We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fawlty Towers couldn't have done it better”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers couldn't have done it better”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Don't get fooled by the outside cottage look. This is really bad. Rooms are humid, bathroom is really old, and the restaurant, how to describe? chinese nightmare meets an English house? Food was not good at all. Fortunately it was just for one night that I certainly need to forget.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mundo222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    83
    67
    41
    27
See reviews for
78
116
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uganda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Nice hotel situated in the city center. Beautiful hotel, garden and friendly staff. The lounge is so comfy and lot of things to see. very nice inn.
It was very cold but the rooms had no heaters. Yet comfortable.
The only disappointed was the food- very poor quality.
I would give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Roques National Park, Venezuela
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

From the moment we arrived to our last day, the staff's attention to detail in room service and poolside was absolutely the best ! All staff were friendly and courteous. The level of cleanliness was as good as if not better than our house. All the grounds were very well kept up. To the management and Staff - thanks for an awesome vacation!! I'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isaac D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

On a previous trip 36 years ago we stayed in The Hill Club..rather posh compared with The Glendower. The hotel looks and feels a bit tired but all the same cosy and comfortable. Vastly understaffed especially in the restaurant (even the manager was helping serve!) but everyone very helpful and considerate. All a bit reminiscent of Faulty Towers which only added to the charm and character but would probably choose The Hill Club during any future visit.

Room Tip: Don't forget to take a light jacket even in the summer this being the highest town in Sri Lanka...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This town was probably our least favourite on our Sri Lanka and the story is similar with the hotel.
The room was pretty basic and dirty, with rock solid beds. The whole place came across as unclean and basically ugly. Other reviews suggest it reminded them of home (England) and that it was a good stay which is why we chose to stay there. However it was far from this in my opiniom and just simply looked out of place in Sri Lanka - it wasn't even particularly English.

The only real positive was the staff were very friendly, particularly the manager. Living in the clouds its difficult to make a place like this nice.

The breakfast was OK which is what you'd expect from a place like this.
Overall I would not recommend staying here or even the town. It seemed a bit edgy at night and also too cold! Ella looked much nicer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Planet-Vs-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Really nice English looking hotel with roses, pub, fireplace and everything you need to forget Sri Lanka for awhile! :-)

Rooms was very big, and really nice. Hotel is getting a bit old, but I dont mind that at all, and they do take good care of it.

Excellent Indian resturant just up the road. Cant remember the name, but it was one of the better resturants we went to for 4 weeks.

Also dont forget to buy some winter clothes in the city center!!! Very good prices.

Room Tip: Take a look at the room first. We had two rooms in the same price category and they were VERY differ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonkol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

the setting is beautiful. very much English as all previous reviewers have commented upon. The bar and the lounge area probably especially so for those who feel homesick.
The rest of the hotel is not that great, the rooms are a bit dated and can be cold. Breakfast is too small with little choice and the only diner available is Chinese. All in all, not an unpleasant experience though.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadedexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
653 reviews
4.9 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
2,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
1,495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
810 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 29 in Nuwara Eliya
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Property: Glendower Hotel
Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing