We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the soup, nothing else.”

King Prawn Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Nuwara Eliya
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Go for the soup, nothing else.”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for lunch after reading the lonely planet review. The service and the chicken and sweet corn soup were great, everything else was dissappointing even the rice. The bill was the real kicker, it was more expensive than chinese food in Australia. Don't waste your money here, try the street food and bakeries.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Larryhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    4
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“OK food and service, good bar”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Enjoyed a decent meal here - not first-rate but not too shabby either. Made a pleasant change from Curry & Rice. Had a preliminary drink in the terribly clubby bar - the restaurant is part of the Hotel Glendower - a rococo half-timbered hybrid of uncertain lineage. Staff were cheerful and friendly - would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AgentC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edison, NJ
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“This place has NO VEGETARIAN FOOD - Rough Guide is WRONG!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We arrived here really famished ( party of 5). In our party we had 1 pure vegetarian, 1 eggatarian and others ate anyhting that crawled. We drove up to the entrence and were lokking to chow down some serious food, however when I stepped out of the car, I enquired about the vegetarian selection as the "Rough Guide" had mentioned veg options.

The Manager informed me that he really did not have any pure Veg options, just white rice & noodles. Most of his so called veg items had Chicken Stock, He gave me the menu, as I could clearly see that it was Skewed towards the Carnivorous kind.

Rough guide was clearly wrong, We quickly got back into the car and headed to the Grand Hotel to have lunch.... So vegetarians beware

Visited February 2013

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xkuger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here, There, and Everywhere!
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

After good write ups in various guidebooks I was surprised how substandard this place was.
I have better takeaways in English chippies.
The restaurant was cold, the atmosphere was dead apart from a radio in the corner which was playing irritating Lanka pop music.
Try the Indian next door. Far more appealing.

The picture above must have been copied from a different website because we didn't see any decent food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burning_wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good chinese food, nice location, great service”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

The restaurant is now hard to find: there's no street sign anymore. Anyway, it's inside the Glendower hotel, so just step in and ask...
Good food (chinese, probably somehow adapted to local taste), very nice location and perfect service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sibij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King Prawn Restaurant also viewed

Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province
 

Been to King Prawn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing