We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“feels like home” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“feels like home”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

the setting is beautiful. very much English as all previous reviewers have commented upon. The bar and the lounge area probably especially so for those who feel homesick.
The rest of the hotel is not that great, the rooms are a bit dated and can be cold. Breakfast is too small with little choice and the only diner available is Chinese. All in all, not an unpleasant experience though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    78
    66
    39
    26
See reviews for
75
114
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stumbled upon the Glendower via the Lonely Planet. It was fantastic. Neat, comfortable and cosy, it was great to hang about upstairs and play darts and billiard a with a few gins and watch the fog come in. Staff were incredibly attentive and looked after us immensely. It was ridiculously good value for the stay.

Room Tip: The back room suites are certainly the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crashlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

The first view of the hotel takes you to the English countryside, especially with the golf course across the road. Check in is efficient and friendly and the rooms are big and airy with a very comfortable bed.

The public areas of the hotel feature wood and leather and timber. The bar is like stepping back in time - in a good way. I had no intention of having more than one beer but the excellent service, pleasant surroundings and good company kept me a lot longer. I ordered form the restaurant menu (Chinese) while having a drink and was called when my meal was ready. The food was very good, if a bit pricey.

Norman, the manager, takes a keen interest in the running of the hotel and was quite visible and helpful.

There's a lovely, relaxed atmosphere to the Glendower that's not easy to create or to maintain. They have it just right. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel has a beautiful setting. The lobby is set nicely above the rest of the hotel with great decorated. Welcome staff, front door and front desk were friendly. Rooms are very nicely appointed and loved the bathroom. All the amenities that one could ask for are there. if you have the opportunity to stay here, we recommend it 100%. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballina, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Having come from cranky Capital Colombo, then through busy and bustling Kandy, arriving in laid back Nuwara Eliya was like a dream come true. The Glendower reflected the towns colonial heritage to a tee (the golf course is also just over the road). The extensive use of dark timber, brass and leather throughout added a certain charm, as did the immaculate rose gardens and topiary. A welcoming and intimate bar was further enhanced by the most capable and friendly barman. Other staff were occasionally useful but mostly filled the category of "hallway haunters" that generally melted away on approach. Above the bar is a full sized billiard table that is 160 years old and could tell a few tales I'm sure. When the fire place was lit, the ambience really picked up and accelerated away. The room was fine but the bathroom odours made us head into town to buy some incense, following a lack of staff action. We also had tp pester them continually for a set of towels. Meals here were ok. Just up the road is an Indian place and shortly after, the Grand Hotel, that served immaculate meals and with service second to none. Overall, I would recommend the Glendower for its unique and fading charm.

Room Tip: Larger corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bli Bli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We were looking for an English style pub in the Hill Country of Sri Lanka and we found one - the Glendower. Rooms were large and comfortable, lounge was warm and welcoming (even to children!), breakfast of bacon/sausages eggs and fresh fruit was included and the host couldn't have been more friendly and anxious to help. Wi fi did not work in some rooms but seemed to be fine in public areas. The gardens were restful and well kept and added to the ambiance of it all. It is a Hotel on our list - one well worth another visit when next we explore the tea country.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Glendower is not a five star luxury property, but given its price and location it was good value for money. It provided a family friendly environment with various public areas (bar, lounge and fireplace sitting area) to choose from with welcoming and a helpful manager. The rooms were spacious although slightly dated and whilst they added to the olde world feeling of the place the creaky floor boards were perhaps a bit too creaky at times. The fittings were all a bit old but they worked and we had no complaints.

The staff could perhaps work on responding to requests a bit faster and refrain from being overly curious with guests' property.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the Glendower Hotel and if we have the opportunity to return to Nuwara Eliya we will certainly be staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MixedTravel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#8 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing