We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable budget stay”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Chennai (Madras), Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Affordable budget stay”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

A very nice looking, English cottage - they have a lot of wooden heritage items in all rooms in the bungalow. Spacious rooms - with sofas, bed, and large rest rooms. Wifi Internet was not working most of the time. Friendly front desk, but not much knowledgeable. Food options in house was not great, but a great Indian restaurant is there literally next door. The property is on a busy road overlooking the race course.

Room Tip: Select the largest rooms in the corners.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Premwilson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    83
    68
    41
    28
See reviews for
78
118
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

From outside, nice to look at, but the rooms are pretty much come down. We stayed in the high season month April and it was absolutely overpriced for what is offered! Standard rooms are small and from our bathroom came a very unpleasant smell, so they offered to switch to a suite, which was bigger and nicer and the smell from the bathroom less bothersome. The restaurant where we had breakfast was not really inviting and lots of flies around. The very friendly stuff and manager tried hard to help and even send flowers to our room. Very sad that the owner lets the hotel degenerate. Avoid high season rates in April.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edelchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We spent two nights at Nuwara Eliya during our trip to Sri Lanka. We ended up at Glendower as we had to make last minute changes to our plans and had to find a stay at Nuwara Eliya. After going around in Nuwara Eliya for sometime, we decided on this property.

Glendower is a lovely heritage English bungalow that has been converted to a hotel. It has all that is required to make an amazing heritage property. Unfortunately, the place looked run down, smelly and lacked the charm that it could have had. There were stains in carpets, upholstery and linen. Bathroom was functional, but everything around were dated and fragile. Warm water was hardly available at any given point of time.

Service lacked sincerity and character. We almost felt that they were doing us a favor most of the time. However there were occasional sparks of good service from a couple of staff that i met here.

We wanted to try the Chinese restaurant that they had, but they didn't have much to offer. But I appreciate their honesty in saying that none of their dishes are vegetarian and that they had non vegetarian content (maybe due to the sauce they used) in all the dishes they served.

I must say that the quality of sleep was good and there were hardly any noise from outside in the room. I had very good sleep while I was in Glendower.

With a little bit of effort from management to refurbish and to better the service would take this place a long way.

Would i recommend this hotel? I would, if you do not get rooms at the next door hotel - The Grand and want to stay in that vicinity.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InsaneNirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. It is a small guest house with 10 rooms, a restaurant, bar and a nice garden. The rooms are decent size but very dated. Mattress very soft and haven't slept in such a bed for ages. Television with satellite and free wifi is a big plus. Since most people go to the Horton Plains NP at 6am there is some noise early morning but nothing major. Bathroom is ok size but no good water pressure.
Breakfast is decent with fruit hip juice, eggs to order, toast and coffee. Staff are mostly friendly but a little in your face.
Overall not good but also not bad. If they modernize the rooms, get the staff a little bit more relaxed (we wanted 3 eggs instead of 2 and it that is out of the book....) and flexible it would be a good choice, also try the simple restaurant nr 2 next door. Very nice food for a great price!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ritchy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Hoorn, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

On our tour round Sri Lanka we spent two nights at the Glendower hotel in Nurewa Elya, a nice an homely hotel, with a Chinese restaurant with the kind of food we have been longing for after 2 weeks of mainly Sri Lankan plates. Although in the night the temperature dropped till Dutch weather in wintertime (3- 5 degrees), rooms were warm and comfortable as heathers were available. Daytime temperatures in the sunlight were tricky cause at this height in the mountains sunburn is just half an hour away. Some sun-embrella's would be nice to spend more time in the well maintained English garden for reading or just zipping a nice cool beer.
Thanks for the hospitaly,
George Glandorf
Hoorn - Holland

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This has a English cottage feel to it. The rooms are cosy and clean. Heaters are provided for. The hotel has a well stocked bar, a pool table, and free wi-fi. Meals were included in our package and the hotel staff pampered us by preparing a meal of our choice. The hotel can boast of a beautiful garden.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihir J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

The hotels at Nuwara Eliya are much more expensive than those at other parts of Sri Lanka. At higher prices, the expectation is of course greater. I only get to stay one night here and I wish I can extend my stay for at least another few days. The hotel has a cosy lounge with nice ambience. The staffs were very hospitable and as I need to check out early the next day, they even prepare breakfast for me to takeaway. Room was clean and come with cable TV. However the size of the room is a bit small. For dinner, you can choose to dine in the hotel restaurant or walk 5minutes to a nearby restaurant serving western, Indian and Sri Lanka food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rejuvenate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
220 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#9 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
661 reviews
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing