We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view from the room”
Review of Hotel Silver Falls

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Silver Falls
Ranked #165 of 254 Nuwara Eliya B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Silverfall hotel is medium size hotel in Nuwaraeliya with wonderfull view from the room we stayed.It was avery cold time when we stayed.They have good heating system and 24hrs hotwater facilities.Food was ok, the guy who responsible for the restaurant is very helpfull. Its a good budget hotel closest to the city centre.But they should take little attention in room maintenance.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank srishan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Silver Falls
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

Where to start...Nuwara Eliya is beautiful, and this hotel was quite interesting. After driving down a long, very bumpy road, we arrived to what looked like a castle. There were many castle like steps we took to get to our rooms...no they don't have a dungeon (I asked haha!) The room was decent and clean as well as the bathroom. Our rooms had enclosed balconies that overlooked a small waterfall (it sounded like it was raining outside which was neat). The staff was nice and courteous, but they spoke limited to no English. We really like Looshan, the man that tended the front desk. His English was much better and he was really helpful and sweet. Overall, this place had an almost mystical/mysterious feel to it. We liked it, but the food wasn't so great. There were very few people at the hotel, so I think they don't serve alot of food (so I don't think the food is fresh).
NOTE: If you can't climb alot of steps, this hotel is not for you. Also, it can get pretty chilly at night, so you may want to bring a sweater and socks to sleep in.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fixureyes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

we stayed there 5 nights of 16 nights of our stay in Nuwara Eliya and it was a very nice place. it's just 2 km from town area and they have done good job on renovating the hotel. rooms were very comfortable and warm. bed sheets and towels were cleaned. hotel over looks a Tea Estate, Green Mountains, Forest and a very beautiful water fall. it is a very calm place and we wish we found this hotel earlier than we did, so then we could have get a chance to spend some more time with Nature and rest our self after 2 weeks traveling in wild life national parks in Sri Lanka.
hotel staff is really helpful and food was excellent at Cozies restaurant in Hotel Silver falls.
on our way back to colombo we took train and it was only 4 km to railway station from there. this hotel is a ideal hotel for train travelers as the man who runs the hotel is always more than happy to help guest with low rate transportation. oh the price we got is Rs 6500 per double room on BB Basis. this is a place every traveler should stay at least one night.

Room Tip: room number twenty five is good room with a huge view.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steven_benjemin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Thanks be to god for the sun shinny whether with a small drizzling atmosphere at the time we reach Nuwara Eliya, but unfortunately the Nanu oaya road was very terrible due to road maintenance. It was easy to find the location and we reach there surprise it was a very nice view opposite the hotel.
I booked the hotel bungalow through Mr. Asanga on early December 2012 as my brother was willing to stay in Nuwara Eliya after his arrival from Canada and it was quite organized. Well, the bungalow seems alright with a Living area, a small dinning area, 3 Master bed rooms, 1 Bunk bed room, Small kitchen, 2 Bathrooms. Just to let you know there was no cutlery in the kitchen or any other equipment's and even a dustbin in this property until we request from the reception. We had a small BBQ dinner the day that we arrived and the staff was really helpful to
lighten up the BBQ machine with charcoal.
Overall the property was worth for money for the meantime but the service was bit poor. Anyway it was a cooling 2 days stay with NOT TOO BADDDD!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dinesh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

After staying two nights we were more than ready to leave the hotel. I need to qualify the review however because the staff and hotel are two separate things.

First the staff.

They are very very nice and were able to change our dates around when we came early. The front desk woman and the man running the hotel were nothing but nice and dis their best for us. If we needed a tuk tuk, they got one within minutes. If we needed a car, they got one for us at very reasonable rates. My wife and I have no complaints with the staff.

The location.

The hotel is only 2km outside town and its a beautiful location overlooking the silver falls and tea plantation hills. The view from the rooms is beautiful, and the location means its only a 10 minute ride into town.

The hotel.

Here is where the review gets ita two stars. The hotel is a large, dated building that is woefully understaffed for its size. Broken door handles, ill fitting windows, doors that don't quite close, are just a few of the issues the building has. Nuwara Eliya is up in the mountains and gets quite cold. With rain and humidity, it means the rooms are always freezing cold and damp.

The restaurant attached to the hotel is never open in the traditional sense. Its basically a room service situation where you can eat in another location. Since they have almost no staff and the staff have no resources, meals must be ordered an hour or more in advance and because the hotel has no heat, it means the plates are freezing cold. So no matter how hot the food is or how attentive to cook is, the food arrives lukewarm or cold.

The bathrooms also lack water pressure and because of their design, spray water everywhere when you shower. With the cold temperatures, it means you are sloshing through ice cold water to use the bathroom at night.

Its also expensive at 10,000 rupees a night. Its simply not worth the price for what you get. Considering that you can get a full service cabana in the south for under 50usd and you can get amazing rooms in Kandy for 30usd, this hotel is expensive.

If the owners want to attract more people, they need to cut the price by 25usd, tell guests food is room service only, and they need to invest in some insulation or space heaters for the rooms, and hire enough staff to properly run a large facility.

If this was cheaper I would have been willing to give it three stars. If it was cheaper with a space heater, I could tell people its ok to stay there.

But in its current form I can't say it was a great experience.

And again. That is our opinion of the hotel. The staff were very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PtownNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great value for money. I must say hotel is much better after the refurbishment. There is a natural waterfall right in front of the hotel. I was able to get the meals adjusted as I wanted for my children with no fuss.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelershome1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

It used to be a place we go when ever we are in Nuwara Eliya. It is right opposite the "Silver Falls" hence the name, and the Glory ends there.

The rooms small and not very clean. Though it looks somewhat better on the outside with a garden, inside is worse then it looks. We stayed for two days, since we had no choice we had it reserved.

Food is worse, not clean at all. we saw a bug in the food and that the end of dining there. so we took all the meals from outside which is tough to do since the hotel is so far away from the city. There's about 3~4 km right into the city from the hotel, so its not a good location if you want to visit the city often.

I hope the management will take steps to renovate the place and have some class for a change.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zihanjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuwara Eliya
2.0 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#11 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
225 reviews
4.0 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
2,594 reviews
23.9 mi away
OZO Kandy Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
308 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#18 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
255 reviews
1.1 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 30 in Nuwara Eliya
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Silver Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Silver Falls

Address: No: 23, Nanuoya Road, Windy Corner, black pool, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 254 B&Bs / Inns in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £30 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Silver Falls 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Silver Falls is located in the most picturesque part of Nuwara Eliya overlooking a natural waterfall. Located on the main Colombo - Nuwara Eliya Road, it is just 2 Kilometers from Nuwara Eliya Race Course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Silver Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing