We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and peaceful place”

Hill Club Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Central Province, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place and peaceful place”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

Hill club is like a british hotel. The service was outstanding and in front of the hotel there is a huge garden. I had such a wonderful time at that hotel strongly I can recommend this hotels to others . No chance it such a beautiful place.

Helpful?
Thank vinojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    48
    16
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“loads of pomp, lousy lukewarm food”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Waiters beautifully dressed in an old-world environment, but soup served slowly and lukewarm. Sandwiches were the worst I have ever consumed and chips very dry and shrivelled. Had I not come with a group, I would have sent the lot back to the kitchen, but I did not wish to draw attention.
For such a well-known establishment, they should be ashamed. Come here and take your photos, but do not eat here, just grab a cup of tea.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mirike123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
754 reviews
365 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We went for the set meal in the evening and had the choice of King fish or Pork. There was a 100 rupee temporary membership fee to eat there. The atmosphere, service and food were second to none. White gloved waiters served, discreet music played, there was a roaring fire visible in the lounge from the eating area and a Christmas tree twinkled in the corner.
Although this was a set meal it was delicious and fortunately to our liking, we started with a pasta, then soup, main course, cheesecake and tea or coffee which we took beside the fire. The fish just melted in my mouth and my guest said his pork was cooked to perfection.
The cost of the set meal was $24 plus drinks, temporary membership and taxes, so a meal for two with a glass of wine each cost us a total of 7400 rupees which we thought was incredible value for such a unique experience. We would definitely go again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EveningEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yuck!!!”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

My food was stone cold and tasted terrible! Service totally unorganised and slow. Will never go again! I am trying to think of something positive but it was awful.

Helpful?
2 Thank Rachelxx72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Tea on the lawn!”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

No trip to Nuwara Eliya is complete without afternoon tea on the front lawn of The Hill Club; worth the 100 LKR's temporary membership fee!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CPBMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hill Club Restaurant also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to Hill Club Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing