We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite an experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jetwing Warwick Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights after having travelled up by train from Kandy. The hotel appears to be rather isolated, on the top of a hill, surrounded by tea plantations. The hotel is a old tea planter's home and is full of character. There are relatively few rooms and all meals are taken with the guests sitting around a big table. We quite liked this arrangement in that one got a lot of information from ones' fellow travellers, providing of course there is no language barrier. On this occasion we were lucky. The food was delightful and they were quite happy to meet our dietary requirements. The hotel is a superb centre to explore the region, provided you have transport! We had a pleasant day out in the small town of Nuwara Eliya as we aren't capable of walking far. The hotel is quite extraordinary as it grows virtually all it's own food, except meat! We spent an enjoyable two hours or so being guided round the gardens, including its huge range of home-grown vegetables. They even grow their own tea and coffee!

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the rooms generous, the gardens and grounds quite mind-blowing. Well worth a visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank scampi0072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your precious time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. All of us at Jetwing Warwick Gardens are happy, and we are pleased with that expectations were met.

We will be happy to accommodate you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

Well I'll start off by addressing the road to the hotel. It is really small and narrow but it's hardly the most terrifying thing about being a passenger in Sri Lanka!!

As reviews go, we stayed in the 'worst' room downstairs, however the bed was comfy, the room was spacious and I have absolutely no issues with recommending this room. The day after we arrived all other guests left so we had a tour of the building and the other rooms upstairs really are nice. I guess if you pay more, you get more!

The staff here are really friendly and can't do enough for you. You're encouraged to treat this like your home rather than a hotel and we had a nice hour or so wandering round the gardens where they grow all their own fruit/veg/herbs.

The food here is really good, it's a bit strange not having a menu but instead choosing whether to have Sri Lankan cuisine or not and also a choice of meat/fish. Each meal comes with home made soup and a dessert and the bill at the end was, per night, half of the other 6 hotels we stayed in.

As mentioned in the title, the weather was really grim but they have a cupboard full of games and plenty of ceylon tea which got us through the day.

There isn't a lot to do in the area and although the road to the hotel is small, it's hardly the most terrifying thing about being a passenger in Sri Lanka!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

It was pleasure reading your lovely recommendations on our boutique bungalow Warwick Gardens. Our team took great care of you and that we have exceeded your expectations. Your compliments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team. We will see to your comment on road to the property.

Once again thanking you and wish to serve you soon.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This a most intriguing small boutique hotel which was ruin as recently as 2002, but has now been lovingly restored and furnished to give a nineteenth century feel for a time when this tea station was built. Strict care is taken with the local environment and the hotel supports the local community in a number of practical ways. Staff are universally friendly and helpful. Food is basic and tasty and is eaten at one long table, which encourages conversation. My wife was encouraged to try her hand at making a chicken byrani and this proved to be delicious.
Most travellers chose an early morning trip to Horton Plains but a walk into the village to see the tea pluckers sort out their bags of fresh tea leaves is interesting and humbling.

Room Tip: limited number of rooms all very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for choosing to stay at our colonial mansion during your recent visit to misty hills in Nuwara Eliya. We will share your wonderful thoughts with our team and absolutely they will be encouraged do better in future.

We will be pleased to accommodate you again in near future.
Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you are looking for the special, out of the way places, small, charming and personal, this is definitely a place to try. An old English manor restored to perfection in a rural setting with wonderful views of the hillsides of tea plantations and overlooking a small village. The rooms, all 5 or 6, are all gorgeous, as is the sitting rooms, the dining room, and the gardens. Super personalized service, by very sweet caring staff. Little to do on the property but relax, but you can do excursions to Horton's Plain, tea plantations etc in the area. The road in to the hotel is single track, very steep and sheer drops on the side, but our driver managed it in his Prius. The town if Nuriya Eliya wasn't impressive, so staying at the property wasn't a problem. There is no pool.

The story is the owner of Jetwing was restoring this place for his personal getaway, but time and money spent went on, and by the time it was done, he decided he could still use it and have it be part of his hotel properties.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "master suite" by far the largest room, and best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomshiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

At Warwick garden our intention is you to feel as though you've been taken back in time, to a colonial era, with a elegantly done up interior and we are always prepared to offer our genuine service with as much flexibility as possible to cater to your every needs and expectations.

Whilst thanking you for your wonderful review on trip advisor and it was a pleasure to have you with us.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent two nights at this ideallic spot.the gardens are superb and the house has been very tastefully refurbished. The surrounding vista and tea plantations are truly magnificent. The staff during our stay the staff were so very helpful and the food was both varied and quite exceptional.it was most definitely one of the most enjoyable hotels we have ever stayed in.if I ever returned to Sri Lanka it would be most certainly on my list

Room Tip: The white room was charming and the Master room was quite grand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. Your compliments are highly appreciated and will be shared with the entire team.

Hoping to see you soon on your next visit to Sri Lanaka.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara
General Manager
Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there as part if a trip planned by Jetwing - big Sri Lanka travel agency - going all the way around the island. It is worn out. Not very clean and needs repair in many ways. Our bathroom has a sour smell and the food in general is not tasty. People were nice - as all over the island

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Cph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I apologize for not reaching your expectations during your stay. We will discuss with our team for any rectification.
We look forward to serving soon in near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager
Jetwing St. Andrew's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Cannot recommend this place highly enough. Whilst it can be almost a nightmare to get to amidst a thunderstorm and landslides, on the narrow roads along the cliff edge and in pitch darkness even at 8pm, this amazing household will never be forgotten. We spent a few days in December 2012 here and it was unforgettable. The fireplaces within each room may have been a fantastic and romantic warm touch during the evenings spent in, but the service received by the butler, chef and host were truly heartfelt. The little touches were never forgotten. Food was five star, authentic and all either farmed from their fields or locally sourced. Tea, of course, is home-grown. They even had a Christmas tree up and a piano with which the guests can have some therapeutic relaxation with. It was a isolated gem and having spent 2 nights there, it was a much needed break from the hectic Colombo city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FriedWanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jetwing H, General Manager at Jetwing Warwick Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Our sincere greetings from little Gem in the Hills.We are very delighted to know that you have enjoyed your second visit and we have reached such high standards in our services. We shall share your lovely comments with our team and it means lot to us.

Whilst thanking you, we wish to serve you soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Upul Leukebandara.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
6.5 mi away
Heritance Tea Factory
Heritance Tea Factory
#1 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,684 reviews
7.2 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#5 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
1,631 reviews
6.5 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#4 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Blackpool Hotel
The Blackpool Hotel
#2 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
352 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#6 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
2,119 reviews
8.9 mi away
Stafford Bungalow
Stafford Bungalow
#3 of 31 in Nuwara Eliya
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jetwing Warwick Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jetwing Warwick Gardens

Address: Ambewella, Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 229 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range: £235 - £363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Jetwing Warwick Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored colonial tea planter's bungalow set amidst verdant hillside scenery, Jetwing Warwick Gardens is the ideal getaway from life's tribulations. Consisting of a range of exquisitely designed rooms, this stay allows one to experience the enchantment of historic elegance and glory surrounded by nature's perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Jetwing Warwick Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jetwing Warwick Gardens Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing