We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of King Fern Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Fern Cottage
Ranked #2 of 222 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

The place is perfectly located, just a short walk from the city centre and is designed brilliantly with clean rooms, massive beds and a cool garden to relax in. The rooms have gone up in price unfortunately over the past year or so but it is still an interesting place to stay. If I was travelling I wouldn't budget to stay here but as a place to stay on holiday it is great. I wouldn't bother eating here as the food isn't anything great and there is much better stuff around from other places in NE - even breakfast. But it is a lovely place to stay, relax with a pot of tea and the perfect base to venture out from Nuwara Eliya.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FFC579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    148
    47
    31
    16
See reviews for
49
244
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We tried to book to King Fern and had several strange telephone exchanges. In the first, my wife called, and was replied that there are no rooms available. She had a strange feeling about the call, so, due to the lack of other suitable hostels in town I tried to call again 5 min later. Then, miraculously, there was a choice between 2 rooms. Several more phone calls were strangely hung up, and generally we got a bad impression of the place before setting foot on its doorstep.
We came to KF and saw that the fact that the place is made of wood (and very aesthetic!) is also one of its downfalls. In the first room we saw on the bottom floor every step of a person walking on top could be heard. The second room on the top floor wad exposed to city noises (very loud music all night) and the snoring of the person sleeping in the room below/next to us that woke us up in the night.
The room itself was fine, the shower was great, food was OK.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DJDLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv-Yafo, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I strongly recommend this place!
The owner Mr. Nishantha will warmly accept you and make you feel home, just like you've been known each other for years. He'll also gladly help you with anything you need including information, tour booking etc. The place is fancy, beautiful, clean and safe and in a short walking distance to everywhere you need - and prices are reasonable.
So don't think twice - this is the place for a perfect stay.
Just be smart and book in advance, as it may get fully booked quiet quickly.
Thank's for everything, Mr. Nishantha :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orilevy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at kingfern for one night only. The place is a stylish and cosy place with a warm atmosphere! The food we ordered was delicious. The owner of this place is a fun and warm-hearted guy who took very good care of us when one of my friends was unwell and needed to go to the doctor. He drove us there immediately and made sure we were alright. We would love to come back here again! Thank you, Nishan and Hitchy!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Birgit173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We had a great room with a view over the stream and garden.
Surprising number of birds visited in fact more than we saw in Horton Plains!
The hotel has internet access and a variety of seating areas to eat or just chill. All pleasantly heated by a log fire in the evening
The food was good and served in the pine clad dining room.All the staff were very helpful.
Watch out for the manager with a great sense of humour!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Very nicely decorated common area with a lot a wood and a fire place. Great atmosphere. Nice garden with water running through. Double rooms for 3000 or 4000 Rs including breakfast, or 5000 for a family room. Booking in advance is highly recommended. We enjoyed staying here. Our room was to reach through a trap in the ceiling (first time in my life), was clean, had a nice big bed with a warm blanket but no furniture to put the luggage or cloths and view to the roof of the guest house (instead of to the beautiful garden). Food was good, well served and extremely nicely decorated with flowers. Congrats.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Cozy, quiet and warm. The dining areas are in good shape, cozy and clean. Good food. Staff are friendly, accommodating, and helpful, even late at night. Room was very spacious, clean, fresh sheets, and with a good view of their man-made garden and forest-like trees with a stream. We even saw different types of birds on the trees. Wifi is available and strong at the reception/dining area. Lan is also available for a cheap rate. They also managed our van going to Horton's Place for a reasonable price. Quite a bit far from the markets and main areas, but you can also arrange a tuktuk to pick you up with drivers that they recommend. It is also walkable (if you can manage) for about 20 mins from the markets. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizRanola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.1 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
5.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.9 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Fern Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Fern Cottage

Property: King Fern Cottage
Address: 203 1a St. Andrews Dr | Under Bank, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our nine room guesthouse is nestled within nature for you to experience maximum relaxation for you to chill out. We strive to provide you with high level service and comfort. We have a range of rooms, to meet your needs as a solo, couple, group or family traveler. With your visit to Nuwara Eliya in mind, we are delighted to assist you with all travel information to make your trip easier. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Fern Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Fern Cottage Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing