is highly recommended. We enjoyed staying here. Our room was to reach through a trap in the ceiling (first time in my life), was clean, had a nice big bed with a warm blanket but no furniture to put the luggage or cloths and view to the roof of the guest house (instead of to the beautiful garden). Food was good, well served and extremely nicely decorated with flowers. Congrats.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    149
    47
    32
    17
See reviews for
50
250
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Cozy, quiet and warm. The dining areas are in good shape, cozy and clean. Good food. Staff are friendly, accommodating, and helpful, even late at night. Room was very spacious, clean, fresh sheets, and with a good view of their man-made garden and forest-like trees with a stream. We even saw different types of birds on the trees. Wifi is available and strong at the reception/dining area. Lan is also available for a cheap rate. They also managed our van going to Horton's Place for a reasonable price. Quite a bit far from the markets and main areas, but you can also arrange a tuktuk to pick you up with drivers that they recommend. It is also walkable (if you can manage) for about 20 mins from the markets. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and we're really happy because it rained a lot in nureliya, and it was good to have a nice hotel to stay in. In the evening they lit a fireplace in the living room, which created a cosy atmosphere. They arranged a trip to Horton plains for us and we could leave our big luggage in their storage while we went off to Adams peak for one night.
The food is recommendable, especially the tomatoe soup. The only negative thing is that the rooms (3000-4000lks) are quite dark and poorly illuminated. But they are clean. Nice and helpful staff!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Theworldismycastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A beautiful wooden accommodation tucked away on the hillside, easy walking distance from town. Fantastic natural surroundings and built in a way one can really enjoy the Nature. Loved the big glass windows, beautiful view, can hear the stream running through it, warm fireplace. Very social place. The rooms were nice and comfortable, spotless, nice bathroom too. The beds are huge! The only suggestion I can make is that they could get some better linen as the sheets were very thin and worn and sheets and pillow covers had holes in them.
We didn't eat there so can't comment, just walked down the street for much cheaper local food.
The staff were very helpful and even facilitated us to join a couple taking van to train station to make it cheaper, ended up working out even cheaper than a tuktuk.
We loved this place so much we extended our stay from 1 night to 2.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ashchay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

With a great social area, good wifi, comfy HUGE beds and an insure restaurant with fire place, what is not to love! Varying rooms at different prices, they all looked good and everyone who stayed while we were there was happy to be the lucky ones that reserved a room. Make sure you book as we saw many people turned away as the place was full. Restaurant a little expensive compared to the cheap local restaurants that can be found, so we ate lunch out and paid the little extra (meals range from 600-800 plus service) to eat dinner onside which was worth it. Highly recommend like so many others have on TA.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUGONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Reading reviews on trip adviser I'm constantly amazed at how picky people are! This is a hostel for gods sake! The manager Lal is a super guy and very obliging. The staff were great and the location is spot on! A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philsparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanau, Deutschland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We came here after we decided not to stay at the place that we originally booked. We were happy to find a room and we liked it. It is a bit cold, especially in the bathroom and we had to leave the water running for some minutes before it got warm. The room was big enough with a warm blanket. The whole place is beautifully built from wood and is surrounded by trees and fern trees. It does have a fireplace but still gets pretty chilly in the morning and evening. Food is good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonitasteffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
646 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Property: King Fern Cottage
Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing