We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This town was probably our least favourite on our Sri Lanka and the story is similar with the hotel.
The room was pretty basic and dirty, with rock solid beds. The whole place came across as unclean and basically ugly. Other reviews suggest it reminded them of home (England) and that it was a good stay which is why we chose to stay there. However it was far from this in my opiniom and just simply looked out of place in Sri Lanka - it wasn't even particularly English.

The only real positive was the staff were very friendly, particularly the manager. Living in the clouds its difficult to make a place like this nice.

The breakfast was OK which is what you'd expect from a place like this.
Overall I would not recommend staying here or even the town. It seemed a bit edgy at night and also too cold! Ella looked much nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Planet-Vs-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Really nice English looking hotel with roses, pub, fireplace and everything you need to forget Sri Lanka for awhile! :-)

Rooms was very big, and really nice. Hotel is getting a bit old, but I dont mind that at all, and they do take good care of it.

Excellent Indian resturant just up the road. Cant remember the name, but it was one of the better resturants we went to for 4 weeks.

Also dont forget to buy some winter clothes in the city center!!! Very good prices.

Room Tip: Take a look at the room first. We had two rooms in the same price category and they were VERY differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

the setting is beautiful. very much English as all previous reviewers have commented upon. The bar and the lounge area probably especially so for those who feel homesick.
The rest of the hotel is not that great, the rooms are a bit dated and can be cold. Breakfast is too small with little choice and the only diner available is Chinese. All in all, not an unpleasant experience though.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stumbled upon the Glendower via the Lonely Planet. It was fantastic. Neat, comfortable and cosy, it was great to hang about upstairs and play darts and billiard a with a few gins and watch the fog come in. Staff were incredibly attentive and looked after us immensely. It was ridiculously good value for the stay.

Room Tip: The back room suites are certainly the pick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crashlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The first view of the hotel takes you to the English countryside, especially with the golf course across the road. Check in is efficient and friendly and the rooms are big and airy with a very comfortable bed.

The public areas of the hotel feature wood and leather and timber. The bar is like stepping back in time - in a good way. I had no intention of having more than one beer but the excellent service, pleasant surroundings and good company kept me a lot longer. I ordered form the restaurant menu (Chinese) while having a drink and was called when my meal was ready. The food was very good, if a bit pricey.

Norman, the manager, takes a keen interest in the running of the hotel and was quite visible and helpful.

There's a lovely, relaxed atmosphere to the Glendower that's not easy to create or to maintain. They have it just right. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LostInPyongyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The hotel has a beautiful setting. The lobby is set nicely above the rest of the hotel with great decorated. Welcome staff, front door and front desk were friendly. Rooms are very nicely appointed and loved the bathroom. All the amenities that one could ask for are there. if you have the opportunity to stay here, we recommend it 100%. We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Having come from cranky Capital Colombo, then through busy and bustling Kandy, arriving in laid back Nuwara Eliya was like a dream come true. The Glendower reflected the towns colonial heritage to a tee (the golf course is also just over the road). The extensive use of dark timber, brass and leather throughout added a certain charm, as did the immaculate rose gardens and topiary. A welcoming and intimate bar was further enhanced by the most capable and friendly barman. Other staff were occasionally useful but mostly filled the category of "hallway haunters" that generally melted away on approach. Above the bar is a full sized billiard table that is 160 years old and could tell a few tales I'm sure. When the fire place was lit, the ambience really picked up and accelerated away. The room was fine but the bathroom odours made us head into town to buy some incense, following a lack of staff action. We also had tp pester them continually for a set of towels. Meals here were ok. Just up the road is an Indian place and shortly after, the Grand Hotel, that served immaculate meals and with service second to none. Overall, I would recommend the Glendower for its unique and fading charm.

Room Tip: Larger corner rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimonW123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#12 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
229 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tea Plant
Tea Plant
#15 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
47 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queenswood Cottage
The Queenswood Cottage
#16 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
76 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#13 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £53 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing