We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special memory!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Calamander Lake Gregory

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calamander Lake Gregory
Souris, Canada
1 review
“A very special memory!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

My second stay at this accomodation was a very happy time for us. My fiance' and her family joined me for a wonderful holiday. One of the best memories was staying at Governor's Chalet. The children loved the boat ride and the scenery was beautiful. The staff was helpful and friendly. I plan to return some day.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    38
    16
    20
    27
See reviews for
41
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anuradhapura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

This could be the best location in Nuwara Eliya, facing the lake and in a Eco friendly environment. Rooms are spacious with two queen size beds. A good choice for a family. However, maintenance, room service and service at restaurant is not to the standards. Meals are not bad but the service is very poor. Meal waiting time is unacceptable. Even a tea order to a room takes more than 30 minutes. Be aware, the local meals are spicy. The Sri Lanka breakfast is really good but the Pizza are horrible.
Hot water service is inadequate. If two adults take a bath, others have to wait good 30 minutes for hot water. However, our kids enjoyed the stay with beds in an attic and the beautiful garden.

Room Tip: Rooms on right side are facing a beautiful garden (room no 5,6 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agampodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panadura, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We thought of trying Governer's Chalets restaurant for lunch because it sounded good and it was very close to Gregory lake.

Food was OK - albeit a bit expensive. It took some time for our orders to arrive at our table. Service wasn't very attentive.

The biggest problem with this restaurant is it not being very clean. The lavatory was in very bad shape.

If not for the cleanliness problems, this restaurant's location and food would've made it a recommended stopover.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sundomain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robin143, Guest Relations Manager at Calamander Lake Gregory, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear Esteemed Guest/s,

Thank you for your valuable comments as it will surely steer us in the right direction in providing a better hospitality service.

I would like to assure you that we do our utmost in serving you as soon as we can, nevertheless depending on the A la Carte orders, as usual it will take 30 to 45 minutes to prepare. We do not have stored food and all our meals are prepared fresh and on order only. But as I notice that your order has been late than usual and I would like to inform you that I have the Restaurant/Kitchen staffs accordingly.

Thank you once again for your comment in regard to the service not being attentive enough and in regard to the lavatory. I am glad to inform you that we are in a process of upgrading the property and services with our new owner/s, with fantastic results in the near future. On a positive note the restaurant floor has been changed, as the older wood floors looked dirty, even though it is cleaned.

Once again I would like to re-iterate that by commenting on our weaknesses you are truly a valuable guest and would hope that your next visit to the Governors Chalets will be a more pleasant (and cleaner!) one.

Best Regards

(Robin) Boban Bhuvenandran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Holland
Level Contributor
161 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is located along a lake, great view, with pleasant small restaurant, serving also the reception.
Our Chalet was poorly maintained: The floor was half-rotten, and the room was not cleaned during our stay..apparently we should have asked for that service. In the restaurant you could have a simple course a-la-carte, and for breakfast we were each given 2 plates of food, eggs at our choice.
It's reasonably close to City-centre but our guide took his car anyway.
Further it didnot smell fresh, nor the linnen nor the ambient in this chalet.
Wifi is available at the restaurant.

Room Tip: I fear that no fresh rooms are available. So just swallow it and move on as quickly as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Visited the restaurant of this establishment on 24th February, 2013 for lunch together with my family. We had to wait a good fifteen minutes, seated at a dirty table with food crumbs and empty glasses, with no one bothering to ask us if we would like to see a menu or a clean table! I finally had to ask at the reception counter if the restaurant was self service or if a waiter would come to our table. The waiter who was assigned to our table decided that one menu card seemed enough for 2 people to look at, so we had to take turns looking at what was on offer. We ordered 3 portions of spaghetti bolognaise (2 adult portions and 1 child portion) and after another lengthy wait, we were served what seemed to be 03 kiddy portions! We could not see any difference between the portions except for the spiciness! To add insult to injury, the waiter did not ask us if we wanted any drinks or even water! I guess he assumed we were on a liquid free diet! All the staff seemed too busy chatting with the tour guides who had brought foreign tourists to the restaurant and couldn't be bothered with locals.

While we were there, another family group of 12 people, complained about the service standards and walked out without ordering. Which was not surprising as they had to organize their own seating (Even being forced to ask other guests if they would please move tables), without any staff assistance! After they complained and left, the staff joked about it, claiming the group had been intimidated by the prices and left! What an attitude!

In short, terrible service, bad value for money and rude staff! Will not be going back there.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnonymousDisgust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

We just had one night here but just loved it. Chalet 4 English Rose! Only 8 rooms (chalets) in total.Terrific surprise to see the room had "upstairs & downstairs" which made it all that much more of a "surprise". Nice clean room with all the facilities you could wish for and it was just "fun" to be there. The Ritz it isn't so don't expect it to be. Just "chill" and enjoy! OK, we didn't stay in for dinner but we did have a great breakfast cooked to order in the morning and with a lovely presentation. All the staff couldn't have been more helpful.Thoroughly enjoyed having tea on the lawn in front of our room and looking out over Lake Gregory!
Very nice curry in the evening at The Grand Hotel's Indian restaurant. That, we can thoroughly recommend for quality AND value!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed during our honey moon. It was ok, but won't go again. Not worth considering that it's expensive. Room was cozy. It was nice to have a little lodge for ourselves. Bed was the best. So comfortable and bouncy and cozy. Food tasty but expensive. Staff ok but not very friendly. Location very good, on the lake banks with pretty garden.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kajyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
1.8 mi away
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
Jetwing St. Andrew’s
#4 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
1.2 mi away
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
Araliya Green Hills Hotel
#5 of 27 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thuring's Holiday Bungalow
Thuring's Holiday Bungalow
#31 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gregory Lake Holiday Home
Gregory Lake Holiday Home
#9 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Log Nuwara Eliya
The Log Nuwara Eliya
#52 of 166 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Firs
The Firs
#72 of 216 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calamander Lake Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calamander Lake Gregory

Property: Calamander Lake Gregory
Address: Badulla Road | Boat House, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 166 Speciality Lodging in Nuwara Eliya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Calamander Lake Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Governor's Chalets (Calamander Lake Gregory), is truly unique. Occupying a prime lake side position in the heart of Nuwara Eliya, this boutique hotel of 8 wooden chalets and a well loved restaurant, 'The Boat House', provides guests with a respite from the seasonal heat, a chance to indulge in equestrian and water sports and the perfect location to discover the stunning tea country of Sri Lanka. The family chalets, seven in total, are equipped with a king size bed on the ground floor and a queen size bed on the loft. Ideal for a family with children. One of the chalets is suitable for singles or a couple and is equipped with a queen size bed on the loft and a sitting area on the ground floor. Facilities in all chalets include a heater, LCD TV, minibar, Free Wi-Fi, tea/coffee making facilities, complimentary tea/coffee and complimentary bottles of water. All bathrooms are equipped with a bathtub and rain shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Calamander Lake Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Governor`s Chalets Hotel Nuwara Eliya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing