We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok for 1 night”
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nuwara Eliya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grosvenor Hotel
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“ok for 1 night”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This hotel has great potencial if only some cared to clean it and renovate it. Room very spaciuos with nice furniture, however sheets with stains, dust everywhere and bathroom was appalling! Bath looked like never cleaned and toilet desk fixed/ or not with some wire. Little effort and would be different, but it was not. We only stayed 1 night and if ever back in Nuwaraeliya I would prefer to find another hotel in better conditions.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank montom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    53
    40
    32
See reviews for
19
70
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Only booked to stay one night as part of a tour, fortunately, as we wouldn't have stayed a second. Nice old building which needs a lot of refurbishing. Good size rooms and public areas spacious. Had to pre-order dinner, which was probably our worst meal in Sri Lanka, and it was served right on time which meant, however, it was all over in 25 minutes. Room very cold at night so had difficulty sleeping. Only one very thin blanket provided so if you do stay here request extra ones. Hotel well positioned for park and 10 - 15 minutes walk to town centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterSandraJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nuwara Eliya hotels

Antibes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We were on a private tour of Sri Lanka in Jan/Feb 2013 and were booked into this hotel for 2 nights. When we arrived the manager put us in a room with an outlook of a wall, so when we told him we were booked into room 2 he reluctantly took us there instead. However, although the room was large and very old fashioned, the blankets were dirty, there were no pillowcases and the bath was filthy with no plugs for bath or sink and mildew all over window and shower curtains. I wouldn't even have climbed into the bath for a shower, it was so awful.
After complaining about no plug for my husband to have a shave, they provided a desert bowl and we were also hoping to wash out some clothes so we gave 5 items to the laundry instead.
However, because they were so unhelpful about everything else, we moved into the Alpine Hotel, just next door which was a big improvement.
The next morning we went back to collect our laundry which cost more than originally quoted, to find one pair of walking trousers dirtier than when given in, and my pair( which were brand new before the holiday) had 3 holes around the front caused by an iron. When we told the Manager, he denied that it could have been done by them and the laundry women just laughed in our faces. Angry was an understatement, as I only had one pair of walking trousers with me and we still had 12 days left in Sri Lanka.
Therefore, I would urge no one to ever set foot there as they were rude, unhelpful and the place was filthy, dark and drab and no alcohol which I actually felt I needed after the way the staff treated me.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Funjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We spent in this hotel one night in January 2013. Hotel is located about 5 minutes walking form the city center and close to the lake. Hotel is in old English fashion, according to the city standard. The room was simply decorated but spacious. Hotel has problem with cleanliness: we received dirty blanket on the bed and after replacement, new one wasn't better. Bathroom was horribly dirty: bath wasn't cleaned for a last few years as on one of the pictures. Room was without A/C but it wasn't useful during the night as it was very cold (additional blanket should be attached). Food was fine and reserved fast as for the lankian standard. Hotel waiters were unprofessional, with hands in the pockets and mobile phone in a hand during dinner serving.
We can recommend this hotel for short staying in the city but be careful about the bed and bath cleanliness.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Korniak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

I stayed here with my family for one night during a tour of Sri Lanka. I was a little bit wary because of the mixed reviews but fortunately our experience was a positive one. We were greeted warmly by the hotel staff who made a great fuss of my children. The bedrooms are big and although they could do with some updating they were clean and well presented. We did prepare in advance by requesting extra blankets after reading the rooms could be cold. It was also really nice to sit around the open fire with my guide entertaining my children by telling them about his life while growing up in Sri Lanka. The evening meal was ok and we really enjoyed the Sri Lankan breakfast. The hotel is within walking distance of Nuwara Eliya town centre. During the rest of our tour we stayed in nicer hotels, but we were also perfectly happy with Grosvenor for one night.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elliewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We decided to stay in Nuwara Eliya to break up the journey to Kandy a little bit. Turned out to be a big mistake. While the building is gorgeous and have such great potential it is POORLY managed. The manager arranged to collect us at the station, this never happened. We were quoted on the phone a price of 4400 rupees with dinner and breakfast included, this never happened either. Breakfast was not great. The cleaner checked us in when we got there, which is fine, but she couldn't speak any English and walked away as we were still asking questions. The management in this hotel is luckily not reflective of Sri Lanka, but avoid this place until management changes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I liked the look and feel of this colonial hotel when we first arrived and I didn't quite understand why it had such bad reviews about being rundown. Our room was big, clean, full of character, with no damp. We did however underestimate how cold it could get at night and with the thin blankets on the beds, we left the next day with a cold each - A matching pair of snivelling noses! If the hotel owners provided thicker blankets, this hotel would be worth staying at. If you like the sound of the hotel, just ask for an extra blanket on checking in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathwilseyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nuwara Eliya hotels
0.0 mi away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#21 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Glendower Hotel
Glendower Hotel
#19 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midky Hotel
Midky Hotel
#10 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
Tanzanite Mount View Hotel
#17 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hill Pride City Hotel
Hill Pride City Hotel
#13 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hill Club
The Hill Club
#7 of 28 in Nuwara Eliya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Property: Grosvenor Hotel
Address: 6 Haddon Hill Road, Nuwara Eliya 22200, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Central Province > Nuwara Eliya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 28 Hotels in Nuwara Eliya
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing