We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyll ruined by fellow guests” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Idyll ruined by fellow guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Enchanting location although hairy drive. Peaceful gardens and delightful local walks. Wonderful birdlife. Staff are keen to please and food,particularly vegetable curries, is good. Wine list or at least what they have of it is barely adequate. Room was fantastic although hot water was temperamental. It should have been a relaxing stay. However, our stay was totally ruined by selfish and boorish fellow guests who had brought 3 young children. As there is nothing for children to do they ran around the house and gardens unchecked screaming and shouting endlessly. We asked the staff to ask the parents to have more heed of the other guests. We were told by the manager that the hotel policy was no under 12s so they were warned to have more thought or be asked to leave .If anything the behaviour worsened and we were isolated in our room. We were forced to speak to one of the fathers and ask him to have more thought for us. We were met with an aggressive and abusive response which involved swearing. We left immediately to avoid any further conflict. If you are looking for some peace and quiet avoid this hotel unless you have received written confirmation they will enforce their no under 12s policy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and review on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the disturbance on your second day. We generally do not allow children under the age of 12 to stay at the property, and we are currently investigating as to how this happened. We understand that within a small vicinity, this may have greatly inconvenienced you. Going forward, we will have a strict “no children below the age of 12” policy with zero tolerance for non-compliance. We would like to confirm that we have taken this very seriously and that this standard will be implemented to maintain tranquility.

Wishing you all the best and hoping to see you again so that you may experience the property to its fullest degree. Again, we are truly sorry for the inconvenience faced.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    43
    20
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
162
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
madinah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hotel in an isolated area of the city, where there are only you and breathtaking nature.
staff happy with our presence.
Looking for our comfort in their residence.
Follow our steps wherever we went all over the place to extend a helping hand in case you need it.

In fact, I can only say that (it was an excellent choice )..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADEL1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the valuable comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your visit. We are pleased that you enjoyed yourself. Thank you again for your valuable review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I must say I was a little scared when we were driving towards the hotel as the road is too narrow. there is enough space for just one car at a time to pass. but it was totally worth it! the hotel, an old colonial house, had been done up to make you feel that you were in a home with your own battery of staff to do the cleaning, cooking etc. we ate fresh fruit from the hotel's orchard and went out for a walk around the hotel through the tea plantations in the mountains. I'd really like to thank the staff for packing our individualised breakfasts (which was a pleasant surprise) as we had our own preferences. this gesture made us feel really special :) I'd love to go there again to unwind and recharge :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZSKKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely grateful for your review of our charming, beautiful colonial bungalow, Jetwing Warwick Gardens. Your compliments will be shared among the team and they will be pleased that they made your stay enjoyable and memorable.

We are eagerly awaiting your next visit to unwind and recharge.

Sincererly,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

It is a wonderful boutique hotel with only 5 rooms located at the top of the mountains with an astonishing view. This hotel is more like home with a personalized service where we had the option to cook our own food and relax as if we are home. I woke up early in the morning to watch the sunrise which cannot be expressed by words, It is truly like heaven on earth, i will surely visit again and extend my stay.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool and No SPA
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We extend our sincere appreciation for your wonderful observations on your recent visit to Jetwing Warwick Gardens. Your compliments will be shared among the team and they will be pleased that they made your stay enjoyable.

We do hope to serve you at our little piece of “heaven on earth” on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This amazing piece of colonial history offers a truly special experience.

Complete with hidden rooms and old world decor our stay at Warwick Gardens was lovely. We are a family of six and spent two nights in the homely yet king-like hotel!

Located off the beaten track, the property overlooks tea plantations and villages in the stunning hills.

The staff were warm and friendly from the house keeper to the chef and we had some of our best meals in Sri Lanka sitting under the beautiful chandler in the dining room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GeePea11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments will be shared among the team and they will be pleased that they made your stay so wonderful. We are delighted that you appreciated the concept of the property and the homely tranquility it has to offer.

Hoping to serve you again at Jetwing Warwick Gardens on your next visit to Nuwara Eliya.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Given Jetwings' Lighthouse Hotel in Galle (a Geoffrey Bawa designed hotel you'll find in every 'funky hotels of the world' coffee table book going - sadly, they fail to show its faded beauty, awful maintenance and the never less than disgusting food in the otherwise glorious Cinnamon Room) was the site of the Worst Meal Of My Life, I was a little hesitant booking the Warwick Gardens. On paper it looked stunning - C19th planter's house restored check, different out of the way experience check, uniquely stylish way to spend a Nuwara Eliya night check.

But still there was a niggle. What if it were, you know, just not very good after all that? What if the TripAdvisor reviews were all so starry-eyed at the splendour of the place they missed the things that make somewhere truly special, not just decoratively exceptional?

It's glorious.

As far as I understood the story told me by the house's factotum as we stood on the lawn looking out over the mountains (there is a guest-facing staff of three, said factotum, a housekeeper and a chef), a Scottish planter by the unlikely name of Lemon (we tried looking up Lennon, but both come up blank) built his home from home here up in the temperate hills of Nuwara Eliya in the 1880s. He thrived here, with a massive estate of some 100,000 acres. The family stayed until 1940, selling up to a Sri Lankan chap by the name of Fernandes and he ran the estate until the nationalisations of 1971-2. This was a black period in Sri Lankan history, when the government took to its own any and all plantations over 50 acres, particularly focusing on foreign-owned estates but, it seems, even Sri Lankans weren't safe. His kingdom reduced to 50 acres, Fernandes had a heart attack and died of grief. Thirty years later, the house - a ruined shell in the hills - was discovered by Jetwings' chairman, Hiran Kooray and he, his wife and architect Channa Daswatte took to restoring the house to its original glory. Every bit of woodwork is new, the furnishings, fixtures and fittings all selected tastefully to recreate the glory of that Highlands in a foreign land the original owner had set out to create in the middle of his lush plantation.

The result is a very special small hotel indeed. Five rooms, two dining rooms (the formal dining room with a ten-seat table and the pantry with a smaller table) and a drawing room and study form the downstairs. Upstairs there's a ceiling-high tapestry on the dogleg of the stairs and then a landing leading to the rooms. Behind the tapestry is a secret staircase to the glorious 'White Room' - originally called the Netherleigh room. This is where we stayed - a minimalistically stylish room with an equally stylish bathroom attached to it, complete with walk-in shower and claw-footed bath. Book this room. Just do it. The views out over the stepped lawn and peaks beyond alone are worth it.

Dinner consists of no menu. What sort of thing do you like? Sri Lankan? European? Chicken? Fish? What floats your boat? We plumped for Sri Lankan and settled down for drinks in the living room. A long while later we wandered over to the dining table and enjoyed a meal of rare finesse, a chicken curry, vegetable curry, dal and string hoppers together with a spiced coconut samble were subtle, spicy and served piping hot. A dessert of set yoghurt and a traditional Sri Lankan set pudding followed by coffee (from the estate's own plantation) and a battering, flashing thunderstorm whipped up almost to order.

The night-time is noisy. All sorts of things bump, croak and caw through the dark hours. And it's majestic.

Breakfast the next morning was an omelette and, for my part, bacon, sausages and eggs. With toast, home made (from the 30 acres of estate remaining to the house) preserves and more of that excellent coffee. Then a walk around the grounds, fresh from the night's rain, the streams muddy with the night's run-off.

The staff are knowledgeable, charming and couldn't do more to help. The water in the bathroom is hit and miss - really not consistent with the rest of the experience on offer. There's nothing quite like standing, freezing and covered in suds waiting for the other room to turn off the tap to make you count quite how much you're paying for your room.

But the road up to the hotel is nothing short of iniquitous. It's a horror, potholed and rutted, steep and hair-pin bended, it's an alarming experience if you're travelling in anything larger than a tuk-tuk. They assure me Jetwings' coaches make it up there, but the jury's out.

This is a special hotel made special by its staff. I have no hesitation recommending it heartily.

Room Tip: The White Room is worth the premium. The journey from the Ambewela Dairy Farm is worth avoiding - ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexanderMcNabb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Our sincere compliments from the ‘Glorious house” in Nuwara Eliya for the incredibly comprehensive review of our little property in the hills. We are thrilled that you had such a brilliant time at Jetwing Warwick Gardens and grateful to your kind and detailed review posted on Trip Advisor, which will definitely boost the morale of our team and for our potential valued guests. We will definitely try to rectify the issue with the hot water and we truly apologize for the inconvenience.

We will ensure that your next stay at Jetwing Warwick Gardens is even more memorable. Until then we wish you all the best.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Going there is not a bit easy especially we lost our way but I can say that the trip was worth it, its like relieving all your stress when you saw the spectacular view. We arrived the hotel with a warm welcome by the staff. The place is more like a home with a very personalized service. especially Saman which is always there attentive to our needs. Food is in good taste. The entire stay was indeed relaxing, comfortable we are enjoying our stay and be back in the future. A nice place for honeymooners.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwinghotels, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate your lovely review posted on Trip Advisor, which gives us lot of encouragement to drive our service standards towards maximized satisfaction for all our guests.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
3.0 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
5.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#2 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,397 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#1 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Warwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Property: Jetwing Warwick Gardens
Address: Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 165 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Jetwing Warwick Gardens 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored colonial tea planter's bungalow set amidst verdant hillside scenery, Jetwing Warwick Gardens is the ideal getaway from life's tribulations. Consisting of a range of exquisitely designed rooms, this stay allows one to experience the enchantment of historic elegance and glory surrounded by nature's perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Jetwing Warwick Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Warwick Gardens Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing