We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“glendower hotel”
Review of Glendower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Reviewed 12 March 2014

High price ,even by european standards, rooms not ready by 5p.m.! pot of tea takes 40 mins to arrive! miserly breakfast, dirty bathroom,bad plumbing,this place is not colonial ,it just has old and tired furniture,sort of stuff available in some u.k. charity shops. They are trading on a past reputation ,the only thing colonial about the place is the plumbing, it was probably working well in the 1930's. !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gre294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely building. Large, comfortable and spotless rooms. Very helpful, friendly management and staff. Very colonial bar and lounge with Chesterfield leather seating. Beautifully polished wood floors.
Breakfast (included) is perfectly adequate. Dinner menu is unnecessarily complicated by small (1 person) medium (2) and large (4) sizes for each dish. Portions are not generous, taste is bland and not great value for money. Suggest eat out. Some hotels do excellent buffet dinners at reasonableness cost.
Room prices are high compared with some similar or better properties in N E, so shop around.
Happy to recommend this hotel, but not unreservedly.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We booked this hotel to stay for our honeymoon. It wasn't easy to find the best place. We both went through so many places. From hills to the beach. Finally this got picked. And we are sure it was the perfect choice we made.
If your taking public transport, book the air conditioned train going from Col fort to Nanuoya. The long ride was quite comfortable thanks to that.
The hotel room was huge with a cozy bed. With lot of furniture and a living area too. It felt like home. Room is quite comfortable. The bathroom had some stuffiness just when we came. But that was gone after we opened the windows in there. They have also forgotten to provide with towels. But that was alright. All we needed was a cozy place to relax.
The whole place is quite and elegant with its grand interior. Theres a nice fire place in the living are just near the entrance with a blazing fire place every night.
I do not advice taking meals from here cause it mainly targets the foreign travelers. The day we went there we were the only locals. For the first day break first they only brought 2 slices of bread for each. So when your ordering specify the no of slices you wish to have or you have to end up waiting hours till they bring the rest.
However overall this place was satisfying. And a place you have to pay a visit and see the splendor. If am to go Nuwara Eliya again I will definitely choose this hotel!

Room Tip: Be specific when ordering the break first. The city is few steps away from the hotel so any meal wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madushi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Booked two rooms via the booking engine available in their website with FULL payment. And once we arrived at the hotel only a single room have been booked under our name and the entire hotel was fully booked. If the management wants to accept online bookings, at least verify whether the process works correctly first.

Traveled during a long weekend and we had to waste a lot of time looking for an alternate place to spend the day. The management took us to a near by lodge affirming us that this new place is much better in quality and standard than their own and claiming that the hotel will have to incur additional costs to book a room for us; only to find that the new place is no-where even close to the quality of their own place. We felt as if the management was trying to save few thousand rupees with that arrangement. However the management agreed to refund the full-payment but it took more than a week receive the actual refund. (Refunds happen slowly in local banks).

And the management needs to get their priorities sorted too. While we were waiting to check-in ( and one of their executives were trying hard to find a decent place that would save them some money ), another member of the hotel staff asked us to park our vehicles outside the hotel premises just to give room for a local van driver who brought-in few foreigners for a mere meal. In any other hotel, usually the residential guests get priorities for parking. First we refused, but the staff member begged us because the driver kept whining. Since we were already disappointed by the `mismanagement` of the hotel staff we moved our vehicles as we had already made up our minds to stay elsewhere.

May be its just an odd day in their usual business but with this sort of first impression I'm unable to recommend this hotel to anyone.

I have only two things to say:
#1 - Never try online booking with them; it goes through a third-party and things could get really messy. If you do, at least call the hotel directly and confirm that your booking has been made correctly at least 1 or 2 days before one actually goes to N'Eliya.
#2 - Never make the full payment. Always make a part-payment and settle the remainder when you checkout.

Room Tip: Never book ONLINE ! Never make the full payment in advance !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Crishani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed in this beautiful property in 2012, and back then they have charged a reasonable amount .But we have decided to go there again in last month (FEB 2014) the prices are almost doubled but not the service or any upgrading of the rooms.

We got a twin room with two beds kept together to make one large bed and one spring matters was completely broken and the pillows were hard.could not have a good night sleep.this hotel really needs to be refurbished.

The hotel is nice the garden is pleasing.

but the breakfast is not that rich (specially for the amount you pay for just one night !)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neranjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

In the Glendower Hotel you feel you have traveled back in time. Here this isn't meant positively. The only thing they meticulously take care of is the wooden floor, all the rest of the hotel seems like it has not been renovated since the British ruled Ceylon.
The bathrooms in both of our rooms had an unpleasant smell, plus one had a dripping toilet flush. The staff had to be asked twice until someone came to take care of it. Rooms were reasonably clean. Unfortunately they were not able to provide us with an extra bed but with a mattress to put on the floor.
The restaurant offered good Thai cuisine. The breakfast was very average.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewokline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

we stayed here for 1 night.. the place has a colonial charm to it.. with wooden flooring, old style furniture and spacious rooms.. our room was on the ground floor facing the garden.. the bathroom was quite huge..
The breakfast was good with all the traditional dishes.. the manager was cooperative when we informed him that we were vegetarians... he even managed to arrange a vegetarian spread..

the location is also good.. the market area , golf course are all located close by.

however, the gregory lake is a bit far.. i also think the hotels located by the lakeside have better views and might also be cheaper..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shr_Mod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.3 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#7 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#23 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#10 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
673 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
1,566 reviews
7.1 mi away
Scottish Planter - Glendevon Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower Hotel

Address: 5 Grand Hotel Rd, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £52 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glendower Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Glendower has been in existence for the last two decades and has developed from a charm English country motel to one of the most sort after boutique hotels in Nuwara Eliya. They have been continuously awarded various titles for their picturesque mini botanical garden and have hosted significant and sort after figures over the years. Explore Glendower and you wont be disappointed. The facilities and services you get supersedes all your expectations. The friendly attitudes of staff derives from its owners warm hospitability and attitude to say its visitors are god. Hotel Glendower also uses "Spa Ceylon" Branded Toilet amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Glendower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing