We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place to stay in Nuwara Eliya”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glenesk Bungalow

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Nuwara Eliya, Central Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike K
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best place to stay in Nuwara Eliya”
Reviewed 27 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow, where to start? Glenesk can only be described as a pearl, and the host Khema one as well. The pictures don't do the location justice, it takes your breath away from the second you see it. It's literally like stepping into a patch of rural England, which says quite a bit being in Nuwara Eliya.

Much of the furniture is original, while Khema strives to make sure that all the modernities are there as well. Many an hour can be spent by the huge windows sipping local tea, or walking around in the well kept gardens.

The food is excellent, and Khema's staff will pretty much cook anything that's requested, or provide fresh insight's into Sri Lankan cuisine. Some of it is also home grown. The house is fantastically well kept and spotless, and the beds are more comfortable than most hotels.

Glenesk is about ten minutes threewheeler ride from town, and stopping by the Sita Temple on the way in is a given. Khema also provides plenty of trips and help for hiking, horseback riding and the dos and don'ts of Nuwara Eliya.

Would recommend Glenesk highly, and will stay here again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Hi Mike and Ellen,

It was such a pleasure getting to know you both. Looking forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,

Khema
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely host, lovely location”
Reviewed 8 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a wonderful two night stay at Glenesk Bungalow. The location is as beautiful as you can imagine and Khema is the epitome of a welcoming host. Khema went above and beyond to serve us copious amounts of Sri Lankan tea and helped organise our transportation before, during and after our stay. We hiked the renowned Horton Plains/Worlds End/Bakers Falls during our stay too. We were also treated to amazing traditional dinners, cooked by Khema's staff for a small price. We will definitely be recommending Glenesk Bungalow to our friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Hi Chelsea (and Maddie),
It was great having you both to stay. You are definitely in our hall of fame for your epic trip to Horton Plains. Would love for you to stay here again next time you head to Sri Lanka.
Keep in touch,
Khema
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AravindKD
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

As we were planning another visit to beloved Horton Plains we needed a place close by that would be both convenient and homely. We came across Glenesk Bungalow by chance, our family immediately felt drawn towards its charm after seeing the images of the place. We arrived at the place around 3 in the afternoon and was greeted by our hostess for the weekend who was very welcoming and kind. The staff had arranged freshly brewed tea along with home made cookies upon arrival and was available whenever we needed their services.

The evening should be spent by the front window couch curled up with a loved one or a good book while enjoying the view of the mountains and surrounding valley. A leisurely walk around the area help calm your mind and let you wind down from the hustle of city life. The evening time, settling down with the family around the fire place with a good bottle of wine was perfect followed up by their delicious dinner menu.

The rooms were spacious and very clean, the gardens were well kept adding to the beauty of the area. The breakfast was nice, we went for the Sri Lankan option.

Overall the experience at the bungalow was just what we needed as its very close to Horton Plains national park.

We thank the whole team and hope to be back the next time we plan to visit the national park.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Hi Aravind,
It was lovely having you and your family stay with us at Glenesk Bungalow, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Looking forward to having you stay with us next time you're heading to Horton Plains.
Warm regards,
Khema.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudhaif A
1 review
“Lovely bungalow, amazing view, great hospitality”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Had a wonderful stay in Glenesk Bungalow. Without doubt the best choice! View from the bungalow is magnificent and the garden is amazing. Loved sitting by the fireplace in the evening. We stayed in the Rose Room which was the main bedroom of the bungalow, very spacious and comfortable.

Lovely host not only ensured we had a great stay, but helped us with various other things like transportation and organizing our trip to hortain plains. And the staff was friendly and helpful throughout the stay as well.

Excellent hospitality! I hope to be back.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2017
Hi Hudhaif,
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Glenesk Bungalow and that your trip to Horton Plains went smoothly.
Would love to have you stay with us again when you're next in the area.
Warm regards,
Khema.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing